We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Grille

Union Grille
1 Grand Union Square, Fort Benton, MT 59442
406-622-1882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving Montana Regional Cuisine in a Historic setting. Patio dining next to the Missouri River. Many ingredients are locally sources and our trained Chef cooks dishes according to the season. AAA three diamond rating.
Northville, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel restaurants are not usually anything special, but this one is definitely the exception! We ate there for three dinners and everything we had was very good! There was an emphasis on local and fresh ingredients with a wonderful view of the Missouri River.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Gold Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was fine dining on the good china and cloth napkins! The menu had a variety of choices, and the lamb was delightful. My husband had the steak and it melt in your mouth. The Bison Chowder was WONDERFUL!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Relaxing. If all you are looking for is chicken finger and fries, this is not your place. Excellent food. The care in the preparation of the menu and quality of food is excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We enjoyed dinner here while staying at the Grand Union Hotel. The room itself is beautiful and there is a very nice little bar attached. You can also have dinner on the patio, which has a beautiful view right over the Missouri River. Service and food were good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Not as nice as it could be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The management tries to impress you with their ideas of high culture and gourmet cuisine but it doesn't really come off successfully. Since I wasn't here to experience fine dining -- just good food -- I wish they would drop some of the veneer of elegance.
I have no complaints about the quality or taste of the food (my ribeye was cooked perfectly) but it was an expensive dinner that could have been better if their attentions had been placed more on the food than on the ambiance.
They do have a nice little bar where I had a local microbrew before dinner and an outdoor patio for drinks after dinner along the banks of the Missouri River.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Grille also viewed

 
Fort Benton, MT
 

Been to Union Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.