We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - extensive collection, well documented” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glendive Dinosaur & Fossil Museum

Glendive Dinosaur & Fossil Museum
139 State Street, Glendive, MT
406-377-3228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Glendive
Attraction details
Cascade, Montana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wow - extensive collection, well documented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

They have numerous large, medium and small specimens, all displayed in colorful life-like exhibits accompanied by excellent research documents. Plus a well-stocked library and some films. All on two stories. Plan a few hours to take it all in! Quite impressive. If you walk through with an open mind and leave preconceptions at the door, you might actually enjoy this and begin to see why evolution is more like religion than science.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    2
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Evidence Speaks for Itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was at the museum in 2008 with my daughter. I was there to interview Otis Kline who was the director at that time. In addition to reviewing the museum, Otis took us up into the mountains and showed us numerous pieces of evidence the world-wide Flood model. For example, he pointed out areas where there is obvious cross bedding of layers which indicate that these layers were deposited rapidly while the material was soft. Secondly, while excavating a dinosaur bone, Otis showed us plant roots growing into the dinosaur bone. This is excellent evidence that the non-fossilized bone is thousands of years old, not 65+ million years old.

It is frustrating that some reviewers of the museum are so ideological they refuse to follow the evidence to where it leads. Instead they focus on ad hominem arguments. The following is an amazing example of how evolutionary ideology warps the evidence to fit their view:

Have you heard of dinosaur soft tissue? Do a search for “Mary Schweitzer soft tissues”. The mainstream media confirms the story of dinosaur soft tissue but simply reinterprets the data to fit the old Earth view. Dr. Schweitzer claims that the dinosaur soft tissue evidence means we don't understand the fossilization process. Hold it. What about the most obvious reason for dinosaur soft tissue – it is not millions of years old! Soft tissues, blood and blood vessels decay rapidly. Over the years since the discovery many scientists simply refused believe the evidence was not from contamination because they knew soft tissue cannot last 65+ million years.

Why don’t the establishment scientists consider possibilities outside of supporting evolution? Science is supposed to question, it is supposed to be skeptical. It should not assume evolution is true – especially since there is abundant evidence to the contrary.

If you are open to examining evidence and following the evidence to where it leads then go to the Glendive Dinosaur and Fossil Museum. It is fun, educational and the staff love to answer questions. If you are ideologically committed to evolution and long ages, then you are missing out. I would like to encourage you to open your eyes to the real evidence. A trip to the Glendive Dinosaur and Fossil Museum is a good place to start.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viola, Wisconsin
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not science, just belief, and not educational, just evangelical”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Don't go... Don't vote for this ignorance, and if you go, you are buying into and paying for more lies.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendive, Montana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Worth the time to explore! Something for everyone in the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This museum is anything but your typical museum. My younger children and older children enjoyed it, as much as I did. The exhibits are very well displayed but you get the feeling of being back in time with the way the exhibits are set up with dinosaurs towering overhead and under foot. There are hands on exhibits for the children and adults. The best part for me was leaving the museum with a clearer understanding of myself, life, dinosaurs and our planet. This is truly a gem for the town of Glendive. Don't miss out!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“well worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Extremely beautiful layouts – topnotch all the way. They have some of the best exhibits of any museum in the entire county, but better yet they successfully challenge some the assumptions that we as a society hold dear. It wasn’t until after hearing other opinions that I became aware of the weaknesses in what I had been taught. Take in the awe-inspiring exhibits or challenge your thinking. Either way, it is well worth the trip to beautiful eastern Montana.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glendive Dinosaur & Fossil Museum also viewed

 

Been to Glendive Dinosaur & Fossil Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendive Dinosaur & Fossil Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.