We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cottage close to Yellowstone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillcrest Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillcrest Cottages
Save
You added Hillcrest Cottages to your Saves list
400 West Scott St., PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage close to Yellowstone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Everything about our stay here was wonderful! I read a couple of reviews complaining about the small size, but it was really just what I would have expected. A cottage is supposed to be little! We had two queen sized comfy beds, nice fluffy pillows, and extra twin bed which we didn't need but provided more space to sit. There was a nice kitchenette with stovetop, microwave, sink, fridge, coffee maker, toaster. Dishes and cookware were available in the office but we had brought our own. Air conditioning, satellite tv, and free wifi were also provided. The bathroom was NOT tiny. It was about what you'd get in an apartment, with a standard shower stall, not a bathtub. Everything was very clean and housekeeping was provided each day. Art and Annie, the owners were incredibly kind and friendly but pretty much left us alone unless we needed something. They had a cute little dog named Rusty that our children loved. The cottages are almost immediately outside Yellowstone's North Entrance and right in town. Walking distance to all restaurants. We got pizza from the K-bar. Not great, very greasy, but we were starving so it tasted good to us! Try the fried garlic dough, it was good! One night we walked down to the Yellowstone Outpost Mall and got ice cream in a little shop. HUGE and yummy ice cream cones and friendly service. Give these cottages a try, you will love them! I would recommend that you divide your stay perhaps between the Cody or West Entrance area and Gardiner....you will have to drive a LOT to see Yellowstone!

Room Tip: Just ask Art and Annie, they are so helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
LA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I decided to get a room with the kitchen just so that I can cook instead of eating out. There's only 1 grocery store in the town of Gardiner that close @ 9 so if you plan on cooking you better get out of the park earlier. All I need to do is to ask for pots & pans, utensils and plates from the rental office and I can start cooking. The bathroom looked new to me so they probably did some fixing up. Room is clean and they also have satellite TV. I liked it a lot especially I get to enjoy a hot breakfast fresh from the stove. Price is very reasonable and the area is quiet. Not too far away from the Roosevelt Arch like the other bed and breakfast place (about a 5 minute drive). I will definitely go back if I decide to visit Yellowstone again.

Room Tip: Ask them for a room that has a kitchen if you want to cook. U only pay a few bucks more per nite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

We arrived in Gardiner without a room reserved and were referred to Hillcrest by another booked hotel. We managed to get a room before they were all taken and were very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean with a remodelled bathroom and kitchenette. The air conditioner was a god-send because it was a brutally hot day. Only minor downside--no dishes provided, so be sure to bring your own. The room had its own little patio and bench where you can take in the view of the hills and mountains across the river.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Spent 2 nights here along with 6 other couples. We had one of the 'motel' rooms. The rooms was small, but nicely furnished. Large bathroom. Had great service. Easy walking to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Hillcrest cabin offers you something more than a multi-storey motels. That's the kitchenette which you can make your own food and sandwich the day before you visit the park. The location of the cabin is well-situated with a few minute drive away from the north entrance of the park. The price was a steal in the yellowstone area. Hillcrest cabin would be a nice choice if you plan to stay in the park for quite awhile. On the downside, the mounted TV was not function in my cabin which bored me a bit at night. The cabin is small as well which you could barely turn and move inside. Overall my stay was a pleasant one in Hillcrest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed in a one bedroom cottage which was quite neat and clean. However, the room was exceptionally small, the bed was against one wall which just left enough room to get to the bathroom. There was a small table with two chairs and the TV was mounted above this. We forgot when getting up a couple of times and hit our heads on the TV. It was quite a struggle to find somewhere for our bags. There did appear to be other one bedroom cabins that looked bigger.

The cabin is advertised as a kitchenette and it has a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. However, we discovered there was no coffee and when we went to the office we were told it was available if asked for. When we got back with the coffee, we discovered nothing to drink it from! In fact when we looked around there was nothing apart from 3 disposable plastic cups and one bar of soap. By this stage it had all got too hard and we decided to forgo the coffee. Obviously if you want anything that would be standard in other establishments you have to go and ask for it.

The bed only had two pillows which unfortunately were about 1 inch thick and we found sleep difficult. The towels were very thin and looked more like hand towels.

This is well situated for Yellowstone and reasonably priced for the area. With just a little more attention to detail it would be quite good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

This is a nice little cottage and just near the north entrance of Yellowstone National Park.(about 1 minute driving).The place is right off the main strip but it’s so quiet. The staff Michael was very friendly and accommodating. (His dog is so cute, too.) Rooms were very clean with basic amenities. The room had TV with cable, table with 2 chairs, kitchenette, coffee maker, wifi , air conditioning. microwave and small fridge. It’s enough to cook the basic food. Some reviews mentioned about that the bathroom is small but it’s O.K. for me because it’s the same size with the cabins in the Yellowstone National Park.. The most important thing is that “IT WAS THE CHEAPEST PLACE TO STAY IN GARDINER.” I reserved a cottage with one queen bed at $78 per night plus 7% tax at Summer season and it’s just the half of the hotel in the park. Hillcrest Cottages has’t its own internet reservation system. You must make a reservation via E-mail or telephone. It’s a little inconvenient to foreign visitors like me. But to the local person, it is totally not the problem I think .The little cottage is the secret garden and greatest value cottage near by Yellowstone National Park.. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillcrest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Cottages

Address: 400 West Scott St., PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Cottages Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Hotel Gardiner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillcrest Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.