We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Good food+beer, slower service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Bar & Grill

Iron Horse Bar & Grill
200 Spring Street, Gardiner, MT 59030 (Formerly Iron Horse Bar & Grill)
+1 406-848-7666
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Gardiner
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quite Good food+beer, slower service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a decent dinner at this place, well but had a difficulties to be seated. There quite a few places outside said as reserved, but no-one really arrived during our dinner.
Service could be a bit more organized as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Iron Horse Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are sorry you had slower service while dining with us. We do take multiple reservations at times with larger groups that are often running late (enjoying the park, rafting, getting stuck in a buffalo jam etc.) Please come enjoy a great meal with us next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    81
    30
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Must have been off season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

It was ok but not many people as I guess the off season just started. It was very typical for me as was the service and staff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Location lousy service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our experience here was not good. We could not get any help in sitting although they have a sign that says to please wait to be seated. We seated ourselves after 15-20 minutes of waiting, then my wife had to stand in the way of a server to get them to notice her. Food was plain hamburger stand quality with Park Avenue prices. We will not be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Iron Horse Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are very sorry you had a bad experience at our establishment!. As the busy summer season comes to an end, a lot of our employees are college aged and go back to school. Thus making it sometimes difficult for us to staff our restaurant appropriately. We strive to make sure everyone has great service along with great food. Our prices are very competitive if not cheaper then anywhere in the area. We offer a quarter pound cheeseburger and fries for seven dollars. Once again I am sorry you had a less than exceptional time and hope you will try us again when you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat when visiting Yellowstone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

While staying in Mammoth and not very happy with the restaurant there, we drove down to Gardiner, the town just outside the north gate of Yellowstone National Park. The restaurant is right on the river and after drinks at the bar, we sat at a table on the deck which has a lovely view. This is a fun place with a good menu and the food was excellent, as was the service. If we visited Yellowstone again, we would stay in Gardiner which has a good choice of hotels, rather than Mammoth where we thought the old hotel was overpriced. the drive from mammoth to Gardiner is beautiful as well and on our way back from dinner, we saw a family of elk.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The choice of restaurants is not great in Gardiner but the meal we had at the Iron Horse Bar was very good indeed. The service was excellent and the food was delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Horse Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Iron Horse Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.