We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge/So So Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Glacier Park Lodge to your Saves list
Glacier Park Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   East Glacier Park Highway 2 & 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434   |  
Hotel amenities
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Lodge/So So Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The lodge was wonderful. Large, lots of places to sit inside and out, music in the lobby, food at the lounge was great. Staff was great. The location was great for Two Medicine area/ The room was large and had a nice balcony once we asked them to clean it. It was clean but shabby. We had to whisper in the room as the walls were so thin we were afraid we bother the people in the rooms on either side of us! The train was loud all night although the second night, we used a fan to drown out the noise.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not have a room near the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear FancyNancyinSF,

Thank you for leaving your feedback and review regarding your recent stay with us at Glacier Park Lodge on Trip Advisor. We were glad to read that you had some highlights and pleasantries in your stay with the architecture, restaurant, and server. We were sorry to hear that the bellman were not able to help you carry your luggage up the stairs for you, as that is hardly a step that is ever overlooked. We have notified management to re-address the restaurant staff of the protocols during their breaks, and apologize for the distraction. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, and we hope in the future if you are in East Glacier, you will allow for us to show you a larger room that might better suit your needs.

Best Regards,

Cassandra Sunell
Guest Relations Manager
Glacier Park, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    154
    107
    53
    45
See reviews for
134
202
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We decided to stay in the Glacier National Park Lodge since it is the only one in Glacier National Park that we had not stayed in. We also had not hiked much in Two Medicine so to try something different It was adequate but just did not have the feel of Many Glacier. It was very quite at night but something was just missing with this lodge experience. We did not splurge on a mountain view but did not expect to be looking over the kitchens vents. The hotel is adequate and I would stay here again if we decide to visit Two Medicine again. The lobby is amazing with its soaring supports but overall it has lost some of its original elegance. This is probably due to changing times in it caters now to the train, bus and golf crowd. More chairs outside to watch the sunset be nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just had to stop and check out this beautiful lodge on our way to Two Medicine. We just loved the teepees out front. As you walk into this massive lodge your eyes go up to take it all in! Great view of the mountains from the back porch. They were setting up for a wedding so there was a large tent out on the lawn. If we make it back to Glacier, we'll have to try and stay a night here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent four nights at Glacier Lodge. No you do not have air conditioning but who needs it when it is so cool at night and they provide a big fan in your room. The Glacier Lodge was beautiful and everyone working there was very friendly. Amtrak had forgotten to book us for the first night we arrived and we had to take a third floor room; I requested to be moved to the annex and we were moved the next morning. You don't have to eat at the restaurant; eat in the lounge or go to one of the two small towns within walking distance. The food was much less expensive and delicious. We had two 8 hour tours and the tour directors were very knowledgeable and the scenery was beautiful. The last day there, we were treated to a chili and cookie cook-off. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying their stay at this historical spot.

Room Tip: As for a room in the 500 Annex on the garden side. Very quiet and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The reviews I've read are harsh. No the rooms aren't luxurious but very comfortable, spacious and part of what's charming about this lodge. The giant trees that have supported this structure for 100 years are awe inspiring. Yes if you stay in the original lodge its noisier but the noise is from great live music that stops at a decent hour. All in all our two nights there were very enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Returning to this area after 50 yrs could not have been more welcoming had it not been for this establishment & it's superior staff. It was my husband's first visit to Glacier so the bar was set high! We had a marvelous peaceful experience; awesome scenery and audacious surroundings from the entertainment in the "Parlor/Lobby" to the individual rooms. We were so very impressed with the personnel, from the "jammers" whom we depended on from arrival to departure including tours to the so very helpful staffing whether that be in the Shops, Linda especially, or the Bar/Lounge, Jessica for sure. Most accommodating were the Dining Room staff, from greeting to the serving; Addie, Rebecca & Josey! We would be remiss if we did not give accolades to Chef Nate, this man's culinary creations were unbelievable in this setting & belong in any 5* dining establishment!
Our only dissatisfaction was in the "slowness" of the internet connections... maybe we are way too dependent on this technology. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear NonaCarole,

We appreciate you leaving your kind words and feedback on Trip Advisor. We were glad to read that you returned and were impressed with the experience and the staff. Thank you for giving notice to the specific members of our staff that helped enhance your experience at the lodge. We are working on providing better wi-fi in the lodge, and hope that the next time you return, it will be improved.

Best Regards,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
csunell@glacierparkinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As someone else has stated in their review, this is a great bucket list experience. The history is incredible as the hotel is celebrating its centennial. The lobby is even more remarkable up close and personal. We loved sitting on the porch in the wooden rocking chairs. However, the rooms seem to also be celebrating their centennial. There is no A/C and given we were there when temps were in the upper 80's, A/C would have been great. At least there was a fan in the room which helped some. If you have ever showered on a cruise ship, you will find the shower very similar. in other words, you can't bend over and if you are more than 150 pounds, you may not even fit. At $200 per night for a very basic room, one would hope for a bit more comfort. Also, there is no elevator so you need to find a bell boy or carry your own luggage. Glad we experienced it, but once was enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Lodge

Address: East Glacier Park Highway 2 & 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the western charm of the historic Glacier Park Lodge, which was completed in 1913. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery, makes Glacier Park Lodge a truly unique vacation destination. Although steeped in culture and history of the Great Northern Railway and Blackfeet Indians, Glacier Park Lodge features modern amenities such as a heated swimming pool, nine-hole golf course, in-room telephones, nine-hole pitch-n-putt golf course, gift shop, Lounge and the outstanding Great Northern Rib and Steak House. Glacier Park Lodge is in East Glacier Park, Montana on Highway 2. Glacier Park Amtrak Train Station is located just across the street from the hotel where guests are picked up daily in our antique red Checker taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Glacier Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Hotel East Glacier Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.