We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone Basin Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yellowstone Basin Inn to your Saves list
Yellowstone Basin Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4 Maiden Basin Drive, Gardiner, MT 59030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Calf Roping Lessons
Ranked #2 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington state
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

After hours exploring the wonders of Yellowstone National Park, it was delightful to return to our spacious, bright, clean and quiet lodging. From our room we had glorious vistas and enjoyed watching elk and deer in the nearby fields.

We appreciate the Inn's use of organic, sustainable foods and products. Special requests are met with eager cooperation.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    66
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
127
225
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Yellowstone Basin Inn is close to town and close to Yellowstone with a beautiful view across the valley. The Paradise Cabin room had a rustic look but was modern and very clean. The little gas fireplace added a warm and cozy touch after some chilly April days in Yellowstone. We appreciated the kitchenette that was well supplied with dishes, utensils, paper towels and all that we needed. Greg was very hospitable and welcoming and offered fine dining suggestions and great ideas of where to go. We would happily stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaSkip42, Owner at Yellowstone Basin Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are glad that you visited us in our off season so you can enjoy the Park at a different time of year. We appreciate your detailed review of our property and yes, the Paradise Cabin room offers a rustic feeling with modern amenities in a beautiful and clean inn. It is a very popular unit for couples. We strive to make every guests experience great by offering a concierge service so that they will get the most out of this area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Yellowstone Basin Inn last Summer. The room was clean and quiet. The inn has beautiful views. That alone would give it a high rating but the service is above and beyond any 5 star hotel we've stayed at. I must be on a gluten free diet and I mentioned this when booking our stay. I was told to remind them when we checked in. It was so nice to have a hot breakfast that wasn't grits! They had the most amazing gluten free muffins and made a delicious casserole that I could enjoy. Not only that, our Innkeeper has extensive knowledge of the area he is more than happy to share with the guests. He even recommended a restaurant that was fantastic and we ate there twice (Gluten Free Menu). We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaSkip42, Owner at Yellowstone Basin Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Yellowstone Basin Inn. We are happy that you had a good time as we strive to make our guests experiences wonderful. We are glad we where able to accommodate you for breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Only 5 minutes from town, located on the outskirts is a definite plus - you get quiet seclusion with a beautiful view instead. The innkeepers love what they do and are very helpful and knowledgeable. One is a professional in the hospitality industry. We got great, much appreciated tips on how to view the park and where and where not to eat. We even got a special fireworks show for New Year's Eve!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaSkip42, Owner at Yellowstone Basin Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review for the Yellowstone Basin Inn. We also enjoy being out of town for the quietness and fantastic views. My wife & I truly enjoy what we do and love sharing it with our guests. We had a great New Years Eve! Thank you, Greg & Sabina - Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was absolutely the best stay of our vacation. It was located a little north of the town, but beautiful and peaceful. The rooms are very nice, and look like they've been recently upgraded. All the rooms have a different theme, the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast was homemade, organic and delicious! The owner gave us the best advice on touring the park...it was absolutely on target for our time and taking into account our interests. In the evening the owner has a "roping" lesson, which was a lot of fun. I can't say enough good things about our stay...I would go back in a minute! We loved it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and face the valley to the West. I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaSkip42, Owner at Yellowstone Basin Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for one of the best reviews on Trip Advisor for the Yellowstone Basin Inn. I am glad you enjoyed our rooms. It is really important to make our guests comfortable. This year we are planning on getting new linens, and upgrading some of our TVs and furniture. We are glad you appreciate our breakfasts, we think it is really important to serve food that is good for us and the environment. We are also glad that our recommendations made your trip special. We offer calf roping lessons to all our guests for the true Yellowstone and Montana experience.

Thanks again and we will see you soon,

Greg & Sabina - Your Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife an I stayed for a couple of days at the Yellostone Basin Inn this past October while visiting northern Yellowstone National Park..The property was only four miles out of town and it was a very easy drive to and from the park. The room we had was large and very upscale with nice ammenities such as a stove, refridgerator, sink, etc. Greg, the owner, manager, and concierge was incredible. He knew which springs were flowing at Mammoth Hot Springs and the best places to hike, see wildlife and other beauties of the park. If in the area again, we will certainly return to the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The owner Greg made us very welcome for our 3 night stay last week. Since there were 4 of us we were upgraded into an enormous and spacious suite, complete with 3 bedrooms, kitchen, 2 bathrooms, 2 reception rooms, & a dining room!
The free breakfast majors on organically and locally sourced ingredients, but was definitely american style in content.
Greg is a fountain of good information and is very willing to share his knowledge with the guests, - very helpful!
The only downside of the YBI is that it is nearly 5 miles out of town on the Livingston road, so a drive back into town is necessary each evening for a meal. However the early morning views across the valley from the elevated situation are worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellowstone Basin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Basin Inn

Address: 4 Maiden Basin Drive, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Basin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome!Offering year-round hospitality in a quiet mountain setting, Yellowstone Basin Inn is located just 5 miles north of the town of Gardiner, Montana and the north entrance of Yellowstone National Park.All rooms and suites include private bath, air conditioning, satellite TV, WiFi, and a Home cooked, FROM SCRATCH, buffet breakfast*. Some units have a fully-equipped kitchen or kitchenette.Activities in the area include fishing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, whitewater rafting, and nature photography.We offer: • Home cooked buffet breakfast* • Outdoor hot tub* • Incredible views of the park • Porch with bistro tables/rockers* • Free calf roping lessons* • Complimentary Concierge • Lunches to go* • Friendly and helpful staff • Fantastic Yellowstone experience *Limited availability in Winter Your hosts Greg and Sabina Strauss are dedicated to making your Yellowstone vacation an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Yellowstone Basin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Basin Hotel Gardiner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowstone Basin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.