We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every high rating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Triple Creek Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Triple Creek Ranch to your Saves list
Triple Creek Ranch
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5551 West Fork Road, Darby, MT 59829   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Darby B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Worth every high rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our four days at Triple Creek Ranch were among the most relaxing of any vacation we have taken. The setting is magnificent, and the cabins remarkably comfortable. Having one's own spa and steam shower is a real treat, especially after a cattle drive or multi-hour hike. The food was quite good and abundant (although simpler preparations would have been better). The picnic lunches, including the one offered for the plane trip home, were outstanding. What really distinguished TCR was the staff. Almost to a person, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Small glitches including no one near the front door as we arrived to welcome or direct us, and a somewhat dour activities director who within moments of our arrival effectively cross-examined us about our horse-riding ability before indicating we were off the waiting list for the much-in-demand cattle drive. We observed her other guest interactions and she was equally gruff with them. One staff member explained that is just the way she was. No biggie, but an exception at a place where everyone else -- including the owner -- were as friendly as they could be. The horse wranglers were especially great, friendly and very skilled.
The atmosphere is one of a great house party, where people go out of their way to socialize and be engaged with others. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Some cabins are more private than others, so be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
104
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
home
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have been so lucky to stay at Triple Creek Ranch. If you want to relax or not, from the rest of the world, eat magnificent food, ride great horses, wonderful trails, TCR is the place. Full moon horse back ride, complete with snacks, drinks, jackets if chilly and even a powerful telescope to gaze at the moon. Everyone of the entire staff has a very positive and accommodating attitude and will make your stay exceptional. Try a cooking class, its first class.The cabins are very nice and comfortable and fit the surroundings. It is nice that everything is included in the price. Do the photo safari, fly fishing (which they arrange) and of course horseback riding. We are from Florida and enjoy the hot weather,but are thinking about January or February for a winter trip. Upon leaving TCR, they packed us a SUPER lunch to go. We are now spoiled.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sugar Loaf and didn't want to leave, even added an extra night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I recently returned from a 4 night stay at Triple Creek. We had a 3 bedroom cabin.
Everything and I mean everything was outstanding. The food, the accomidations, the activities and THE STAFF were outstanding. I will return here many times. Triple Creek and the wonderful staff truly deserve all of the accolades they receive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just absolutely loved Triple Creek. We met incredibly nice guests and the staff was on top of every aspect of delivering great service. This was our first time as guests and we stayed four nights. We met coupled who had been 3, 4, and 13 times! The ranch boasts a 60% return for another visit rate and we now know why!

The food was prepared to perfection...5 courses at dinner but never too much where we felt stuffed. We toured the kitchen and met Chef Jake...also from our home town of Cincinnati.

Montana is gorgeous and Triple Creek offered all the activities we desired. We went fly fishing with a guide down the Bitteroot river, we hiked, lounged by the pool, went on a nature tour of nearby CB ranch which is a 27000 acre nature preserve.

Our cabin was appointed beautifully. We stayed in one of the luxury cabins Piquette and enjoyed the included golf cart to tool around in. The bed was amazingly comfortable.

We loved Triple Creek, the people who work there genuinely care about the guest getting a great experience and we definitely will be back for the Steelhead run in the Salmon River sometime in the Fall.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

As part of our 50th Anniversary celebration, we spent three nights at Tripple Creek Ranch. Located in South Western Montana, it represent the finest in American accomodations. A rustic style cabin environment coupled with activities such as horsback riding, hiking, fly fishing, ect provides sufficient activities to offset three meals from its outstanding restaurant
Recently, in the August issue of Travel and Leisure, Tripple Creek was rated # 2 in the World for the top 100 hotel establishments and # 1 in the United States.

