We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restorative, peaceful, awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Glacier Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summit Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Summit Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
16900 Highway 2 West Marias Pass, East Glacier Park, MT 59434   |  
Hotel amenities
Honolulu
2 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Restorative, peaceful, awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

After spending a day in the West Glacier area, we drove over the GTTS highway and then stayed here for four days beginning 9/16/13. We reserved a cabin in advance based on the on-line reviews, and, we weren't disappointed. It was our home base for exploring the East side of Glacier National Park. (Many Glacier area, Two Medicine area, even drove to Choteau, MT to try to see the dinosaur stuff). We stocked up on food items at East Glacier Park, a quaint little town a short driving distance away. Our cabin was the Sinopah I think (between the Grizzly family cabin and the cabin fronting the viewing platform), and, we LOVED it. Beds were comfy. Heater worked wonderfully (it got chilly at night). The view was outstanding. The walking trails a delight for visually taking in the wetlands, trees, and "Little Dog" and "Summit Mountain" in the distance. Loved the train traffic too. The lay out of the cabins was orchestrated well to ensure a decent level of privacy for guests without feeling too isolated. We could have stayed on property all day every day as the place, just like GNP, is peaceful, humbling, majestic, & good for the soul - all of which are important to the two of us who are otherwise busy, city professionals most of the year. It was nice to learn also from Ted (owner) that the cabins here are named after glorious mountains in and around Glacier NP. Well done to owners Ted & Mara. We hope to return soon. Aloha, from Pat & Esther

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Four of us stayed comfortably for two nights with Ted & Mara. The cabin was clean with nice bed and bath linens and the queen sized beds were perfect. Ted was always handy with great and extensive advice about where to go and what to do. Our cabin had a fantastic view of Summit Mountain and the moose/wildlife ponds. Loved their dog, Ohsa, as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Clean and spacious cabins. Beautiful mountain views and scenery. We walked around short trails in the property. The trains may bother light sleepers, but those who love them like my husband it was a gift. he stayed up all night watching them. Kids enjoyed the stay too. Mara and her cute dog were very nice and friendly. Once they open their lodge kitchen, the place will be self contained and will not need to drive outside for food/ restaurants. Very close to east GNP and can drive back and forth easily after seeing the sights and exploring.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Summit Mountain 2 nights during our trip to Glacier National Park. The cabin was very clean and neat. It was not as conveniently located to the area we were planning to hike in, but that was our mistake. The only other thing that was not obvious until we arrived were the trains. Maria's Pass is the lowest point in the Continental Divide and there are many trains that pass right by this location all day and night. We made it part of experience but if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs. A pretty spot!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay in this wonderful place. The location is very convenient to everything you want to see in East Glacier. The cabins are all individual and private. All have been newly renovated and are probably one of the nicest accommodations around the area. The owners, Ted and Mara are in the process of completing a restaurant / bar that will make this location truly the best around. All the staff was so nice and helpful. The view is breathtaking. We saw a moose and her baby right outside our cabin. The cabins are close to the railroad tracks, we loved it. Once you shut the door, you can't hear anything but the trains were really a nice treat. It also has air conditioning which is very unique in this area. The prices were actually lower than all other accommodations we looked into. You will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon trip through the Canadian Rockies and Glacier NP! The price was great for the cabins. They were very clean and spacious! I believe most have their own porch to sit and relax. The owners, Ted and Mara, were very accommodating and gave great advice for the best day hikes to take! We were fortunate enough to see a mother moose and her calf in the water area behind the cabins...within seconds from our cabin! We enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I just visited Summit Mountain Lodge in East Glacier, Montana and I can't say enough about the clean, comfortable, and welcoming accommodations provided by my hosts, Ted and Mara. The private cabins on the property allow an intimate setting if you wish yet you get a sense of community when you see someone from a neighboring cabin on the trail. Awesome views of the mountains and wildlife right outside. Minutes to the continental divide trail and the national parks! Lots to do and the new owners are happy to assist to get you pointed in the right direction for adventure. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the beaver ponds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Mountain Lodge

Address: 16900 Highway 2 West Marias Pass, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southeast corner of Glacier National Park on Highway 2 across from Marias Pass. This family owned retreat is one of a kind with a history going back to 1906. The main lodge has been fully remodeled with a full functioning restaurant and bar with the highlight being the large deck and the view of Glacier National Park overlooking the famous Continental Divide. The steakhouse & patio at the lodge offer seating for dozens, alll of whom may gaze at the splendor of Glacier National Park in clear view. Unsurpassed views offer the guests a chance to breath in the fresh air, get lost in the tranquility, spot some of the numerous wildlife roaming on the hillside or gaze at the historic Great Northern Railroad trains pass by just as they did in the 1800's. Sit back, relax and check your email on our free wi-fi if so desired while sipping on one of your favorite beverages. The restaurant, and patio areas are open all day long for leisure. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.