We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Lost” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Emigrant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast
P.O. Box 84, Emigrant, MT 59027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Emigrant B&B and Inns
Orinda, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Paradise Lost”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

I have to say that I must second the "odd experience" review below almost word for word. As full time travelers with extensive B&B experience we were shocked to encounter a B&B owner who was rude to us. That was a first for us.

My wife, 11 year old daughter and I arrived at a reasonable hour (2PM) to inquire about the possibility of open room on a Tuesday. We were told by the owner that she had a room for $125.00 and that she would show it to us. It looked fine for us with a queen and a small bed for our daughter. When we said ok, we were told that it acutally would be only suitable for the two adults and that our daughter would have to rent another room which was the next room over. She said it was due to the fact that the room was double occupancy only. When we explained that our daughter would likely not be comfortable in the single room she blurted... "Maybe you should just go to a motel in Gardner" We were stunned and just said "ok.... um... thank you" and high tailed it out of there.

The funny thing is, she was the first B&B owner in over a year of full time travel to fail to introduce herself or ask us where we were from or what our names were. There was actually not even eye contact. We love B&B's and won't stop dropping in when we see one we like because of one bad experience. Normally we experience such warmth and outgoing positive people in B&B's, both owners and guests.

We sincerely hope that ours was an isolated case and that she was just not used to walk in's. It could also have been that she didn't know how to ask for a third person premium for the cost of towels, water and breakfast. Most places just charge $15 to $35 extra for the child in the room which would have been fine without the attitude.

My suggestion would be to try one of the other nearby inns where you get outstanding Tripadvisor ratings on the owners as well as the accommodations.

John

  • Liked — Location on the river
  • Disliked — Rude owner
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    13
    3
    8
    3
See reviews for
33
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

Paradise Valley is lovely, and the Paradise Gateway Bed and Breakfast is a lovely location on the Yellowstone River. The Bed and Breakfast has 4 rooms in the main house, and 2 outlying cabins. We were really excited to end our 2 week hiking and camping vacation in the Tetons and Yellowstone with this bit of luxury. The facilities were top-notch, but the owner was sour and cold...we've stayed in B&B's around the world and this is our first really negative experience with an owner. I'll give her the benefit of the doubt that maybe she was having a rough patch dealing with the public, but I would recommend having a conversation with them before you book their lovely but expensive cabins.

  • Liked — location and facilities
  • Disliked — owner atttitude
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Salem, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2006

When I return it will be with someone though. I went by myself on this trip and believe me you don't want to stay at a B and B by yourself. If I venture out on my own again I will stay at a hotel. I felt very uncomfortable, but I loved the place. I took the picture I am attaching from a swing thing they have sitting next to the Yellowstone River. I spent a lot of time on this swing.

I would recommend this place without a doubt :)

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2006

We stayed here on honeymoon this Autumn. It is in the most beautiful setting. We stayed in the main house. It is like staying with a friend. Lots of home touches from the decor to the fabulous homecooked breakfasts. The owners are so friendly and really helpful with local amenities. Our bedroom had the most beautiful view of the mountains and the Yellowstone river goes by the end of the garden. You are free to explore the extensive grounds. The log cabins/chalets are also well kitted out and have all the home touches also. Very handy for Yellowstone but the area also has lots of places to go for walks and Bozeman is a lovely town. We had dinner in Chico Hot Springs and availed of the springs pool. We had thought of staying there but were glad we didn't as it was so impersonal and crowded in comparison. Hope to go back to Paradise real soon!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2004

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for several days in July, 2003. We were in the Wildflower Room which has a view of the Yellowstone River. The owners were terrific and made us feel very welcome. They were helpful with suggestions on local hiking, horseback riding, and Yellowstone sightseeing. The breakfasts were outstanding and the on-site hot stone massage was incredible. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 84, Emigrant, MT 59027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Emigrant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Emigrant
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the North gate to Yellowstone National Park Paradise Gateway Bed and Breakfast and Guest Cabins give our guests a choice of lodging. The scenic facilities are nestled in the majestic Absaroka and Galitan Mountain ranges in the heart of Paradise Valley. Your front yard is the pristine Yellowstone River! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list