Room Tip: We felt that the least expensive accomodations were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I went to Triple Creek for the first time this July and stayed in a Cedar Cabin (1 bedroom). The people who work at Triple Creek are OVER THE TOP nice and well informed about the resort, the area and all of the potential activity options. We didn't want for a thing during our visit and always felt like pampered guests. We went on a 1 day white water rafting trip (through Rawhide Outfitters in Salmon, ID who were also unbelievably great folks!!) and had a blast and we did two on property horse rides that were very fun. The food was so good ... at times we felt we were not worthy! It was like eating in a five star restaurant 3 times a day! Amazing. One morning, we decided at the last second to go on a particular hike that was off campus ... within 45 minutes, the staff had two backpacks with gourmet lunches packed for us and we were off to our destination ... they are truly wonderful folks, great at taking care of your every need.

So while the people were perhaps the most friendly and helpful of any staff I've ever experienced, the facilities themselves were a tad disappointing. Let's start with our cabin ... it was extremely average. The bathroom felt like we were in a double-wide trailer ... cheap appointments, cheap faux wood paneling and very poor spacing (you will have a hard time not bumping your forehead on the wall while you sit on the throne). The air-conditioner was an old, noisy window unit type ... amazing that they'd hadn't upgraded to a QUIET and efficient mini split ductless a/c. We tried - desperately - at night to keep the room cool by letting nature in but couldn't get a breeze into the room! Only two windows partially opened and the air flow was nonexistent. I tried to open a door but there was no screen door so it wasn't really safe to sleep with it open. The pool was probably built 25 years ago ... small, dated and barely worth mentioning. The fitness center should probably just be repurposed as a proper bathroom for the pool (as opposed to the one they currently have which is akin to the double-wide bathroom in our room only impossibly dark). The main lodge was beautiful but also dated in a way that is hard to describe ... it was just clear that if you'd been there in 1995, it would have looked exactly the same.

So while I loved the people so much and loved my visit overall, it is hard to rank this resort as the best in the US (as some major travel publications would do) because the facilities themselves - specifically the rooms - simply aren't worth of that designation. If you visit Triple Creek, you will feel very much like you're the gust of honor at someone's home, but you won't remember it as the grandest home you've ever seen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This resort is located in the Bitterroot forest 1.5 mi south of Missoula. They feature excellent, gourmet dining and have an enormous choice of wine and beer. Very attentive staff and superb guides ensure a relaxing and enjoyable escape from everyday life..The scenery is beautiful and a large number of activities are available.including complimentary photo safari.
Enjoyed the ATV's and scenic float down the West Fork River.

Room Tip: all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Triple Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triple Creek Ranch

Address: 5551 West Fork Road, Darby, MT 59829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Darby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Darby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Triple Creek Ranch 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Triple Creek Ranch is a Relais & Chateaux property and an Orvis-endorsed fly-fishing lodge. Ranked #1 Hotel Worldwide in Travel + Leisure's 2014 "World's Best" Awards, this is an ideal destination for discriminating adult travelers seeking the retreat of a lifetime and the romance of the West, children ages 16 and older are welcome. Our all-inclusive fees include luxurious accommodations, snacks, breakfast, lunch, gourmet dinners, house wines and spirits and all featured on-ranch activities. A variety of exhilarating year-round activities await Triple Creek Ranch guests along with accommodations in 23 individual cabins, with a private or nearby hot tub, sumptuous king bed, wood-burning fireplace and much more! Dining at the Triple Creek Restaurant is a culinary and visual feast of fresh foods, fine wines and global influences. Offerings range from Bistro Fare to traditional French dishes, innovative southwestern, West Indies, Central American and other international blendings. Cooking with locally sourced ingredients and fresh veggies from Triple Creek Ranch's own orchard and garden is a passion of our executive chef. Food allergies or special dietary requirements are accommodated with specially prepared menus by our talented chefs. At Triple Creek Ranch enjoy good conversation, savor world-class cuisine and fine wines from the best wine regions worldwide and discover once in a lifetime adventures. Best of all, be pampered with our exceptional caring service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Triple Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Triple Creek Ranch Hotel Darby
Triple Creek Ranch Montana/Darby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triple Creek Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.