We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I had expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail Interpretive Center

Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail Interpretive Center
4201 Giant Springs Rd, Great Falls, MT 59405
406-727-8733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on a bluff overlooking the Missouri River in Giant Springs Heritage State Park, this visitors center provides information and exhibits about Lewis and Clark's famous journey and the historical significance of the United States' westward expansion.
Medina, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than I had expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It was really informative and interesting. Unfortunately my 5 and 9 year old were antsy and not quite as interested as I had hoped. It also leads out to paths that will take you along the Missouri river.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    47
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Four of us were there from Florida & had one day to check out Great Falls before flying home. We chose this museum after reading the reviews and so glad we did. We all felt it was so interesting & informative! Not at all boring!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow! We spent a whole day here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

They had an excellent display on the expedition, with historical info, personal info, hands on. We watched the movies that were professionally done and listened to several ranger talks about a wide array of topics related to the expedition. If you haven't been, you need to go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Catch Lewis and Clark Coming and Going”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is an outstanding attraction that should not be missed if you venture to Great Falls Montana. Since I live here and have also visited the L&C Interpretive Center in Ilwaco WA I can speak with confidence in the experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An historic point along the Missouri.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Merriweather Lewis and William Clark had a great deal to report as they visited Great Falls and much of what was learned is presented to visitors in this comprehensive interpretive center.

Life-size displays and grand views of the river can be seen at the Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail interpretive Center. Nestled in to the south bank of the Missouri River a grand system of trails for everyone radiate from the center. Inside the center displays are place in a sequential order and plenty of stories are told by the self-guided exhibits and volunteers who are very helpful and knowledgeable.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail Interpretive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.