We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caution....when staying at Glacier Park Lodge” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Glacier Park Lodge to your Saves list
Glacier Park Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   East Glacier Park Highway 2 & 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Caution....when staying at Glacier Park Lodge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Although the location is quite convenient for seeing the park and the setting lovely & historical, be aware when planning to stay here. There is no elevator, so disabled need to specify level 1. The rooms are clean, but dated. Walls are very thin- you can hear snooring and talking next door. They are located by the train station, and you will hear it throughout the night. There are only 20 hairdryers for the entire hotel, so bring one or risk not getting one. There are no coffemakers in the room, nor available in the lobby- until the barista opens at 6am. The door locks are difficult to operate. The service for housekeeping staff is very slow and late to make up the rooms, even if flagged for early service.
Worst was our experience in the Great Western Dining Room. The food quality was poor [tough, unseasoned] and very expensive for what you get. Additionally, the staffing and management for the resturant was deplorable. Although our waitress did the best she could, she was stuck with trying to service 10 tables at a time, while other staff in the dining room was underutilized. On the otherhand, the eateries in the local community of East Glacier were very good value, good food and very friendly staff. We loved the breakfasts at "The Whistle Stop", dinner there was also good... as was Luna's. If you decide to stay at the Lodge, make use of the verandas or open areas for watching the scenery. This was the best part of the trip. {Caution, this facility is not affiliated with the National Park Service, so standards for performance may not meet those of found in other National Parks}

Room Tip: Ask for a room on poolside [away from the train]. Don't need to pay for a private balcony, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thanks for interacting with us on TripAdvisor. I’m very sorry that your stay with us was not as accommodating as you expected. Please keep in mind that the historic lodges in and around Glacier were built at the beginning of the last century by the Great Northern Railroad and were completely modern for the times. A stay in them today, is “turning back the clock” to a different era. I would like to point out that the rooms are kept very clean and in order by our staff. They are simple now, but at the time that they were built, they were not considered to be so. We do our best to present the feel of our facilities on our website and brochures, with lots of pictures and accurate descriptions. If there is anything that you feel we could add (be respectful!) to our site to make sure our guests understand a stay with us is entering into that legacy, feel free to suggest any valid idea via our website contact us form. As far as your dining experience, I am sorry that we let you down. I am going to pass on this information to our company president. We do take service very seriously, and any lack thereof is not acceptable by any means.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    151
    107
    53
    45
See reviews for
133
200
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights in the Glacier Park Lodge and enjoyed it. I noticed that the reviews of this hotel vary widely and here is why: On the one hand this is a classic National Park lodge in a great setting with amazing architecture that includes huge pine logs in the main entryway. On the other hand, it is pretty darn old (built in 1912) and it shows its age. I have found this to be typical of these classic National Park lodges. This hotel has been retrofitted to include bathrooms in each room, usually at the expense of the closet. The bathrooms are small and the rooms are not all that elegant. But you are staying in an historic grand building, in a super location.

Like I said, we really enjoyed our stay...but don't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
You said it! Thanks for your interaction. Even though Glacier Park, Inc. does a great job of portraying the reality of these Lodges, some folks still show up expecting something more modern. We hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We just returned from the 6 days Grand Lodges Tour of Glacier National Park. It was a great time with awesome scenery and great tours of the sites. We rode the Red Buses and stayed in all the Grand Lodges—Glacier Lodge at East Glacier, Prince of Wales at Waterson in BC, Many Glacier, and Lake McDonald Lodge. The food was great at all the lodge restuarants including a cowboy dinner the first night. We enjoyed the knowledge of our tour guide/bus driver, Gary and the service of the tour director, Rod.
If you do anything, drive the Going to the Sun Road and cross the Continental Divide. Hiking is also good—be ready to walk uphill!
Overall, it was a great trip.

