We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacobson's Cottages

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Glacier Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacobson's Cottages
Save
You added Jacobson's Cottages to your Saves list
1204 Highway 49, P.O. Box 216, East Glacier Park, MT 59434   |  
Hotel amenities
Muskego, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The cabins are nice size and ours was very clean. The showers had enough hot water for four of us and the pressure was excellent. The best part was how nice the people running the place are. We were backpacking for a week and they let us keep some of our things on site for the week we were gone and even helped us with bear spray for our adventures. Very friendly and very helpful. Will stay there again if/when we return. There are also nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
21
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I must admit, we were initially a bit skeptical about this place when we were booking. The booking was over the phone and got no confirmation email and no deposit was held on my card. We checked in quite late and the lady at the front desk was very helpful. We got a nice cottage, which although not fancy and upmarket as chain hotels, was very very clean and comfortable. The heater worked great in the night and the bed was good. TV was old and didn't have many channels but in a place so close to such a beautiful NP one really should not need a TV. There was a small cafe and a local store nearby and we walked down there to have some hucckleberry ice-cream later that evening. Good old small town America. Very safe, warm and hospitable people. Great stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Good place to stay when exploring Glacier National Park but do note this town is not exactly near the park (though very near the park lodge which is worth seeing). The road between here and Glacier is both breathtaking and a bit of a thriller with steep curves over a mountain drop and cows walking out wherever they please. (the road scared me but was an unheralded highlight of our trip). The room was clean. Many commented on showers, mine was hot and taken at night. The other shower was "hot with some mild fluctuations" taken in the morning. Everything was clean and there were no odd smells. Bed mattress was dumpy and not exactly comfy but tolerable for a night. Ashtrays in the room do not inspire confidence in a no smoking policy and struck as as odd. Still, very nice proprietors!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

In defiance of State of Montana law, none of the rooms are labeled smoking/nonsmoking. Our reservation was for a non-smoking room. It was not marked and had an ashtray right by the bed. Our room REEKED of Pinesol when we checked in, so much so that the kids had to sit outside while we aired it out with a fan. The owner (who is a smoker) blamed it on her new cleaners. As the odor of Pinesol wore off, we smelled the smoke. Though the bedding was clean, the beds, the furniture, and somehow even the bathroom smelled of smoke. The older owner was very nice, but as a heavy smoker, she just did not understand about allergies and sensitivities. She said all of the rooms were "aired out" daily. Though the kitchenette room was a great value and clean in other ways, I recommend spending a bit more money and staying in the park proper where you will enjoy nature and a true vacation ambience. It was not worth the headaches and post-nasal drips to put up with the smoke.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is how things should be...personalized, friendly, and hard working people taking care of you...not someone getting paid lower wages who are just 'there to do a job & go home'. They really, truly care how your day went and want to help you be sure your tomorrow is just as good if not better. What more could you ask for? Love this place, it was so homey and clean. The owners were amazing, so friendly and just great people. They went out of their way to be helpful, you should listen to the recommendations she gives for food, views, etc, she knows her stuff! The cottages looked small, but in actuality were quite roomy and were very, very clean. I really just can't say enough good things about this little piece of the world!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, WA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The folks were very pleasant: Mrs. Anderson was very nice and Mr. Anderson was washing the dishes when I arrived. And the dogs were friendly--at least one was, the other was polite but reserved. This is clean, well-kept facilty with no frills-for example, no coffee maker. The two restaurants and the store are 100 feet away for coffee, and good coffee, too. The beds were fair but not super. If you are looking for a basic, simple place for the east side of Glacier Nat. Park, this works well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, k
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Love Jacobson's. I have been staying there for years with not one problem. Great value compared to other overpriced lodges. View is great, owners are friendly, place is clean and very close to the things that one is at Glacier to see. Just up the road a few miles is the Two Medicine area inside the park which is one of the great attractions to he park and could be missed by using only the main entrances via The Trail to the Sun. If you are a fly fisherman is simply does not get better than the Blackfeet Lakes. Hire a guide and enjoy some of the best fishing in the world. Jacobson's even allow us to use their deep free to keep the fish until we leave. I have travels all over the world and this is one of my favorite places that I return to year after year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacobson's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobson's Cottages

Address: 1204 Highway 49, P.O. Box 216, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Jacobson`s Cottages Hotel East Glacier Park
Jacobsons Hotel East Glacier Park
Jacobsons Motel East Glacier Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacobson's Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.