We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must See! Don't Miss This” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Glacier Park Lodge to your Saves list
Glacier Park Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   East Glacier Park Highway 2 & 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434   |  
Hotel amenities
graham, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must See! Don't Miss This”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This Great American lodge is mind boggling. It was as grand and memorable as the glaciers. Huge trees serve as the columns inside. Stairs and furniture are made from logs that are polished to show the rings and beauty. If I could do the trip again, I would stay the night, or have a drink in the lobby, and absorb the history, art, and atmosphere of the place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    176
    109
    56
    48
See reviews for
157
223
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Glacier Park Lodge in East Glacier Park Village is well worth the stay if you don't mind giving up a few modern conveniences. The main lobby is awesome, be sure to visit each floor walking arond the balconies. Sit by the fire or wonder at the views presented. While there whether hiking off or driving around on your own be sure you take the old bus tour. You'll learn where you want to go back to. Meanwhile your room is just that, a room. Try to get a balcony room. Remember when this hotel was built necessities were not ensuite, you walked down the hall. Now they have squeezed tiny bathrooms with tinier showers into every room. So you will cozy up - my back end hit the wall behind when I bent over the sink and my rear is just average. The dining room is very nice and adequate, Meals were good not great and pricing was fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The lobby is the most grand of the Glacier NP lodges and worth a visit to see. What it must have been like to arrive by train in the early 1900s to start a rustic trip to Glacier! Yet, the rooms aren't that up to date and may help give a bit of that feel. The creaky board/noisy room problem that is worst in Many is moderate here. The dining room food has items of good quality and is priced at a fair value. On a cooler day, sit on a chair facing the mountains in the breezeway between the wings. Ahh, what a view. The Glacier Park Lodge was, and still is worth a stay.

Room Tip: get a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Glacier Park lodge is 101 years old, the structure of the lodge is fantastic with huge tree trunks used to support the structure - over 30 tree trunks. The rest of the lodge has a lot be be desired, especially for $218 a night!

My queen size room is small, the shower stall is maybe 30 inches wide, and the sink is tiny and low. There is no air conditioning with you may need in the early evening. They do provide a fan.

There are three electrical outlets in the room so if you need to charge modern devices, you will have to be patient.

The lodge is close to the Two Medicine entrance to the park, you are about 45 minutes from the St. Mary entrance.

There is an annex section, which is about 40 yards off the main lodge, connected by a walkway. I happened to see some rooms there. They Are twice the size of mine, for the same price.

I did not try the restaurants as there are some excellent local restaurants within a two minute drive or 10 minute walk. I had checked the menu prices and the lodge's restaurant was nearly twice the price of the local places for similar items.

Room Tip: Choose the annex rooms for larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

People complaining about room size/no TV/air conditioning/coffeemaker/fridge have forgotten that this hotel is historic & rooms can't be upgraded to make it a luxury hotel. If you want the experience of staying next to beautiful mountains, enjoying history and visiting with folks from all over the world, then you won't be disappointed. Yes, the rooms are pricey, but you are near the park entrance, folks - if you want cheaper rooms that won't be any nicer, stay in Browning. I would agree with other reviews that a location further into the park would be better. We had 5 people so needed one big room and that is hard to get. I thought the beds were comfortable and and bedding was fine.

Room Tip: Not in-room, but slow wifi in lobby. East rooms will be cool in the night, but bright in the am. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Come to see the building, but don't stay the night. Lousy, dirty, smelly, very noisy, very small rooms, no TV/ wifi/ fridge/ airco/ coffeemaker or ventilation. Mildew on the ceiling. Very old and small bathroom. No working phone, despite several attempts by maintenance. You can literally hear the conversation in the next room. Lousy beds, old linnen. Next day bed was made, room wasn't cleaned. Meals (incl breakfast) are below standard. Only WiFi is in central lounge, but very weak signal.
Needs a complete work over, isn't fit for current day guests. Past glory, doesn't live up to the price.

Room Tip: Don't, book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This place has beautiful grounds, and a stunning lobby. The room was a dump. for $208 a night I reccomend visiting the hotel and staying somewhere else. The housekeeping is terrible. Our patio was covered in bird droppings and the furniture was dirty. The bed skirts were falling off the bed in multiple places and the closet smelled like urine.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. Book early for the best possible dumpy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
21.2 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Browning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
3.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
20.8 mi away
Glacier Haven Inn
Glacier Haven Inn
#1 of 5 in Essex
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Lodge

Address: East Glacier Park Highway 2 & 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the western charm of the historic Glacier Park Lodge, which was completed in 1913. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery, makes Glacier Park Lodge a truly unique vacation destination. Although steeped in culture and history of the Great Northern Railway and Blackfeet Indians, Glacier Park Lodge features modern amenities such as a heated swimming pool, nine-hole golf course, in-room telephones, nine-hole pitch-n-putt golf course, gift shop, Lounge and the outstanding Great Northern Rib and Steak House. Glacier Park Lodge is in East Glacier Park, Montana on Highway 2. Glacier Park Amtrak Train Station is located just across the street from the hotel where guests are picked up daily in our antique red Checker taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Glacier Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Hotel East Glacier Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.