We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Don't miss this amazing place!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail Interpretive Center

Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail Interpretive Center
4201 Giant Springs Rd, Great Falls, MT 59405
406-727-8733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on a bluff overlooking the Missouri River in Giant Springs Heritage State Park, this visitors center provides information and exhibits about Lewis and Clark's famous journey and the historical significance of the United States' westward expansion.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“"Don't miss this amazing place!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Traveling through Great Falls on our way to Glacier Park. We wanted to learn more about Lewis and Clark's expedition as well as the Great Falls area. What an amazing place! This interpretive center is so informative. Plan to spend 2-3 hours here, more if you want to hear the talks in the auditorium given by the various speakers. We really enjoyed our time here.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    47
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good to see it once”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nothing really new since our last visit. Great to see it once, but once is enough.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lewis and Clark Come Alive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We lived the experience! What a great place to see history come to life. One of our guides dressed in the clothes of the era. There is a replica of a boat that was used. Lewis and Clark and his intrepid crew portaged 20 miles around the Great Falls and several other Falls here in Montana. The Interpretive Center sits right above the river. We took our time and listened and watched the different presentations. Then we took a drive to see the different Falls. It takes some effort to find the Great Falls. The others are closer. Very near the Center you must see the shortest river ever! We left Grandma's house in Great Falls and headed West. Eventually we ended up in Oregon on Interstate 84 which follows the beautiful Colombia River. For hours we enjoyed thinking about Lewis and Clark as they neared the end of their incredible adventure.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Full of history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We followed the Lewis & Clark trail from Missouri to Montana, & this was the most informative center out of all that we visited. We learned a lot at the other centers, but this one had way more information. The video was very worthwhile & there were so many things to read on the wall, each worth reading for information not gotten elsewhere. We spent way more time here than we expected to because there were so many things to see... animals, artifacts, etc... The staff was very friendly, also.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wow! What a Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is an astonishingly lifelike representation of all things Lewis and Clark. It follows the trip from Pittsburgh all the way to the West Coast and back documenting the incredible saga of the L&C expedition. Another thing in Great Falls that anyone should not miss. You better allow several hours!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail Interpretive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.