We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Triple Creek Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Triple Creek Ranch to your Saves list
Triple Creek Ranch
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5551 West Fork Road, Darby, MT 59829   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Darby B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just absolutely loved Triple Creek. We met incredibly nice guests and the staff was on top of every aspect of delivering great service. This was our first time as guests and we stayed four nights. We met coupled who had been 3, 4, and 13 times! The ranch boasts a 60% return for another visit rate and we now know why!

The food was prepared to perfection...5 courses at dinner but never too much where we felt stuffed. We toured the kitchen and met Chef Jake...also from our home town of Cincinnati.

Montana is gorgeous and Triple Creek offered all the activities we desired. We went fly fishing with a guide down the Bitteroot river, we hiked, lounged by the pool, went on a nature tour of nearby CB ranch which is a 27000 acre nature preserve.

Our cabin was appointed beautifully. We stayed in one of the luxury cabins Piquette and enjoyed the included golf cart to tool around in. The bed was amazingly comfortable.

We loved Triple Creek, the people who work there genuinely care about the guest getting a great experience and we definitely will be back for the Steelhead run in the Salmon River sometime in the Fall.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
103
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

As part of our 50th Anniversary celebration, we spent three nights at Tripple Creek Ranch. Located in South Western Montana, it represent the finest in American accomodations. A rustic style cabin environment coupled with activities such as horsback riding, hiking, fly fishing, ect provides sufficient activities to offset three meals from its outstanding restaurant
Recently, in the August issue of Travel and Leisure, Tripple Creek was rated # 2 in the World for the top 100 hotel establishments and # 1 in the United States.

Room Tip: We felt that the least expensive accomodations were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I went to Triple Creek for the first time this July and stayed in a Cedar Cabin (1 bedroom). The people who work at Triple Creek are OVER THE TOP nice and well informed about the resort, the area and all of the potential activity options. We didn't want for a thing during our visit and always felt like pampered guests. We went on a 1 day white water rafting trip (through Rawhide Outfitters in Salmon, ID who were also unbelievably great folks!!) and had a blast and we did two on property horse rides that were very fun. The food was so good ... at times we felt we were not worthy! It was like eating in a five star restaurant 3 times a day! Amazing. One morning, we decided at the last second to go on a particular hike that was off campus ... within 45 minutes, the staff had two backpacks with gourmet lunches packed for us and we were off to our destination ... they are truly wonderful folks, great at taking care of your every need.

So while the people were perhaps the most friendly and helpful of any staff I've ever experienced, the facilities themselves were a tad disappointing. Let's start with our cabin ... it was extremely average. The bathroom felt like we were in a double-wide trailer ... cheap appointments, cheap faux wood paneling and very poor spacing (you will have a hard time not bumping your forehead on the wall while you sit on the throne). The air-conditioner was an old, noisy window unit type ... amazing that they'd hadn't upgraded to a QUIET and efficient mini split ductless a/c. We tried - desperately - at night to keep the room cool by letting nature in but couldn't get a breeze into the room! Only two windows partially opened and the air flow was nonexistent. I tried to open a door but there was no screen door so it wasn't really safe to sleep with it open. The pool was probably built 25 years ago ... small, dated and barely worth mentioning. The fitness center should probably just be repurposed as a proper bathroom for the pool (as opposed to the one they currently have which is akin to the double-wide bathroom in our room only impossibly dark). The main lodge was beautiful but also dated in a way that is hard to describe ... it was just clear that if you'd been there in 1995, it would have looked exactly the same.

So while I loved the people so much and loved my visit overall, it is hard to rank this resort as the best in the US (as some major travel publications would do) because the facilities themselves - specifically the rooms - simply aren't worth of that designation. If you visit Triple Creek, you will feel very much like you're the gust of honor at someone's home, but you won't remember it as the grandest home you've ever seen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This resort is located in the Bitterroot forest 1.5 mi south of Missoula. They feature excellent, gourmet dining and have an enormous choice of wine and beer. Very attentive staff and superb guides ensure a relaxing and enjoyable escape from everyday life..The scenery is beautiful and a large number of activities are available.including complimentary photo safari.
Enjoyed the ATV's and scenic float down the West Fork River.

