We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covered Wagon Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gallatin Gateway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Covered Wagon Ranch
Save Saved
You added Covered Wagon Ranch to your Saves list
34035 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the ranch to celebrate a friends birthday. When you think of a Dude Ranch it seems a bit cliche. What an unexpected surprise. Kurt and Meliisa made you feel like your were part of the ranch. Our favorite part was watching the horses run free in the wild and then return back to the ranch on their own and "hang out" with us around the camp fire! Our hosts, and our wrangler (Austin) were genuinely nice and kind people. Anyone who wants to experience a vacation where you can really just relax, enjoy nature and be with the heartland of America - this is it! Thanks so much for a special time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
47
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Finally a ranch were they ask you "what type of ride do you want to do today". My vacation...my riding. Loved that the most!! The staff was great at the covered wagon ranch. Melissa and Kurt who manage the ranch were very intune with what the guest wanted. The wranglers were very informative and helpful and the kitchen and housekeeping staff showed how much they wanted to make my vacation one to remember! Melissa gave me great idea's one day when I went into West Yellowstone on where to eat, shop and best of all where to get the best ice cream I have ever had...thanks Melissa. Met some nice people,they too were enjoying the ranch just as much. The cabins were cozy and had maid service daily. Always had fresh towels if I wanted them. Always had hot water and wood for the stove. They keep a cooler at each cabin which they provide the ice so don't worry about keeping the nice bottle of wine cold. The food at the ranch was average but I did'nt go hungry. I have been to a few other ranches and I have to say no other ranch wanted to please me more!! Thanks Ya'all......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Exceeded all my expectations. Melissa and Kurt went above and beyond to ensure we had a wonderful time. The Staff was excellent, our wrangler Austin was terrifc, the food was delicious, horses were very well taken care of, the cabins were clean, cozy and everything was perfect! You have to experience it to believe it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our cabin was well appointed and comfortable. The food was simple cowboy, good food especially the breakfasts. Above and beyond all this the wonderful staff led by Kurt and Melissa made our four days at the ranch a never to be forgotten experience. All four of us are beginner riders but left feeling we had stretched our level of riding. We rode 3 days and went whitewater rafting 1day. My only suggestion for the ranch 's program would be to add some evening programs. IT WAS THE BEST!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everything you have read in the previous reviews are all true. Just returned from 1 week at the ranch to celebrate our 30th anniversary and it was awesome. The entire staff was just great and we really did get to do whatever we wanted to. They ask you, you tell them, they make it happen. Our last day was proof of that. Everyone was doing an all day ride, but my wife and I wanted to do something shorter where we could get the horses going a little faster. Melissa and Kurt made it happen and made sure we enjoyed ourselves. Ride as much or little as you want. Don't like your horse, ask for another. Love your horse, keep it the whole time. Ask for advice when exploring the area (Yellowstone/Big Sky). Enjoy the food and the company. It's easy to see why so many people keep coming back to this place. If you've never ridden before, that's fine because they will teach you everything you need to know. But even more than that, they take such great care of their animals. If you are still not sure, just do it! You'll be happy you did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

over all the place is excellent the staff was great, the rides where incredible, the cabins where nice a cozy. the owners where very accomodating you didn't have structured rides every day it was what you wanted to do, what kind of ride you wanted, they provided. i give this place an A++

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

5 friends shared a great horseback riding vacation with incredible staff and guests
food is excellent and plenty of it
owners could not be more accomodating
wranglers were great
housekeeping did a wonderful job
overall service was A+
had a blast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Covered Wagon Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covered Wagon Ranch

Address: 34035 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gallatin Gateway
Also Known As:
Covered Wagon Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Covered Wagon Ranch Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covered Wagon Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.