Room Tip: Plan early and ask for a lakefront room at Many Glacier Lodge and be sure to watch the sunrise and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your tour. Thank you for taking your time to interact with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to you staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a beatiful OLD HOTEL and grounds, but for the price, the rooms should have some up date. The bathroom is about 1930 vintage. The room is old also but large with nice beds and pillows.........I would suggest you visit the hotel and maybe eat there, and then stay in town at a better rate. Oh, check in people were not nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thanks for interacting with us on TripAdvisor. I’m very sorry that your stay with us was not as accommodating as you expected. Please keep in mind that the historic lodges in and around Glacier were built at the beginning of the last century by the Great Northern Railroad and were completely modern for the times. A stay in them today, is “turning back the clock” to a different era. I would like to point out that the rooms are kept very clean and in order by our staff. We do our best to present the feel of our facilities on our website and brochures, with lots of pictures and accurate descriptions. Please know that your comment has been passed on to our company president.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Our family of five loved staying here at the end of our two weeks of exploring both Yellwstone and Glacier National Parks. They allowed us to have five in the room which made the price reasonable. We planned the trip last minute, so we kept checking the website for cancellations and got in for two nights. We loved the feel of the place. It is better in person than in the photos. The lobby is wonderful. We enjoyed the board games, played the Pitch and putt, golfed, and tried to just soak in the grandeur. If you come in on the train, they bring your luggage over, and you can walk. the breakfast was tasty and our waiter was fun. We didn't have dinner there, but wen into town to a great Mexican restaurant. If I went back, I would try and get a room with a shared balcony. The annex was fine, no need to be in the main old part. The room was large with a wood floor, comfortable beds, but a small, quaint but workable bathroom. Think rustic, charming, plain and simple. The location is good, but not great for seeing Glacier National Park. If you are looking for a home base for going into the popular areas of Logan's Pass and Many Glacier, I would recommend staying in or near St. Mary. St. Mary is also good for driving into the Canadian part of the park. However, East Glacier is just a bit further away from those areas, but is very close to the Two Medicine Lake area which is also beautiful. The lodge also offers activities like Red Bus tours, horseback riding and other services. It was a wonderful place to stay at the end of our trip.

Room Tip: Ask about stairs before booking. The Northern part is good with larger rooms. Watch out for deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Wonderful review! Thanks for taking your time to interact with us on TripAdvisor. It is so nice to know that our guests enjoy the relaxed, peaceful atmosphere that we intend. Who needs to check email, when you can play a board game with the kids instead? Again, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Glacier Park Lodge is the grandest of the hotels built just after the turn of the last century by the Great Northern Railway...situated at the eastern entrance to the Park on the lowland, looking west toward the fantastic and beautiful Rocky Mountain crest. For sure it has seen better days, and its lack of modern conveniences (especially internet access and elevators), might cause some visitors to fret. But the very helpful hotel staff do a good job in compensating (e.g., the bellevators...bell staff...will cheerfully tote your bags up the stairs). The grounds are well kept and beautiful, the hotel lobby, with its century-old log pillars and beams, spectacular. Food selection and quality at the hotel restaurant are more than adequate. Don't miss: a trip to Two Medicine Valley, especially if you do it on one of the Red Bus tours, which includes at boat ride on Two Medicine Lake and a short hike to Running Eagle Falls.

Room Tip: Get a room on the East Side if you like to see and hear the trains on the BNSF main line passing thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Perfect! We could not have said it better ourselves. Thanks for taking your time to interact with us on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again, on your next adventure into Glacier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Paint is peeling or gone in many places. The walls are so thin that you can hear snoring from next door. There is no TV or coffee maker in the room or wireless anywhere. They want you to go back in time, but that horse has left the stables.

The screen door had to be janked in hard to keep it from banging. The catches were broken. There were no gutters or porticos, such that we got soaked trying to load the car to leave. I'd wanted to come here for probably 30 year,s and for $180 a night, I was a little disappointed.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
First of all, I’d like to thank you for taking your time to interact with us on TripAdvisor. I’d also like to also apologize for not meeting your expectations. I want you to know that I will inform our company president about your suggestions, on making a stay a little more modern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Lodge

Address: East Glacier Park Highway 2 & 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glacier Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the western charm of the historic Glacier Park Lodge, which was completed in 1913. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery, makes Glacier Park Lodge a truly unique vacation destination. Although steeped in culture and history of the Great Northern Railway and Blackfeet Indians, Glacier Park Lodge features modern amenities such as a heated swimming pool, nine-hole golf course, in-room telephones, nine-hole pitch-n-putt golf course, gift shop, Lounge and the outstanding Great Northern Rib and Steak House. Glacier Park Lodge is in East Glacier Park, Montana on Highway 2. Glacier Park Amtrak Train Station is located just across the street from the hotel where guests are picked up daily in our antique red Checker taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glacier Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Hotel East Glacier Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.