We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Izaak Walton Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Izaak Walton Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Izaak Walton Inn to your Saves list
Izaak Walton Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Izaak Walton Inn Rd, Essex, MT 59916   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Getaway Package!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Izaak Walton Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great weekend visit. We stayed in the J.J. Caboose and enjoyed the wine pairing dinner. Eduardo is an amazing chef. His 7 course dinner featured food from different South American countries. Lots of snow. Great hotel staff. The caboose was a fun experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    112
    49
    26
    15
See reviews for
112
156
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pacific NW
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time at Izaak Walton.lots of groomed trails nice rooms, great food, fun lodge. Friendly staff. Great ski rental equipment, back country touring and lessons by a wonderful long time guide. Would definitely come back. Our friends have been coming back for 15 years.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

to see so many reviews that are average and bad, sadly I must agree with them. im not going to get into the issues directly so the manager can come on and say sorry and offer the same reply that has been said over and over again. This place has so much potential, trains, location, forest, secluded, its all there except great food and service and getting there act together. cant suggest staying here as a result. it takes years to over come the bad and negative reviews, stop getting them and make this place it deserves and should be

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were disappointed with our stay. We wanted someplace to relax and read, but it didn't happen. we were surprised at all the kids, very noisy. we found all the rooms to be cold, radiators didn't seem to be working properly. I tired to take a shower one morning when the room was warm, by the time I had to rinse my hair the water was like ice. The restaurant is way over priced, they were out of a lot of things even from the 1st night. We thought we were going to have a nice dinner for New Years Eve, but it was nothing special, they need to hire a chef. Tried to go downstairs for the champagne toast but the kids took over the night, noisy and banging on the piano. None of the staff seemed interested in keeping a fire in the fireplace, at one point a woman asked my husband to get a fire started. We took Amtrak out but learned that unless you have transportation to leave early that is not a good way to travel.

Would not go back or even recommend this trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzaakWaltonInn, Manager at Izaak Walton Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Carol,
I wanted to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. As the general manager of the Izaak Walton Inn I can assure you that these are not the type of experiences we want for our guests. Thank you for the feedback.

-Izaak Walton Inn GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Food may be pricey but superb. Maybe not the frog legs but I had to try them. Beautiful scenery and friendly staff. Be warned though, trains are noisy and continuous, radiator makes an awful racket many times a night, skiiers get up very early and are not the quietest of people. Go there with their philosophy in mind to rest, relax, and rejuvinate. Bring suits for the whirlpool and sauna. They may have mentioned it but I didn't see it in their website. Should have spent the little extra and gotten a Caboose though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was a wonderful experience. Izaak Walton Inn offered a night of fun. They offered a 6 course dinner with wines from Spain and one nights lodging for a very reasonable price. The Inn is full of very friendly, family oriented staff. The dinner and wine were wonderful. Money well spent.

Room Tip: This area is peaceful. There is no wifi and the rooms are with out TV or phones. A true get away wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We really wanted to love staying at the Inn. For the most part it was fine, but we probably wont make it a destination like we do with Chico Hot Springs. The lodge is rustic and rooms are simple which we love. Food was adequate though maybe a bit over ambitious; the hummus appetizer being a major disappointment and many things on the menu were out. With the room prices being at a premium, having guests pay $2.00 for morning coffee is silly in my opinion. Most of the waitstaff were super nice with the exception of one, who was exceedingly rude. She seemed to have a chip on her shoulder. Luckily her co-workers were there to do much of her work. Skiing was great though!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Izaak Walton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izaak Walton Inn

Address: 290 Izaak Walton Inn Rd, Essex, MT 59916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Izaak Walton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Izaak Walton Inn & Resort, a family-owned retreat bordering Glacier National Park, in Essex, Montana. Specializing in outdoor adventure and serious relaxation, the Inn hosts activities year round fitting any age, interest and experience level including cross country skiing and guided back country tours, hiking, horse back riding, white water rafting to slow float and larger boat excursions. No matter what time of year you choose to visit, what pace you'll set your journey to, enjoy the nature, the history, and the hospitality found at the Izaak Walton Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Izaak Walton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Izaak Walton Hotel Essex
Izaak Walton Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Izaak Walton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.