We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Gem in East Glacier Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Pine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Glacier Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Pine Motel
Save
You added Mountain Pine Motel to your Saves list
Highway 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434   |  
Hotel amenities
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Surprising Gem in East Glacier Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent four nights at the Mountain Pine Motel in August 2013 as part of a six week trip through North Western USA. The characterful motel benefits from a quiet location on the edge of East Glacier village and was an excellent base from which to explore the eastern end of Glacier National Park. Our room was comfortably furnished and exceptionally well serviced. Although there is no AC it was not needed. The effective heating system did, though, prove useful on cooler nights. Bug screens meant that windows could be left open as required. Nothing was too much trouble for the very hospitable and helpful owner and his family who also provided much useful local information. Interestingly, we also stayed on the west side of Glacier National Park where accommodation was considerably more expensive. We would highly recommend the Mountain Pine. Of the local restaurants, Lunas (two minutes walk away) and, our favourite, Buffalo Creek (2 miles south on highway 2) provided good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    94
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
51
112
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Avon Lake, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Glacier National Park. We didn't want this trip to break the bank but we wanted to stay some place clean, quiet and close to the Park. Mountain Pine Motel was the perfect choice. Nothing fancy but if an immaculately clean and a well managed place to stay is what you are looking for-this is it. The owner, Terry Sherburne, is a great guy-helpful and accommodating. The Mountain Pine is close to restaurants, Dollar Car Rental, laundry and small local stores. The historic East Glacier Lodge is within walking distance. The lodge offers daily tours to anywhere in the Park. As far as TV is concerned, you can watch TV at home!! The gorgeous sights of Glacier National Park await you! The Mountain Pine Motel is a relaxing and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Okay fellow travelers, I have now lost count of the number of times ( at least 10) I have traveled from Virginia to stay numerous nights at the Mountain Pine Motel. I don't believe I will ever be able to say enough about its charming atmosphere and pristinely clean rooms. The aura and energy of the place with its lovely lawn and its lovely owners are actually the best lure of the place.

Certainly, if you want to pay twice the nightly rate and want paper-thin walls, go on down to the Glacier Park Lodge. My family and I prefer to walk down there to enjoy the lounge and the lobby because staying there once was enough for us.

If you want to enjoy a modern facility with a cosmopolitan atmosphere and cutting edge design offered in big city hotels, just don't go to Glacier Park at all because there is no such place in the entire area. And if you want to watch T.V., stare at your computer or stay in touch with the present era, just stay home. The whole point of coming to Glacier Park and this charming motel to begin with is to tune out the rest of the world....but that is my opinion. I love Mountain Pine and everything it has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were invited to a wedding in East Glacier, MT, and the locals referred us to Sherburne's Mountain Pines Motel. Operated by the friendly and helpful Sherburne family, it is a spartan property which is impeccably maintained by its owners. Amenities don't abound, but they aren't needed (TV service is minimal, cell service non-existent), and the entire property was in tip top condition and clean as a whistle. Shower water pressure was excellent, also. The Sherburnes are knowledgeable about the area and you won't find a friendlier gang. The Glacier Park Lodge is a park system option down the road that appears nicer than Mountain Pines, but rooms are tiny, quality of food is poor and no TVs. Locals prefer to stay with the Sherburnes. There are multiple dining options within a short walk of the motel. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stay at this motel! It is just what you need if you are just looking for a place to sleep. There is nothing fancy, but everything is in great condition. You can tell the owners have taken care of everything they own for many years. We LOVED the area. EAT AT LUNA'S! We ate there for breakfast twice and for lunch once. We tried the Whistle Stop once for lunch and wish we would have just went to Luna's again. It is such a great area and there are several shops and restaurants within walking distance. Such a neat experience to stay in an old fashioned motel such as Mountain Pine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Mountain Pine Motel has a very inviting presence, and the experience does not stop there. This is an older motel, but it has truly been maintained extremely well. The rooms were super clean and comfortable, and the owners were so nice and helpful. We will be back again someday!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Would always prefer to stay in the National Park, but this was a great alternative that was relatively bargained price for the middle of summer. The room was large and clean but the internet was pretty much worthless. Note: they don't provide shampoo and some have said they don't supply soap, but we had it. Owner was very nice and helpful and provided touring ideas.

East Glacier Park is...meh. Check out the Glacier Park Lodge...that's about it. But definitely take the boat tour of Two Medicine Lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Pine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Pine Motel

Address: Highway 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Mountain Pine Hotel East Glacier Park
Hotel Mountain Pine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Pine Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.