We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Vacation Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covered Wagon Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gallatin Gateway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Covered Wagon Ranch
Save
You added Covered Wagon Ranch to your Saves list
34035 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Family Vacation Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our first experience with a dude ranch vacation so I did quite a bit of research before booking. Many reviews state that the descriptions on websites don't match reality. This is not the case with Covered Wagon. What you see on the website is what you get. The owners, Kurt and Melissa, set the tone for a great experience. They are friendly, engaging and always making sure you are having a good time. This tone filters down to the wranglers, ranch hands, kitchen staff and housekeeping. I have never experienced a staff so devoted to making my vacation perfect. It started every morning with Kurt making the rounds with the daily question, "So, what do you want to do today?". At Covered Wagon, nothing in the schedule is set, its all based on when you want to ride and how long you want to ride. This was very important for us as we had a wide range of riding experience. In addition to the staff, the horses are very well behaved. Kurt and the wranglers make great effort to make sure you are matched with the right horse. If it is not a good fit, they change it. Our oldest daughter rode two different horses during the week. Kurt was so flexible in trying to meet the needs of his guests.

The cabins are the original ones on the ranch. They have been updated obviously but have a wonderful charm with the beds and wood burning stoves. All the cabins have bathrooms. The housekeeping staff does a great job cleaning every day. We could not have been more pleased with our experience here.

However, you can't forget the food. It is served at 7, 1 and 7 each day. It is homemade everyday including the breakfast breads and breads at night. Our menus for breakfast ranged any where from an egg strata to french toast to breakfast enchiladas to good ole scrambled eggs. The week we were there, some of the guests were vegetarians. The kitchen accommodated them every day. The other thing I really liked was the family style setting of the meals. You really get to the know the other guests. Our kids made a lot of new friends during the week. In fact, they were having such a good time that the fact that there are no TV's on the ranch was never an issue.

In summary, if you are a looking for great dude ranch vacation, this is the place. Location, facilities and the people make it truly special. We will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
51
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the service to the scenery, it's all here. There's just something about this place that makes you never want to leave. This was my first trip to a ranch and I won't go anywhere else...however, next time I will stay for a longer period of time. The staff is very accommodating...our wranglers were fantastic...the food was excellent. Fewer cabins means more personal attention, and I appreciated the small amount of people on the trail rides. You won't regret choosing the Covered Wagon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wanna be a cowboy or a cowgirl in style? Wanna dine & mingle with other fun and interesting people? Looking for good times and lasting memories? This is the place! Put on your boots and let the horse do the walking. Travel by horseback and enjoy the vast and beautiful wonders of Montana's pristine interior or put your feet up and take in the views from the porch of your very own cozy cabin. This unique ranch is situated on the edge of the wilderness and surrounded by many fascinating trails. It's a great place to spot a Moose and other critters and wonderful to experience the quiet and untouched natural beauty of Montana. Many guests return year after year and are reluctant to go back home after a week of great food, good company and a very relaxing atmosphere.
The owners are terrific folks and the staff are a very pleasant and good-natured group.
Covered Wagon Ranch is a trip back in time to the Old West with all of the comforts of home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you Have never experienced time at a western ranch you are missing the chance of a lifetime. This was my second trip to a ranch and the covered wagon exceeded my first experience which I did not think possible. The staff was wonderful food excellent beautiful scenery great horses. Melissa and Kurt were very accommodating and knowledgeable about the area. Wranglers were fun to ride with and helpful. I loved my cabin especially the wood stove. The staff supplied the necessary supplies which made it easy to start the fire. Last but not least the friendships made and experiences shared will last a lifetime.

Room Tip: All cabins are quaint with a beautiful view And rocking chair front porches
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

if you enjoy mountains, horses, outdoors, and friendly people you need to visit the covered wagon ranch in montana. cabins are extreamly comfortable with wood burning fireplaces and claw foot tubs to soak in. the western decor makes you feel like you are visiting the old west. if you are a horse lover like i am you will truly enjoy their riding program. you can request your rideing preferance with your individual experiance and they will pair you with the perfect horse. the one thing that i love about this ranch is they have their own horses know each one and offer half and full day rides. the care the horses are given is excepitonal. i also have to mention kirk and his bride melissa, whom run the ranch and work hard to make your wishes come true, along with a great staff ! there arent enough words to describe the beauty of this country,all in all i give this ranch an excellent rating and have already booked for next year along with many others .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

As 'limeys' in cowboy country it was an amazing experience. The walking, running and riding are excellent and the staff professional, caring and very friendly. Mind you exercise is a must as the food is to die for !!! Home made cookies and wonderful cuisine US style with the odd European menu thrown in !! The ranch is run by Melissa and Kurt who are both fully involved along with the wranglers, housing staff and the kitchen.
I hadn't sat on a horse since 1976 when I fell off my wife's !!! Kurt persuaded me to have a go and I ended up clocking over 60 miles on horseback........
A wonderful place staffed by wonderful people............'I'll be back' as Arnie would say !!

Room Tip: All the cabins are great and scattered around the ranch's dining and main lounge. All are wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the ranch to celebrate a friends birthday. When you think of a Dude Ranch it seems a bit cliche. What an unexpected surprise. Kurt and Meliisa made you feel like your were part of the ranch. Our favorite part was watching the horses run free in the wild and then return back to the ranch on their own and "hang out" with us around the camp fire! Our hosts, and our wrangler (Austin) were genuinely nice and kind people. Anyone who wants to experience a vacation where you can really just relax, enjoy nature and be with the heartland of America - this is it! Thanks so much for a special time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Covered Wagon Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covered Wagon Ranch

Address: 34035 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gallatin Gateway
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Covered Wagon Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Covered Wagon Ranch Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covered Wagon Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.