Room Tip: all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Triple Creek Ranch is not inexpensive, but after a four-day stay there, we left completely satisfied that our money was well spent.

The setting in the mountains of Montana was beautiful. Our cabin was comfortable, clean and luxurious. We had a private Jacuzzi on the back porch, overlooking a creek directly below -- just fabulous. The cabin was stocked with liquor, wine and soft drinks, including Bacardi that I had requested and Kim Crawford wine, that my wife had requested, all included in the price.

Each cabin got its own golf cart for travel around the property. That was my only disappointment, because it used gasoline and was quite smelly. Shame to pollute the pristine air in Montana, when electric carts would have been far superior. For this level of service, Triple Creek should get rid of all the gas carts and replace them with electric ones.

Almost everything is included, including gourmet food at all meals and all alcoholic drinks, unless you want some special wine. We received a different menu every day, but could ask for any changes to the menu that we wanted. Horseback riding, fishing on property, hiking, archery, swimming in the pool, the fitness center, were all included.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, always asking what they can do for us and offering small services that weren't even requested. For instance, my wife wrote several postcards, including one to Austria. We were asked if we would like them to mail the cards for us (that means the postage too). We were asked if we would like for them to prepare a picnic lunch for us on checkout. Little things like that were offered, often.

We rode on horseback twice, each time with our own guide. The first time we took along a delicious picnic lunch that we ate up the hill, halfway through our ride. If we wanted to ride 10 times, we could have.

No children under 16 were permitted, so it wasn't for families with young children. For everyone else, it will be a fabulous vacation. We were pampered and loved it.

Room Tip: We appreciated the upgraded cabins that had private Jacuzzis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

After a week of wedding-related activities that went off perfectly, there was quite a high bar set for our honeymoon at Triple Creek Ranch. We are very pleased to report that it could not have been better. Let's start with the best...the food! The food is insanely good and in perfect proportions so that you can fully enjoy every meal from appetizer to dessert...of which there are new options literally every meal. The dining staff was literally always smiling and quick to make a suggestion if asked or chat while waiting for your meal. We frequently had meals delivered to our room which were promptly delivered and hot.

The cleaning staff was never seen nor heard, as they were coordinated with the activities we were enjoying. If we left activities earlier than expected, the staff would discreetly radio ahead so that we never ran into a single cleaning person. Our fridge and wet bar were frequently restocked whenever we left, and they provided some cookies and delicious trail mix every day. Providing a NY Times summary with our breakfast was a nice surprise each morning.

Our activities were a LOT of fun, and coordinated by some wonderful staff members, especially Kyle, Kim, Christie, and Chris (don't forget River, the adorable fetch-loving dog!). Everyone was incredibly patient with us and explaining each of the activities (horse back riding, fly fishing, archery). We highly recommend the Photo Safari, which takes you through some of their massive property (CB Ranch). They provide you with some excellent Canon cameras and walk you through how to use them (macro, distance, shutter speeds, etc).

Ask them for anything within reason, and they will provide it. That about sums up our week-long stay, and we can't wait to celebrate a future anniversary at Triple Creek Ranch!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the North Star cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

As we discussed with guests who arrived the day we were leaving, it is the little details that make the difference and why Triple Creek is well-deserving of the top ranking in the Western hemisphere. Fresh-baked cookies every day in your cabin and in the activities center and never the same flavor two days in a row. Staff with a great attitude, who are eager and willing to please from top to bottom. Incredible food at every meal. Housekeeping that takes place as soon as you come in for breakfast (we only spotted them on the grounds once in four days). An outstanding ratio of staff to guests and an immaculately-clean and well-maintained resort will put even the most apprehensive germaphobe at ease.

