We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Seattle in Gardiner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Restaurant

Lighthouse Restaurant
752 Hwy 89 South, Gardiner, MT 59030
406-848-2138
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Gardiner
Price range: $8 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Lighthouse Restaurant is located in a large 6000 Square foot structure that was built in the 1920's. The main dining rom is constructed with wood and logs and has a nice, warm and casual atmosphere.We are located 7 miles north of Gardiner off of highway 89 and the restaurant is surrounded by beautiful mountains and is located 1 mile away from the historic natural wonder (The Devil's Slide).
Owensboro
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A bit of Seattle in Gardiner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The owners are a family from Seattle who had a place at Pike Place Mkt. Their friendliness made up for the kitchen's slowness the night we were there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    81
    20
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This restaurant is exactly what Gardiner needed: a great place to eat for a very reasonable price! The restaurant is located 7 miles north of Gardiner, in Corwin Springs. The staff is very friendly and helpful and, most importantly: they serve really great food!

We ate here 3 times during our 10-day visit to Yellowstone National Park. The menu isn’t very extensive but there’s something to everyone’s liking. We had the pasta with creamy tomato sauce (once with shrimp, once with chicken: both were excellent!), the New York Steak (cooked to perfection!) and the Thai lime tilapia fish with rice. All meals were delicious!

Since the wildlife in Yellowstone National Park got us delayed a bit, we arrived later than expected for dinner twice. But that was no problem at all: the Lighthouse is open till 11 p.m. and they gladly serve you a delicious meal at 10.30 p.m. And they didn’t rush us at all to finish our meals.

The desserts are great too: the hot chocolate fudge cake is even yummie without the rich cream cheese frosting.

The beverages are served in cans, which is actually a good thing. It means you get the real thing and that your Coke or Sprite doesn’t have that chlorine taste which we have encountered in other places in the U.S.A.
Other guests at the hotel we stayed at in Gardiner, also ate at the Lighthouse. We compared notes and they were equally impressed with the great food and very reasonable prices.

Too bad the Lighthouse is only open part of the year: from May 21st till September 21st (I guess that’s the peak season for visiting Yellowstone National Park). They’re closed on Tuesdays as well, but hey: everyone deserves a break! It’s a joy to eat at the Lighthouse and when we return to Yellowstone, we’ll definitely eat there again.

By the way: they deliver too! Good job guys and looking forward to seeing you again in the future!

Marian & Nico – Eindhoven, the Netherlands

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We just ate here last night which was their last night before closing for the season (which may be part of the problem). The waiter was very pleasant, but we never received the sodas or salads that we ordered. My husband and I both ordered pasta, but my marinara and his cream sauce were exactly the same. When I told our waiter there was a mistake, he insisted I had never had homemade marinara. He also recommended we have beef with our pasta rather than chicken or shrimp. The beef was tough and not very good. When we received our check we were charged for the sodas and salads. The waiter had no idea we didn't receive them, but he graciously removed them from our bill.
I am surprised so many people rated this restaurant highly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Loved this little restaurant in the middle of nowhere. Great quality, unexpectedly. creative dishes at unbelievable prices. Friendly waitstaff. Dessert was delicious...try the chocolate or carrot cake.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Jewel of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

So happy to find this wonderful restaurant just outside of Gardiner. The service was amazing with friendly and knowledgeable staff. The food was incredible, and what a bargin after paying national park service prices! Make sure you save room for dessert, we had a slice of the most incredible carrot cake ever! Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.