We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view in historic lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Northern Dining Room

The Great Northern Dining Room
1 Midvale road, next to railroad station, East Glacier Park, MT
406/226-5600
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful view in historic lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The main dining hall does not serve lunch, so we ate in the bar/lounge. It has huge windows and soaring views of the mountains. We had the best meal of our trip: grilled salmon on a bed of varied greens and fresh fruit with a tart dressing. The only drawback was that we were the only diners at 1:30 p.m., so the wait staff leaned against the bar and conversed with each other (loudly), instead of inquiring whether we needed anything. Our ice teas were never refilled. It must be hard to get good waitpersons for a place open just a few months a year. There are historic photos on the walls and massive timbers (from Washington State) as the decor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    38
    29
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Meals Good, Fair Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have no complaints after eating at the Lodge 5 times during our 4 day stay. The menu is limited, I think our group ultimately tried everything. Our favorites were the grilled pork tenderloin, New York steak and the Alaskan salmon. Vegetarians will find it a bit of a challenge. The staff was superb while the views somewhat limited. It added to our relaxation to dine, enjoy a bottle of wine and then a short walk back to the room.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great view of the mountains, and good food too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was my husband's favorite meal of our two week trip. He said his steak was very well prepared. I had a nice perch. The restaurant was practically deserted (early June), so we were seated right at the window. Our waiter was very pleasant. It was wonderful to watch the clouds around the mountains change again and again, and have a nice meal at the same time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wish we'd had one of the good waiters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The setting was beautiful. The restaurant was tired looking. The food was average. We listened to several waiters around us describe the wonderful specials and features of the menu but our waitress handed us the menu and that's all.

Given the other choices in East Glacier through, this was by far the best choice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the lodge, so it was easy to eat in the restaurant located just off the lobby. Every meal we ate there was well prepared. The view out the windows cant be beat.... snow covered mountains. But the thing that makes this place is the service. For the most part, they are young and enthusiastic servers who anxiously try to please without getting in the way. In my opinion, enjoying a meal or two in the restaurant is a part of the overall Glacier Lodge experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Northern Dining Room also viewed

East Glacier Park, MT
East Glacier Park, MT
 

Been to The Great Northern Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Northern Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.