We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, friendly welcome, meets needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park to your Saves list
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   702 Scott St. West, Hwy 89/PO Box 739, Gardiner, MT 59030-0739   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Yorkshire, UK
1 review
“Great Location, friendly welcome, meets needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 2 years in a row - both in late May/early June. The fact I went back to the same place, should help confirm this is a good value hotel in a great location just outside the North Entrance to Yellowstone Park. The rooms are clean and a good size. There is no lift (that I saw anyway) for people going to the first floor, so if you need a ground floor room, I would ring ahead. Wifi works well - I had no issues uploading or downloading. The walls are thin, so you can hear most things happening next door, but that is to be expected in the 'motel' type hotel. I have never seen breakfast - aways out of the hotel before it starts, so am unable to comment.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are quieter, as you do not have people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    135
    106
    23
    15
See reviews for
148
118
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington VA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a normal Super 8, the rooms are plain but clean. The staff is pretty well trained and friendly. The pool is kind of small and not too welcoming. It was kind of neat to see two deer grazing on the Super 8 lawn when I went to my car in the morning. Gardiner is a cool little town, no McDonalds or Burger King.

Room Tip: River views are nice but they cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We've stayed here many times since it's so close to the park. The rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful. The continental breakfast gets a little boring if you stay here for several days, but there's always the grocery store across the street!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is most definitely an older property. Two stories with no elevator, and a confusing floor plan and entrance to the lobby. However if you are trying to stay close to Yellowstone you do not have a lot to choose from in Gardiner. The hotel is right on the main drag of the little town and you can walk to several good local restaurants within a few blocks. This is not new and it is not plush. But it is clean and comfortable. We were up early the first morning to get into the Yellowstone before daybreak, and were pleasantly surprised to find a large group of elk on the hotel grounds between the building and the parking lot. Their breakfast is really pretty bad, about the only offering is cold cereal or a cold sweet roll.

Room Tip: The hotel floor plan is so confusing I could not tell you which side of the building we were on, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Montana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have stayed in both the south wing and the north wing...I prefer the north wind. It has always been very clean & comfortable. The free continental breakfast doesn't have much variety but it work for me because I don't eat until I've been up a few hours. I make tea to go and toast some raisin bread to take on the road. The staff is friendly and will fill any request if they can.

Room Tip: Go with the north annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed here on a quick visit to YNP to look for wolves & bears in March 2012. Got a good deal on a two queen bed room ($55 including tax). Not expecting anything fancy, just wanted a bed and a shower close to the park. This place fit the bill.

Clean rooms, nothing fancy, but at least it was clean. Mattresses decent too, especially compared to the few other Super 8s where I've stayed in the past.

Not much in the way of breakfast, but then again, I wasn't expecting much either.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazama, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed here for 3 weeks in January. I came to ski and check out wildlife. The staff were very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. I stayed here for a couple of weeks the previous winter as well. I highly recommend staying at this Super 8.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park

Address: 702 Scott St. West, Hwy 89/PO Box 739, Gardiner, MT 59030-0739
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Hotel Gardiner
Super Eight Gardiner
Gardiner Super 8
Gardiner Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.