We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best in the area, but still not good.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Yellowstone North

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Yellowstone North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Hellroaring St., Gardiner, MT 59030   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Gardiner
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
432 helpful votes 432 helpful votes
“Maybe the best in the area, but still not good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I was informed by a local that this is the best place to stay in the area. And that may well be true. Nevertheless, while the hotel is well located, it is VERY budget oriented, meaning hard beds, spartan but clean rooms, and a breakfast consisting primarily of day old bread, powdered eggs, generic cereal, and bananas cut in half.

Next time I am in the Yellowstone area, I'll give the Travelodge a try.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt411, Manager at Comfort Inn Yellowstone North, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all reviews seriously and use them to try and better our guests stay. I am, however, confused about your breakfast comment. Our breakfast consists of much more than you mentioned. Scrambled eggs, sausage, variety of pastries, english muffins, toast, 2 flavors waffles, 3 varieties of fruit, 3 varieties of cereal, oatmeal, variety of yogurts, hard boiled eggs, juice, and milk. I am sorry you missed these other items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    47
    31
    14
    13
See reviews for
49
40
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed here with a small group of people (3 rooms) and we were all very satisfied. When we first got to the room we had some noisy neighbors, the front desk couldn't move us for that night because they were full, but went out of thier way to move us to a quieter room for the next 4 nights (even moved our luggage for us since we were in the park all day). We ate the breakfast every morning we were there and thought it was very good. The staff overall was wonderful, friendly, and very helpful- new where to find the animals. Clean rooms, great staff, good breakfast, price- a little high, but you are at the entrance to Yellowstone National Park. We have already started planning our next trip for the spring and we will be saying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back- you don't have any view, but it's much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I have been to Yellowstone twice now, last year and again last month (Aug 2011). Last year we entered from the South entrance and traveled for several days staying at several hotels, all of which were great. This year we decided to stay outside the North Entrance at the Comfort Inn in Gardiner, MT. Very clean and the breakfast as the Comfort Inn was the best that we have had in a long time, which is included in your room cost, we had a room with 2 double beds, $134 per night. Gardnier is a small town, the Yellowstone River flows right through it, you can walk all over town, several places to eat and shop. We saw deer right downtown. The North entrance is where Mammoth Springs is located, the elk are all over that little town. Gardnier is a great subsitute for the more pricey Mammoth Springs Motels. So if you want a short trip to Yellowstone, 2 days was all we had this time, Gardnier is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: stay away from the stair wells, it can be a bit noisy with folks coming and going all hours of the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This was a real surprise for a Comfort Inn. This place was really nice. Friendly staff, really clean, great breakfast and dinner. We turned on the heater just fine. No problem! It was cold at night there and during the day. The shower was great, the beds were really comfortable. We would recommend this place always.

Room Tip: This was a very wonderful stay. Quiet and clean and really comfortable. Highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed for just one night and wre impressed with the facilities on site. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the hotel had a laundry, hot tub, restaurant and bar. Breakfast wasn't served until 7am and we had a wildlife tour starting at 6am so we missed out on the inclusive breakfast but we did eat in the restaurant the night before and found the food was very good.

We had friends who stayed at the Best Western across the road who thought that our hotel looked better and cost a lot less.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Gardiner is one of the places I would highly recommend to visit when the chance strikes. Wonderful during any season really, but with winter coming up I look foward to what should be seen. Montana is a great place if your a winter lover, really a sight for soar eyes. Staff is a treat to deal with.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This comfort inn had hot tubs, a great restaurant, nice size room. The decor is log cabin style which I loved! The staff is super nice and super friendly! loved this area and hotel!!

Room Tip: book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Yellowstone North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yellowstone North

Address: 107 Hellroaring St., Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yellowstone North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Yellowstone North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North Hotel Gardiner
Gardiner Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gardiner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Yellowstone North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.