My wife and I spent 30 minutes after we finished eating one night, waiting to see if the dining room ever had a moment where there wasn't someone topping off drinks or waiting on guests- it never happened. I drink a lot of water with every meal and often just request a carafe, but that wasn't necessary here, as my glass was always kept filled. One guest mentioned he and his wife ordered an identical salad, but his arrived without celery. When he asked why that happened, he was told that he mentioned he didn't like celery when he last visited two years ago and they made a note of it then.

The pastries are fresh-baked every morning and always seem to melt in your mouth. Fresh fish is flown in constantly from all corners of the globe and even as a picky eater elsewhere, I've learned to trust the judgement of the chef and ate and enjoyed things at Triple Creek I would never even consider trying anywhere else.

The cabins are very well-appointed with everything from pre-made fires to fresh fruit and full-size bottles of liquor for mixed drinks. This was our second visit and we benefited from a previous trip to know to order our drinks as we head to the pool, so they will be waiting for us. The same with the nachos, which have ruined us on restaurant nachos anywhere else forever.

My wife and I are both in our late-30s and first visited five years ago. We experienced a mix of guests on both occasions, in terms of age, but saw none of the favoritism or uncomfortable moments a few others have suggested they felt. Guests were either friendly with each other or kept to themselves.

The owners of the resort (husband and wife) have a home on-site and if you happen to be there on the right night, they open their home to a reception for guests. They have beautiful Western artwork everywhere you look and an incredible collection of books and movies on various western subjects, as well as Montana history.

Background music in the dining hall did cover a broad range of genres and although some choices seemed unusual for the setting, it is not uncommon for some guests to spend a week or more and I imagine the same music at every meal could get to be too much after a while.

The staff photographer should have an external flash to brighten everyone's faces in photos, but that is nitpicking by a shutterbug about an amenity most other resorts wouldn't even think to offer and such a flash might startle some horses.

We've heard there is a resort in Africa that tops this one, but we'll let someone else get their shots and travel to a third world country, to find out if someone people who probably make less than a dollar a day offer better service. We're happy to stay right here and enjoy the very best.

Room Tip: Triple Creek is routinely sold out through the summer months and often filled with repeat customers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Triple Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triple Creek Ranch

Address: 5551 West Fork Road, Darby, MT 59829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Darby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Darby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Triple Creek Ranch 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Triple Creek Ranch is a Relais & Chateaux property and an Orvis-endorsed fly-fishing lodge. Ranked #1 Hotel Worldwide in Travel + Leisure's 2014 "World's Best" Awards, this is an ideal destination for discriminating adult travelers seeking the retreat of a lifetime and the romance of the West, children ages 16 and older are welcome. Our all-inclusive fees include luxurious accommodations, snacks, breakfast, lunch, gourmet dinners, house wines and spirits and all featured on-ranch activities. A variety of exhilarating year-round activities await Triple Creek Ranch guests along with accommodations in 23 individual cabins, with a private or nearby hot tub, sumptuous king bed, wood-burning fireplace and much more! Dining at the Triple Creek Restaurant is a culinary and visual feast of fresh foods, fine wines and global influences. Offerings range from Bistro Fare to traditional French dishes, innovative southwestern, West Indies, Central American and other international blendings. Cooking with locally sourced ingredients and fresh veggies from Triple Creek Ranch's own orchard and garden is a passion of our executive chef. Food allergies or special dietary requirements are accommodated with specially prepared menus by our talented chefs. At Triple Creek Ranch enjoy good conversation, savor world-class cuisine and fine wines from the best wine regions worldwide and discover once in a lifetime adventures. Best of all, be pampered with our exceptional caring service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Triple Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Triple Creek Ranch Hotel Darby
Triple Creek Ranch Montana/Darby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triple Creek Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.