We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated Royally” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
900 10th Ave. South., Great Falls, MT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 156 Restaurants in Great Falls
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Treated Royally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Dec.23, 2012 - from Alberta Canada - first time ever to a Cafe Rio. Had checked out a few other restaurants on tripadvisor.ca but decided on trying Cafe Rio. Not disappointed in the least - had veg. tostada, I with black beans and the wife with pinto. Good sized meal - Um! Awesome beverage bar. When manager/supervisor heard that it was our anniversary, deserts were on the house - and good how.
Tried another Cafe Rio in Cedar City, UT while on our vacation -good, but not near the one as here in Great Falls. Stopped again here on our trip back to Alberta - excellent again. This is our place to eat when we are in, or dropping through the Great Falls area. Wish a Cafe Rio like this one would come to central Alberta. PS: Also loved the upbeat atmosphere(staff) of this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

On our visit to Great Falls, we were craving some good Tex-Mex food. Saw the reviews for Cafe Rio and decided to give it a try. My wife had Nachos and I had enchiladas. Portions were large and the taste was great. We both ate all we can hold and took some home, all for under $20.00! While this is not your typical sit down and get served relaxed atmosphere kind of place (it is cafeteria style where you watch them make what you order and have input as to what goes into your order - kind of a Mexican version of Subway) the food is fresh, hot and tastes great. My wife mentioned that there was almost too much beef on her Nachos - a situation that I did not suspect was possible. I think we are going back tonight. It was that good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“If you want authentic Mexican with all fresh ingredients, go slightly east in the mall parking lot to Fiesta en Jalisco”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Just because you see tortillas being made in front of you doesn't mean you're getting all fresh ingredients... The flavors are just okay. I've eaten in Mexico and whatever cuisine the "sweet pork barbacoa" comes from, its definitely NOT south of the border! My nephew is a food broker who works with various food service companies (Sysco, etc.) and so he knows which restaurants use all fresh ingredients - nothing out of a can. Deliveries are made to Cafe Rio, but nothing is delivered to Fiesta en Jalisco because everything they serve, down to the tortillas and salsa is all made fresh, from scratch

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fresh Fresh Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A very upbeat atmosphere with pleasant staff. The food is great and you get a lot for the money. The tortillas are made before your eyes. Try the keylime pie too!! Everything made on-site and the only thing from a can are the jalapenos.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta, canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places to eat in this city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The sweet pork salad is to die for. It is amazing!!! They make their own tortillas...yum!!! Their drink bar with all sorts of sodas, limeades, lemonade and iced teas is a huge hit with us.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.