We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Soothing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Headwaters of the Yellowstone Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Headwaters of the Yellowstone Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Headwaters of the Yellowstone Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
9 Olson Lane, Gardiner, MT 59030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
St. Louis, MO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and Soothing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I couldn't wait to return each night to have a cold frosty beer and watch the Yellowstone river roar by and have a view of Electric Peak. It was very relaxing. The otherside of the yellowstone river bording Headwaters is part of yellowstone. Each day we left early to go to the park and had a picnic basket waiting in the morning with homemade banana bread or blueberry muffins, steaming hot coffe in a themos, fresh fruit and homemade granola. The bed in the bear room was extremely comfortable and clean. The service is 6 star. Don't miss this gem right outside the park.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Headwaters of the Yellowstone is located just outside of Gardiner, MT, on the banks of the Yellowstone River. The B&B has a number of rooms available, as well as some cabins. We stayed in the Elk Room for three nights in late May of 2009.

We cannot say enough good things about this establishment and the people who run it. The B&B is in an ideal location if one is looking to explore the northern and eastern portions of the park. The property has scenic views and wildlife like elk sometimes wander through.

Our room was very comfortable and clean, as was the attached bathroom. A guest lounge, filled with books and related material about the park, is located downstairs, with the dining room upstairs. The food provided was the best we had amongst the various B&B's we stayed at during our two week road trip. Charissa Reid is a confirmed foodie and a talented cook.

The hospitality of the staff was the best part of our stay at this B&B. Both Charissa and her husband are closely affiliated with the park. The advice provided by them on where to go and what to see and do in the park dramatically improved our Yellowstone experience. Being a career employee of the park system, Charissa has an encyclopedic knowledge of many of the parks and communities near by them.

It was delightful how far out of their way they went to ensure that our stay was enjoyable as possible. Charissa prepared a picnic breakfast for us when we elected to venture out early into the park for wildlife viewing, and an unexpected desert was awaiting us when we returned.

The only determent to this wonderful B&B could be that AT&T cell service is quite poor in the main house and internet access is throttled through a satellite connection. We did not really mind this as we were on vacation. The guest lounge has a netbook available to guests for retrieving email which worked well.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Outstanding accommodations and proprietors. A perfect place from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Next to the Yellowstone River (mere footsteps away) and with a view of Electric Peak and the towering Gallatin Range of mountains. The river cabin exceeded my expectations--it was comfortable and perfect for relaxing after a full day immersed in the Park.

Charissa Reid is both knowledgeable and charming. She provides a world class breakfast along with abundant educational resources about Yellowstone in the Headwaters library. (She also wrote the most helpful book about the Park I've yet found.)

I give Headwaters the very highest of recommendations.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

What can I say about this bed and breakfast other than sure
would stay again. Clean, homey, comfortable bed, plenty of space, great breakfast! The man of the house is a ranger in yellowstone so you can get plenty of input of what to go see.
This makes it worth trying a bed and breakfast again.
thanks from Linda and Lowell

  • Liked — clean room food comfortable bed
  • Disliked — on gravel drive
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We had an excellent time at the Headwaters of Yellowstone bed and breakfast for two nights on our trip to Yellowstone NP. Our only regret for the entire trip is that we did not spend all of our nights there. Everything about this b&b is top notch. The food, hospitality, views, price, and location left nothing to be desired. Also, the knowledge and friendliness of the owners far exceeded our expectations. They really make you feel welcome, and are able to share valuable information because of there intimate connection with the national park system. One recommendation I have is to eat lots of granola if it is offered for breakfast, and then when you return home get the recipe from their website and make it for yourself. It is extremely delicious. We will definitely be sure to return on our next visit to Yellowstone.

  • Liked — Everything, no complaints.
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Well, it is very difficult deciding where to start because we had a wonderful experience staying at Headwaters of the Yellowstone. This B&B is located very close to the Yellowstone River but outside the small town of Gardiner, which is a plus if you enjoy sitting outside in the night looking at the stars in the sky. When finally comes breakfast time you will be surprised by the choice of fresh fruits, homemade pastries and of course a hot plate of eggs, every morning different, cooked by Charissa.
She is a natural at being a host. I am saying this because it does not happen very often that you feel like being at friends' home when you are out on vacation. Sure, you are having a good time because you are on vacation, everything works great for you and your wife/girlfriend/buddy but when you leave her house and drop to a different location, maybe in Gardiner, because there were not enough days/rooms available for your entire stay, you realize that even if you are still out on your holiday you are missing a friend, Charissa, although you just met her, her books, her warm, nice and expert conversation about Yellowstone Park and the bears, the snow, the rangers and the wildlife she supports so passionately.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — internet access
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Our stay at this B&B was the highlight of our trip to Montana. We stayed here for 4 nights and felt wonderfully at home. The Innkeepers were very gracious and also offered a wealth of information about the area. The rooms had a great view of the Yellowstone River and surrounding mountains. Though not Five Star quality, they were very clean and comfortable. My husband and I loved sitting out back at the end of the day just enjoying the beauty of the area. Breakfasts were fantastic! Always a delicious homemade pastry or coffecake, fresh fruit and egg dish of the day. Adding to this gourmet delight was the breathtaking view from their dining room and the usual spotting of the Park's wildlife. Compared to the motel choices in Gardiner, this place is a real FIND! It was like staying at a friend's home. I highly recommed it!

  • Liked — Friendly and accomodating InnKeepers as well as cleanlliness of home
  • Disliked — Did not clean the bathrooms every day unless you asked.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Headwaters of the Yellowstone Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headwaters of the Yellowstone Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9 Olson Lane, Gardiner, MT 59030
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headwaters of the Yellowstone is a family friendly place with a location that can not be beat! We are located ON the Yellowstone River ON the North boundary of Yellowstone National Park with riverfront acreage that provides access for fishing, viewing the fantastic mountain scenery and relaxing. Our cabin is clean and comfortable and our evening treats are ALWAYS homemade. Please note that we are not offering rooms in the main house during the 2014 season. We ARE offering our Riverview Cabin - right on the river and just right for YOUR family! We offer warm hospitality in a spectacular setting with lots of up to date information about what to see and do in Yellowstone Park. We look forward to meeting you! To book, please call our partners at the Flying Pig Rafting Company! We'd love to be your hosts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Headwaters Of The Yellowstone Hotel Gardiner
Headwaters Of The Yellowstone b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headwaters of the Yellowstone Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.