We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montana Hospitality at it's finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 320 Guest Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 320 Guest Ranch to your Saves list
320 Guest Ranch
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   205 Buffalo Horn Creek, Mile Marker 36, Hwy 191, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Highland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Montana Hospitality at it's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife, in-laws, 2 boys and 2 dogs stayed 3 nights in adjoining cabins. The experience was wonderful. The staff are very friendly, they will book your daily adventures for you and the restaurant is superb. Morning breakfast was very good (not your typical continental) and included in the room price. We stayed for the Pig Roast - which felt like a family bbq! Rooms were simple - very clean and had all amenities. We are planning our next stay already...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    45
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
85
44
1
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband and I, and our 3 children stayed in the 2 bedroom/2 bath, full kitchen, apartment sized stacked washer/dryer (Ramshorn) It was lovely. There is no internet connection in the individual cabins, only by the main dining building... which was fine, it left our time very quiet and peaceful without checking e-mails or having the phone ring. The Ranch is a lovely place to stay. We also did the 4 hour horse trail ride, it was very beautiful up on the mountains. We are not used to riding this amount of time, so a 2 hour trip would have been better. Amber at the Horse barn was a great trail leader! If you stay here, you will not be disappointed!! We will stay here again on a trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for four nights, and we wished we had longer. We had a two-bedroom house with fireplace, two baths, washer/dryer, and hot tub. Breakfast was included; we enjoyed the short walk to the dining room each morning in the brisk air. Our grandsons took horseback riding lessons and went on trail rides. They were well cared for in every activity. The valley location was gorgeous, although there is no cell phone reception and no television. The restaurant/dining room has wifi. The location is convenient to Bozeman, where we flew in to BZN and rented a car. It's also less than 1 1/2 hours to Yellowstone's Old Faithful. We went whitewater rafting on the Gallatin River --the ranch is very convenient to several rafting companies. Staff was very helpful -- we couldn't get sufficient hot water for the hot tub. Someone was there within minutes to solve the problem. Our visit exceeded all expectations -- I'd almost like to live there, except in winter!

Room Tip: 2-bedroom houses are super convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, CA, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed in a cabin for three nights. After reading previous reviews, we didn't know what to expect. We found the cabin to be very spacious, comfortable, and clean. In back of the cabin, there was a creek, so we left our window open at night to hear the rushing water. Contrary to what other people wrote, we found the lighting more than sufficient to read and write. The TV is small, but who wants to watch TV when there is so much to do outside.

We ate at the restaurant two of the three nights. Food was excellent - prepared just the way we asked. Their selection of wine was appropriate for the dishes, and the bartender made great cocktails upon request. We happened to arrive on Monday, so we feasted on the pulled-pork buffet. Very festive atmosphere despite the thunderstorm, and the food was authentic and delicous. The only annoyance we had pertained to breakfast. It was noisy and some families didn't really know how to "harness" their kids, which made the buffet a bit of an obstacle course at times. However, we realized this is part of the package.

We scheduled a four-hour ride on horseback. Wow! We will remember this for the rest of our lives. We left in the morning and climbed the mountain opposite the ranch. The horses were great, the views spectacular, and the guide just friendly enough - not talking too much, but always willing to talk to explain something or point out something. We came upon a herd of wild elk grazing in an open field. Amazing!!! I don't want to overplay this, but our experience ended up being a bit spiritual - the grandeur of nature, the nobleness of the elks, and the majestic views....

We also used the ranch as our "base camp" into Yellowstone. It was conveniently located, and it also allowed us easy access to Big Sky for a night away from the ranch.

We found the staff to be helpful and courteous. They provided some maps and recommendations regarding hiking trails in the area, and we found their recommendations to be spot on. We would have no reservations about staying again...but we would need them if we were to stay again. :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Absolutely wonderful. Everyone on the ranch from the wait staff to the wranglers were a complete joy. The half-day ride up to the meadows was dazzling, and the horses themselves were friendly and knew the trails by heart, allowing you to soak it all in. Dinner was scrumptious (breakfast less so) and the Monday night pig roast is not to be missed.

Room Tip: The 3br cabins sleep 10-12 and are only slightly more expensive than two of the 2-person
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I would have given the ranch 5 stars had it been cleaner and if we could have taken advantage of the horseback riding, but my son is only 7 and you have to be 8 to ride a real trail. It is hard to keep the place clean because it is a ranch and is DUSTY. Not their fault,
however, just nature. The views are gorgeous and the restaurant is
amazing! Best food and wine out
West. We stayed here because our
campsite in Yellowstone was snowy
and muddy. It was a but of a haul
to and from the park but seriously,
the restaurant made it worth the
trip! The people are very nice! We stayed when they offered 3 nights for the price of two which was totally worth it. Would stay again and do a trail ride in the future!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

On our way to Yellowstone, we decided to stop a few places and we made the 320 Ranch our first stop. First of all, the land here is simply breathtaking. Nestled in between mountains and a river, you feel immediately relaxed. There is no cell or internet service, so you had better be in relaxation mode!!!

We booked a riverside cabin, which turned out to be better than expected. It was very clean, really roomy and well equipped with basic necessities. The one thing that bothered me is the lack of lighting in the cabin. I couldn't see anything!

We booked a few trips at 320, including a half day, guided horse ride. It was absolutely wonderful! The guide was patient, lovely and knowledgable and we got to see some wildlife and breathtaking scenery.

The restaurant at 320 was really top notch for dinner. Excellent food and service.
The breakfast, which is included with your stay, was OK. Typical buffet breakfast with watery coffee, but all very acceptable.

All in all, if you're looking for a clean, relaxing, friendly place to get away from it all and that gives you a real Montana feel, then I strongly suggest the 320 Ranch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 320 Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 320 Guest Ranch

Address: 205 Buffalo Horn Creek, Mile Marker 36, Hwy 191, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gallatin Gateway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 320 Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're Montana's premier year-round guest ranch, where you can horseback ride, hike, fish, ski, snowmobile, sightsee, raft, and just plain have fun, all in the warm and friendly atmosphere of a classic Western guest ranch. The 320 is perfect for everything from family vacations, weddings and romantic getaways, to hosting your company's next event or meeting. Flexible accommodation options and activity programs ensure that everyone will have the trip of a lifetime. Stay a day, a week, a month, or anything in between. Take whatever time you need to relax, rejuvenate, and escape from the stresses of your busy life. You deserve to spend some time at the 320 Guest Ranch ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your 320 Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
320 Guest Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
320 Guest Ranch Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 320 Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.