We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Family Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jeffers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jeffers Inn
Save
You added The Jeffers Inn to your Saves list
75 Jeffers Road, Ennis, MT 59729   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fircrest, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Family Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Jeffers Inn is a unique getaway adventure! Our family stayed there during a three week cross-country road trip, and it was truly our most memorable night. Leigh and Robert were welcoming upon arrival and made us comfortable throughout our stay. We slept in "The Encampment" with our daughter in the wagon, boys in the teepee and my husband and I in the (incredibly comfortable) queen bed tent accomodation. The sunset was breathtaking. Our morning started with a carriage ride around the neighborhood and ended with a delicious breakfast before departure. If you have the chance, do not miss a stay at The Jeffers Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
39
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I recently spend a week at The Jeffers Inn. In the evenings, I'd watch the deer and the antelope in the field at the foot of the property. Later the big sky over the Inn would fill with stars. The Inn is close to trout streams, horseback riding in the mountains, and is just over an hour from Yellowstone. Leigh and Bob are great hosts, making you feel right at home. Get Bob to take you for a spin in one of his carriages.

The house has been beautifully decorated with a wealth of local decorations and the shelves are stocked with books where you can bone up on local history. If you need a bed in the Madison Valley, start here.

Room Tip: If you have kids, they might find it fun to sleep in one of the tents in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I booked 2 nights at the Jeffers Inn as my husband and I were traveling to Yellowstone and about for our 25th wedding anniversary. It was a hidden gem and the best B&B I have experienced in Montana. Leigh was an excellent hostess and Bob was a wealth of knowledge and experience. We both enjoyed visiting with them, enjoying their beautifully landscaped property and patio area. Our room was great, tastefully furnished yet practical. Breakfast was a delight each morning and I hated to leave. Lots of neat things to see and do in the area and a great spot for fly fishing. Leigh also ensured our room was cooled off before we arrived and took the time to ensure we were well taken care of. I would highly recommend their Inn and I hope to be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Jeffers Inn is an absolute gem for any traveler. We chose it because of its location ouside of Yellowstone, but I know it is popular with the fly fisherman as well. The accomodations are not your typical Victorian BnB, the decor is elegant but modern. The bed was so comfortable I looked to see the mattress manufacturer. Ladies, get tired of not having enough towels? There were 16 in our bathroom! My son (12) was treated to a once in a lifetime stay in a rehabilitated sheep wagon (see pics) after he hung out in the top of the line spa. We lounged on the "flying porch" with our dogs, taking in privacy and a great view. Bob and Leigh (owners) are the most solicitous and kind people, you don't see hearts that large much anymore. The grounds were immaculate, the breakfast was huge and tasty, served on china with a crystal teaset located in a formal dining area that is next to a "man cave" complete with heads on the wall and leather recliners. Check the photos I am posting...this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were on our way to Jackson WY after visiting the Black Hills, Badlands and Glacier. We were very fortunate someone had to cancel at the last minute and a room was available. We have traveled a great deal and this is the probably the nicest place we have stayed. Our suite was huge and beautifully furnished. Leigh and Robert, the owners, we're so cordial and helpful in every way. We only wished we were able to stay longer. We will recommend the Jeffers to any of our friends who will be in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite with the tiara bed and the Egyptian columns
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were visiting Virginia Cit for a couple of days and I couldn't find lodging that looked worth staying at there. Then I decided to look in Ennis 15 miles away and found the Jeffers Inn. It looked wonderful and I talked to Leigh Fosnot about the rooms. We took the "Crystal Palace" and when we arrived, we could not believe what Leigh and Bob had done with the historic home and in particular with the Crystal Palace. Every room in the home has been immaculately restored or totally renovated. The Crystal Palace is a huge bedroom with a very large king "tiara" bed including a mattress that is to die for. The room is decorated with many beautiful crystal lamps and chandeliers, gorgeous furniture and oriental rugs. Then it has a huge adjoining bathroom with an immense jacuzzi hot tub, separate large tiled shower and double sink. And yet another separate room for the WC. It has it own central A/C and heat zone and a separate private entrance to the room from outside as well. Wine and beer are served from 6-7 each evening and a desert is waiting for you when you return from dinner.

The dining room for breakfast is beautifully furnished and the table immaculately set. The breakfasts were delicious. We also availed ourselves of a home cooked meal option the second night we were there. Wonderful salad, grilled bison steak and twice baked potato along with a superb red wine. Then topped off with a delicious, very special ice cream sundae.

We especially enjoyed having very interesting discussions with them on a variety of life covering topics. We are so glad that we were able to find the Jeffers Inn for our visit and very highly recommend anyone coming to this area to stay with the Fosnots.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the Crystal Palace when you come for all the reasons described above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Due to our last-minute decision to spend a weekend in Ennis, we could only book one night at The Jeffers Inn. The only "room" available was the canvas tent. Despite a couple of drawbacks, we thoroughly enjoyed both our stay in the tent and our time at the inn. The grounds are beautiful, the inn is lovely, and Leigh and Bob are wonderful hosts. Our breakfast of eggs, regional sausage, fruit and toast prepared us for a day of hiking.

Staying in the tent was a unique experience, and we really enjoyed the opportunity to be "almost" camping. Nights in Montana are almost always chilly, but the bed was piled with blankets and comforters, creating a warm and extremely comfortable little cocoon for sleeping. It rained the night we were there, but the inside of the tent remained dry and the rain could barely be heard.

However, there are differences between staying in a tent and a room. When the air cooled off quickly at night, so did the tent. And while the tent had electricity, there was only one small bedside light and a battery-operated lantern. Neither gave off much light once the sun went down. Guests at The Encampment are free to use the living area of the house, so that could be an alternative location for reading, games, etc. when darkness descends. But the tent itself couldn't be used for those activities. Finally, as noted by other reviewers, the bathroom is not attached and is a short walk away from the tent. However, the property is extremely well lit with lights along the sidewalks, so visibility isn't really an issue.

In all, we were glad we stayed and that we tried the tent. We'd certainly stay at The Jeffers Inn again and would try to book a room a lot earlier!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jeffers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jeffers Inn

Address: 75 Jeffers Road, Ennis, MT 59729
Location: United States > Montana > Ennis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms start at 69.00/Night with full breakfast. The Jeffers Inn is a luxury Bed and Breakfast Inn located in the heart of the beautiful Madison Valley, just one mile from the center of Ennis, Montana and within walking distance of O'Dell Creek and the world renown Madison River. The Inn is located on an historic estate build, owned and farmed by the Jeffers Pioneer Family. This original historic home, built in 1900 has been lovingly renovated to again capture the home's turn of the century appearance. The Inn has all the charm of historic Montana, but includes the comforts of our modern age. From the moment you see The Jeffers Inn from the road you know you have found a very special Bed and Breakfast. Surrounded by large ranches and wildlife easements, this historic landmark is happily situated within a grove of century old Silver Cottonwood trees. These towering shade trees help to enhance the cool and quiet setting that will welcome you in from your Montana adventures. The Jeffers Inn is a haven of comfort and relaxation where the active sportsman or weary traveler can unwind and partake in some good old-fashioned Western hospitality. A Full breakfast is served each morning, with evening drinks and snacks offered during check-in time, between 4:00 PM and 7:00 PM. When you return from dinner in town ... Desert will be waiting for you to enjoy on our lovely stone patio or in your room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jeffers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.