We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway to Glacier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelers Rest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Glacier Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelers Rest Lodge
Save
You added Travelers Rest Lodge to your Saves list
20987 US Highway 2, PO Box 3, East Glacier Park, MT 59434   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gateway to Glacier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We recently spent four nights in a Traveler's Rest Lodge Cabin, a wonderful location from which to access Glacier National Park. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and well-equipped. More importantly, Diane and Bob were the perfect hosts, making it quickly feel like we were staying with family. Glacier-great; Traveler's Rest-great; Diane and Bob-great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    25
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
91
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
moro,Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Thanks Diane and Bob we had a great time hope to come back sometime would recommend a stay here to anybody very nice:):) glad i found you on tripadviser.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in the renovated barn, and it was beautiful. The hosts were very helpful in providing info about where to eat and key sites in the park. Unfortunately, the train whistles woke us up several times a night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were going to blow past Glacier National Park on our way to Canada - Wrong. We stayed in the Traveler's Rest Lodge Cabins after reviewing our trip and are very pleased we did. The cabins at Traveler's Rest are very clean, cozy and comfortable. The surroundings are perfect with all the trees outside our cabin. We were in Unit 4, which was very nice - clean - and had everything we needed for our stay. The owners, Bob and Diane, were very friendly and welcoming and had great suggestions about where to go, what to see, and how to get there.

These accommodations made our stay in East Glacier more enjoyable and memorable, and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Travelers rest is a good alternative to the pricier lodges in thw park. Having your own cabin gives some additional privacy. It would've been nice to have wifi, since there was no way to check weather or stay up on news. Many other (and cheaper) places around offer it.
The hosts were friendly and cabins clean.
East Glacier is a bit of a drive to many park accommodations, but then again you just have to drive a lot around the area.
All in all, I'd recommend Travelers Rest if you're looking for a place in East Glacier.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here on June 12th during our first visit to Glacier National Park. Loved the accommodations! The owners were very nice and recommended a great restaurant called Bison Creek for supper that night. We saw a bear at Bison Creek and the next morning there was a moose with twins right outside our cabin door! Wish we could have spent more time here, but definitely recommend these cabins and we look forward to our next visit here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was a brief but wonderful stay. As all the reviews suggested, this was a restful place in very, very comfortable cabin. The place was immaculate and Bob was very nice and communicative about things, showing us around the cabin. They had some recommendations on where to eat, but we had picked up a quick supper in Browning and were mostly very tired. My girlfriend loved the bath, but I passed out pretty early as we were exhausted from hiking and driving. I was lucky enough to get up early and watch the sun come up, listen to the train which runs by fairly close but for most people won't be an issue. I took some good photos, and really loved this piece of property. I would strongly advise that most people would enjoy this place over places in East Glacier if your looking for relaxation. I look forward to coming back ASAP!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelers Rest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Rest Lodge

Address: 20987 US Highway 2, PO Box 3, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, deluxe, private cabins nestled in the aspen trees. Cabins have large, covered front porches, kitchenettes, dining area, full baths, gas-log fireplaces. Nicely decorated with log beds, open log ceilings, and fir flooring in the kitchen area. Close to hiking trails, wildlife viewing, dining, shopping, golf, and Amtrak station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travelers Rest Hotel East Glacier Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelers Rest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.