We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful setting, cold reception” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Emigrant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
P.O. Box 84, Emigrant, MT 59027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Emigrant B&B and Inns
Hartselle, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful setting, cold reception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Due to flight delays, my wife and I had experienced a grueling 16 hour trip the day before we arrived at Paradise and were exhausted. We arrived in Emigrant an hour and a half before check in time (4:00pm), and thought we would see if we could have access to our room a little early. As I was getting out of the car a woman (Carol Reed) yelled from the house and asked if she could help me. I told her who we were and she replied "check in is not until 4:00". I instantly felt uneasy about our choice for a B&B. One of the employees from inside the house told her our room was ready, so she invited us to come into the office to check in. We checked in, and Carol spent about one minute with us to give us an information packet and to tell us that the upstairs was private and not to come up there until breakfast the next morning. Her husband Pete said hello from across the room and that was it from him.
The rest of our stay was delightful. One of the employees was a young lady who is a student from Jamaica and she was very gracious. We were treated to a wonderful breakfast and interesting conversation the next morning by a woman from Germany. It was joy to be able to meet both of these ladies and to spend that morning with them.
As for the Reed's we never saw them again after our arrival. Perhaps something is going on in their life that makes it dificult to deal with the public and if so I apologize for my crticism. Even if that is the case, then perhaps it should be left to their employees to be their face to the public.
It is a beautiful place that is very relaxing, just don't expect hospitality from the owners.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    13
    4
    8
    3
See reviews for
37
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This property is listed "mainly" as a B & B with cabins. We booked from a B & B brochure. When we phoned to price the accommodation we were told what a huge discount we received. We are a couple and placed in lodgings suitable for a family with at least 2 children. In other words, the accommodation was inappropriate. We were given this place as it was not rented by the correct number. We did not think to ask a B & B property whether breakfast would be included and it wasn't. So be very careful when booking that you ask if breakfast is included.
Further, there were excellent cooking facilities in the cabin if one is staying for several days. We were told coffee was available- true, but no sugar and stale milk.
If you are lucky enough to get into the B&B side, apparently it will be a more positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed at this B&B for the first time this year to attend a family reunion in Paradise Valley. Carol and Pete made it into a home away from home for us. They were delightful, informative, full of resources for Paradise Valley and Yellowstone Park, and helpful beyond all expectations. The location on the Yellowstone River below Emigrant Peak is stunning, and it is within easy reach of the Park, Chico Hot Springs, Livingston and Bozeman. Ideal for hiking, fishing and Osprey watching. Carol cooks a huge, tasty breakfast that will last you all day. We hope to return next year. Dick and Antje Shadoan

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

From the moment we arrived at Paradise Gateway B&B, we knew our western adventure was going to go well. The owners greeted us with an ice cold "smoothie", just the perfect thing after a long days travel from Philadelphia. The room was cozy and comfortable, the bed just the right firmness (and we're pretty fussy about beds). The view from the front porch overlooking the Gallatan River with the mountains beyond was simply breathtaking. It was a joy to sit around the campfire at night and see the beautiful Montana sky (although there was a full moon which cast it's own surreal glow). The breakfast the next morning was probably the best we ever had at a B&B. We were sad to move on, but we had reservations at a ranch, which we also loved. But we would head back to Paradise Gateway B&B in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

This cabin had everything we needed. Clean, comfortable spaces to be together and enough room to be alone to read etc. Beds and bedding were extremely comfortable and clean. Showers/bathrooms very tastefully set up. Three couples had a wonderful time. The views of the Yellowstone River and the mountains of Paradise Valley were breathtaking. Everything was just right! Wished we were staying for at least one more day!! We had reservations for dinner at Chico, just a few miles away. We brought our own food for breakfast .... their coffee pot/coffee/utensils etc. were just right for our needs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
312 hotel reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
514 helpful votes 514 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Carol is a lovely hostess, but without the delightful company of the other couple staying there, Paradise Gateway would have been a big disappointment.

Our room was small and its decor had not been re-thought in a long, long time. It was not a comfortable place to hang out, and I was not inspired to take a photo of it.

Our bathroom was private, but we had to go down a hallway to use it.

There was a large, pleasant common room where we enjoyed lively conversation with a delightful couple from Phoenix, AZ.

Carol prepared an amazing breakfast--Dutch babies and loads of other goodies. We ate everything, but the effort was largely wasted on us because we would have much more preferred a poached egg and a piece of wholewheat toast.

Another boo-boo was that we weren't warned that Calico Hot Springs is the only decent place to eat within twenty-five miles and that advance reservations are essential. As a result our only dinner option was a third-rate meal in a gloomy saloon on the highway.

The B&B's setting on Yellowstone River is delightful and there, in the evening, we were treated to something I had never seen before--a double rainbow. We also enjoyed the ducks in the pond and the rabbits hopping around.

The Paradise Gateway web site states the B&B has four rooms, but I was told there are only two--the Wildflower room and Blueberry Parch, in which we stayed. We were not shown the Floral Garden room. The Tulip room must be the little room across the hall from our bathroom that appeared to have no window.

Our host, Pete Reed, made a brief appearance at breakfast. He seemed to be very knowledgeable about what to see, but he was such a big rush to get away that he didn't have time to share much of it. He also did not seem to understand that people older than him who live at sea level cannot enjoy hikes of the kind he takes having lived at a high elevation for many years.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

The room we had was essentially in the basement of the main house. It was big enough, however the bed had a ton of useless pillows on it that you have to find a place for within the room. They wound up on the only chair in the room and in the antique pram. The pram was cute if you're into that stuff, but I would have preferred to have some more useable furniture - like another chair...

The hostess prided herself on obnoxiously large portions of food that she insisted on putting on your plate. She was probably the most pretentious piece of work we've ever run across at a B&B. The husband was just short of rude.

Overall, this was 5 on a scale of 10...we did the B&B thing instead of the hotels around Yellowstone for a unique, comfy experience...so much for that. Was not crazy about the fact that Pete (the 'host') chastised us for having a good time chatting with the couple that was staying next to us until the ungodly hour of 10:30 PM....

These people were the type of B&B hosts that make you feel like they're doing you a favor by letting you stay there. I wouldn't recommend them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 84, Emigrant, MT 59027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Emigrant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Emigrant
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the North gate to Yellowstone National Park Paradise Gateway Bed and Breakfast and Guest Cabins give our guests a choice of lodging. The scenic facilities are nestled in the majestic Absaroka and Galitan Mountain ranges in the heart of Paradise Valley. Your front yard is the pristine Yellowstone River! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.