We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place for a special occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Glacier Park Lodge to your Saves list
Glacier Park Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   East Glacier Park Highway 2 & 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434   |  
Hotel amenities
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A special place for a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My family of four stayed at Glacier Park Lodge for three nights the week of July 4. I've read the reviews of the folks who stayed the same week and complained about the heat and the fact that the hotel has no A/C - it got to 99 degrees on July 2 and was about as hot most of the week. The hotel makes no bones about the fact that is has no AC, no TV, nothing like those modern amenities - and obviously the hotel has no control over the weather. You have to have the right expectations in your mind if you stay at this hotel - it is a grand old historic inn, 100 years old, and is not going to renovate to meet the demands of people who expect AC and HDTV in every room. Yes, it was hot -- we were on the third floor, right under the roof, and I doubt if the temp ever got below 80 in the room any night we were there. I can't blame the hotel for that - weather is weather, it just as easily could have been 40 degrees out. Like another reviewer, I wanted to put the fan in the window, but the cord was too short -- called the front desk asking for an extension cord, but none was to be had. We made do anyway - put the fan on high speed at the foot of the bed and guess what - we slept just fine. In fact, I had some of the best sleep of the entire week plus a day we spent in Glacier. I was surprised at all the morose people sitting around the lobby tapping on their computers and mobile phones because they said it was too hot to go to their room -- it was hot in our room too, so we went out hiking, went picknicking to Two Medicine Lake, had some ice cream in town, played some golf on the spectacular pitch and putt course on the front lawn of the Lodge, swam in the (very cooling) pool, and otherwise kept busy until late in the evening, when we were very tired, and the room had cooled off enough to be tolerable. To me, that's what Glacier's all about - enjoying the spectacular outdoors, unique in the country and world. Also, the view from the back porch in the mornings was incredible -- worth getting up early to watch the sun hit the snowcapped peaks while we sipped on our coffee.

Our room was full of character -- I wouldn't be surprised if at one time it was an attic storage room, we were right up against the roof and the sloped ceilings and pipes for the fire supressor system meant you had to watch your head. But it was sizable -- one of the few rooms in the hotel with two doubles and king bed, perfect for my family of four. Spotlessly clean. We did not eat in the Great Northern restaurant but did eat in the lounge -- it was fine, a little pricey but not too outrageous. All the staff we met were very friendly and courteous - even if they couldn't scrounge up the extension cord I was hoping for.

Again, the key to enjoying this hotel is going in with the right frame of mind. If you need HDTV, highspeed Internet, ice-cold AC, etc., look elsewhere. If you want to experience a once-in-a-lifetime stay in a grand old hotel, that has been housing Glacier visitors in the same style since 1913, then the Glacier Park Lodge is the place to be. To me, while I would not stay here for an entire trip due to cost, it was very much worth it as a capstone to our 8-day trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel have mountain views. Front of the hotel you see a beautiful lawn, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    151
    107
    53
    45
See reviews for
133
200
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in 3 hotels in Glacier's system, and this had the most comfortable of the public spaces. On Saturday night they had a musician who sang while playing the piano or guitar and the couches were packed as we along with the other guests enjoyed his voice and choice of songs. It's a long drive into the park from here, but East Glacier has the best food in or near the park. Yes, it wasn't as fancy as you'd expect from the price and there is no ac anywhere in the park, but the staff were very kind and the kids enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our room had two queen beds and, at a cost of $200+ a night, you'd think that there would be a fair amount of space and amenities in it.

Think again!

We had no AC, and although we were given a fan, the wire was too short for it to be set in the window. The sloped roof made it impossible to walk standing upright around the beds, and the bathroom had a single, tiny, low sink, and nowhere to keep toiletries. There was one chair and one desk in the room, which were satisfactory, I guess, but everything in our room was old, outdated, barely functional, misaligned, dinged up, in need of renovation, and generally just barely usable.

Some old places have character, but I didn't get the feeling that our room did.

