We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covered Wagon Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gallatin Gateway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Covered Wagon Ranch
Save
You added Covered Wagon Ranch to your Saves list
34035 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Exceeded all my expectations. Melissa and Kurt went above and beyond to ensure we had a wonderful time. The Staff was excellent, our wrangler Austin was terrifc, the food was delicious, horses were very well taken care of, the cabins were clean, cozy and everything was perfect! You have to experience it to believe it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
51
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our cabin was well appointed and comfortable. The food was simple cowboy, good food especially the breakfasts. Above and beyond all this the wonderful staff led by Kurt and Melissa made our four days at the ranch a never to be forgotten experience. All four of us are beginner riders but left feeling we had stretched our level of riding. We rode 3 days and went whitewater rafting 1day. My only suggestion for the ranch 's program would be to add some evening programs. IT WAS THE BEST!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everything you have read in the previous reviews are all true. Just returned from 1 week at the ranch to celebrate our 30th anniversary and it was awesome. The entire staff was just great and we really did get to do whatever we wanted to. They ask you, you tell them, they make it happen. Our last day was proof of that. Everyone was doing an all day ride, but my wife and I wanted to do something shorter where we could get the horses going a little faster. Melissa and Kurt made it happen and made sure we enjoyed ourselves. Ride as much or little as you want. Don't like your horse, ask for another. Love your horse, keep it the whole time. Ask for advice when exploring the area (Yellowstone/Big Sky). Enjoy the food and the company. It's easy to see why so many people keep coming back to this place. If you've never ridden before, that's fine because they will teach you everything you need to know. But even more than that, they take such great care of their animals. If you are still not sure, just do it! You'll be happy you did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

over all the place is excellent the staff was great, the rides where incredible, the cabins where nice a cozy. the owners where very accomodating you didn't have structured rides every day it was what you wanted to do, what kind of ride you wanted, they provided. i give this place an A++

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

5 friends shared a great horseback riding vacation with incredible staff and guests
food is excellent and plenty of it
owners could not be more accomodating
wranglers were great
housekeeping did a wonderful job
overall service was A+
had a blast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

As I read the other reviews there is nothing I can do but agree whole-heartedly. This is truly a special place. We picked Covered Wagon because it seemed like we would be able to spend more time with our kids and not separated into child and adult rides and that is what we got and so much more. The cabins were immacualate and comfortable, the staff warm and welcoming from beginning to end, the horses well cared for and amazing, the food fantastic. Kurt and Melissa are terrific and from beginning to end we heard, its your vacation what would you like to do. What a wonderful attitude. We were travelling with our 13 and 15 year old children who both loved the experience. We left the ranch and spent the next 5 days doing exciting things in Jackson Wy but at the end of the trip each of us thought our stay at Covered Wagon was the highlight of our trip. It's not one thing about the ranch that is special. Its everything, from the minute you arrive until the moment you sadly drive out of the gate you feel like part of a special extended family. We will definitely go back and would recommend the experience to everyone, especially if you are travelling with teens and looking for a way to do something as a family. One more thing, the pictures I have added and that I have seen, simply do not convey the atmosphere at the ranch. It is really comfortable and quaint. Absolutely a wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were looking for a Western riding experience, along with some whitewater rafting and a tour of Yellowstone. Thanks to Kurt and Melissa we were able to accomplish all of this on a five day trip and not feel at all stressed about it. Their recommendations for guides were spot on and they were happy to make our reservations for us. None of us had any real riding experience, including our 8 and 11 year-old boys, but the horses they put us on were perfect and we had great trail riding experiences. Our younger boy especially enjoyed playing with the cats and dogs that live at the ranch. The cabins are very clean and the food excellent. Great overall experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Covered Wagon Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covered Wagon Ranch

Address: 34035 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gallatin Gateway
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Covered Wagon Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Covered Wagon Ranch Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covered Wagon Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.