We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic drive to historic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glacier Park Lodge to your Saves list
Glacier Park Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   East Glacier Park Highway 2 & 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Historic drive to historic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This lodge is in East Glacier which is technically not in the park, and the road from St. Mary to East Glacier is long, curvy and climbs a bit before dropping back down to East Glacier. I would only stay here again if I were visit the Two Medicine region of Glacier National Park or wanted to start or end my trip via the historic Amtrak station. It seemed to be very long and out of the way and it felt like we were in another world compared to the rest of our experiences staying at Glacier.

This lodge is trying to be more of a resort than an historic national park lodge. We stayed here for only one night and were by far the minority. We seemed to be the only people in the facility that had any dust and dirt from the trails on us. There is a spa, golf course, pool and very shiny cars in the parking lot. I did enjoy the rustic American architecture and décor. It seemed to be keeping with the history of the facility, and the teepees were a comical surprise, but I did enjoy being able to finally step inside of one to check it out.

The room we had was on a corner so we had a nice cross breeze. I still do not understand the one queen one double combo, but it was fine for us. The room was large but there was obviously some water damage to a large section of the room. The bathroom was small, but about what I expect for the age of the place. It could do with a few modern replica renovations in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    151
    107
    53
    45
See reviews for
133
200
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I'll start by saying that if 3.5 stars was an option, I'd rate it there. The hotel was really charming and for being 100 years old, pretty incredible from an architectural standpoint. The lobby and common areas were perfect for being there with a big group.
I was expecting worse from the reviews, but if you know you don't get an elevator and know that it can be warm in the summer, I don't think it's a problem. The nights are incredibly cool, so although the sun is a bummer in the morning- the night air was perfect for sleeping.
The staff was excellent, the grounds were beautiful and the food in the both the lounge and restaurant were great.

After visiting a couple of other lodges in the park, I do think the price is a bit high for what you get (especially when lodging inside the park seems to be less expensive). You aren't actually in the park, there aren't hiking trails nearby and the town doesn't offer much, other than a convenient place to eat if you want to leave the lodge.

We enjoyed it, but we'd likely stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnneapolis, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, straight off the Empire Builder... and it was a great stay. Our room was on the 2nd floor of the main lodge, with a shared balcony that looked out over the front gardens.

Check in was horrid. We stood in line for nearly an hour. You'd think they would have known when the train was arriving, and staff for it accordingly, but no...

Our room was noisy, it was over the front desk, and we heard every noise in the lobby (all the screaming tour operators early in the day).

Know what to expect and you should be fine... no elevator, noisy room, no TV, and limited internet... you're there for the history, the views, and the general experience.

The dining room was easily the best meal we had in the park... highly recommended it for a special meal!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main lodge have better access to wifi, but are noisier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

History and a certain amount of charm can be found in the public space but it stops there. The rooms are small and uncomfortable. It was very hot over 4th July and we upgraded for an extra$40 per night to a room with a shared outdoor space. It didn't help. All in all, I would visit the hotel but spend the night elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a 100 year old hotel and it shows. The public areas are nice in a "resort" sort of way.
There are NO elevators and some rooms are on the third floor. The Annex wing connected to the main lodge by a nice glassed in breezeway has sitting areas with views of the Rockies. My bathroom was miniscule. There are no TV's, no refrigerators, no coffee makers, no hair dryers, and lighting is marginal. Security on the doors is poor; locking chains, no deadbolts. And the doors fit very loosely which allows noise to penetrate.
The restaurant is pricey but the selections were adequate. Parking is free but not convenient which almost necessitates use of a bell hop for luggage.
Considering the availability of other lodging in the area, this property isn't all that bad. Just keep in mind that it is only open during the summer months and it is 100 years old.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the west are best since there is a view of the Rockies. If you are mobility impaire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This lodge has history and character. If you are expected luxury, this isn't your place. But if you want to feel like you stepped back in time, book the room. The whole place is almost magical. The history of the building itself is so unique, take the hotel tour at 6PM. They will tell you about how they got the 600-900 hundred year old trees for the interior and exterior of the hotel and where they came from.

We had a regular room with a balcony. You can't go wrong on either side of the hotel. One side overlooks the beautiful gardens (that I walked along with my kids) and the other overlooks the mountains. We played games in the lobby at night while listening to a guitar and piano player take turns entertaining the crowd, yes they accept requests and yes that scene happens almost nightly (according to the gift shop staff). The only part I didn't like (and this is hardly a fault) is that the hotel is on the south side of Glacier National Park. Its a drive to get to going to the sun road or the west side of the park.

Celebrating its 100 year anniversary in 2013!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've stayed in lodges before at both state and national parks so I was not expecting a resort. I also knew that this lodge would be celebrating its 100 year anniversary during my stay so I knew it was old. Not a big deal or a deal breaker...my house is nearly 100 years old so I knew there would be "quirks". I typically prefer old "charm" to "new" any day. But this hotel is definitely over-rated. The grounds are beautiful, the lobby is great and the staff are friendly, but our room left something to be desired. The room's furnishing was old and outdated. At the very least these could have been updated. Updating the bedding could have possibly compensated for the exposed pipes in the room. The locks on the doors and leading to the shared balcony (which was nice) did not feel secure. A shower stall had been added to bath (some time ago) but I didn't like it. This lodge is overrated and overpriced. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out the Dancing Bear instead. I wish I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Lodge

Address: East Glacier Park Highway 2 & 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glacier Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the western charm of the historic Glacier Park Lodge, which was completed in 1913. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery, makes Glacier Park Lodge a truly unique vacation destination. Although steeped in culture and history of the Great Northern Railway and Blackfeet Indians, Glacier Park Lodge features modern amenities such as a heated swimming pool, nine-hole golf course, in-room telephones, nine-hole pitch-n-putt golf course, gift shop, Lounge and the outstanding Great Northern Rib and Steak House. Glacier Park Lodge is in East Glacier Park, Montana on Highway 2. Glacier Park Amtrak Train Station is located just across the street from the hotel where guests are picked up daily in our antique red Checker taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Glacier Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Hotel East Glacier Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.