On the plus side, the lobby is pretty neat, and the lawn out front is beautiful. Overall, though, our poor experience with the room makes it impossible for me to recommend that anyone stay here overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's not so far from the lobby that you can't get wifi, and ask for one where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Alex R,

Thank you for your recent response on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us at Glacier Park Lodge. We were saddened to read that your stay with us was not to your expectations and that you would "never again" be staying with us. While we are trying to retain the historic integrity of this 100 year old Lodge, we have been striving to make the stay as comfortable to guests with updated amenities. I apologize if there were any amenities that were not functioning in your room and will pass along the comment to our management team. We were glad to see you enjoyed the lobby and front lawn. We hope if in the future you return to visit Glacier Park, we can show you some other room options or options in one of our partner hotels that would suit your needs and expectations better. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etters
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here 3 days of our 10 day vacation. The lodge itself is pretty. We were on the 4th floor and couldn't sleep at night due to the heat! The service was poor from housekeeping to the servers in the restaurant. It took two days to get our room cleaned and the breakfast buffet we had to get our own drinks. The one worker who stood out was David who was our server at two dinners and he was fantastic! We tried swimming and no pool towels available. We definitely won't recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear whale9999,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Glacier Park Lodge. We are glad to read that you had received exceptional service from our server, David. We were disappointed to read that your overall stay however, was not as you would have expected. I have forwarded your comment onto Management with regards to daily housekeeping, and the lack of towels provided for the pool. Glacier Park Lodge is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of service and we hope you will allow us the chance to provide you the level of service you have come to expect. We look forward to hosting you in future travels.

Sincerely,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were excited about staying at a historic Glacier Park Lodge, which is why we were willing to pay the premium price for the experience. Since this was the most expensive night of our ten day vacation we expected it to be the most elegant. Our actual experience didn't come close to our expectations. The room that we were in did not compare even to a Motel 6 room. The beds were so uncomfortable that we didn't sleep well. It was 96 degrees that day and our room didn't have air conditioning or even a fan. When asked the staff brought a fan that was missing a blade. This caused the fan to be off-balance so it loudly bounced across the floor when turned on. We couldn't use it. We requested a different fan and were told there were none available. The next morning when we checked out and complained to the staff member at the counter the manager was standing approximately six feet away. He was too busy flirting with a female employee to bother listening or even caring about our obvious frustrations. We noted that there were plenty of fans blowing on the staff.

The room was so hot that our daughter passed out in the morning as she prepared to take a shower. The lighting was so dark that it was difficult to read. The shower was cramped. The shelve above the sink was poorly placed. When you brush your teeth you hit your forehead. The wood floors were the best part of the room.

All of the other hotels that we stayed in during our vacation were less expensive, yet the staff at those hotels cared more for our comfort than the Lodge staff did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Kekenkel,

Thank you for providing your feedback. I want to tell you that I am deeply concerned after seeing your comment. It seems that not only did we let you down by not providing the services you expected and deserved on your recent visit, but our compassion when attempting to resolve this issue too fell short. This is not how we do things at Glacier Park Lodge. Our team and I pride ourselves on providing a higher level of customer service to all of our guests, and for not following through on that commitment to you I am truly sorry. I want to thank you for your comment as well, it serves as a training opportunity for all of us here, and that opportunity will not be missed I assure you. If you do plan a visit to the park again, we would like an opportunity to show you a more suitable experience for you. Please feel free to contact me personally.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The lodge is historic and the rooms more so. Although updated with bathrooms, the floors slant, the furnishings are outdated (to keep things realistic) and I had to knock out a screen to get access to the deck outside our window. The room was way overpriced. But, all said and done, you really need to visit and look at this piece of history. It's amazing. Walk the gardens, visit the train station and enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, but do it as a day trip. Take a Red Bus tour -- another piece of history.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our second visit to Glacier Park Lodge now celebrating its 100th anniversary. Rustic charm...be prepared to carry your bag up the stairs (no elevator) but there are charming bellhops in period costumes to help if you need it. No TV in your room or wifi. It was refreshing to see families playing cards and games in the spacious lobby or being entertained by people on the piano. We didn't have air in our room so a box fan in the window was our air conditioning. Lovely restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Prices are reasonable for a resort setting. Local foods and desserts are offered. Lovely grounds which you may overlook from your balcony. Pool, shuffleboard, golf are a few things you can enjoy in addition to the many tours.

Room Tip: It you want to overlook the central area ask for a room on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Lodge

Address: East Glacier Park Highway 2 & 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glacier Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the western charm of the historic Glacier Park Lodge, which was completed in 1913. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery, makes Glacier Park Lodge a truly unique vacation destination. Although steeped in culture and history of the Great Northern Railway and Blackfeet Indians, Glacier Park Lodge features modern amenities such as a heated swimming pool, nine-hole golf course, in-room telephones, nine-hole pitch-n-putt golf course, gift shop, Lounge and the outstanding Great Northern Rib and Steak House. Glacier Park Lodge is in East Glacier Park, Montana on Highway 2. Glacier Park Amtrak Train Station is located just across the street from the hotel where guests are picked up daily in our antique red Checker taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glacier Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Hotel East Glacier Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.