We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never so disappointed in a hotel and its staff and expedia” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Glacier Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Glacier Gateway Inn
1121 E Railroad St, Cut Bank, MT 59427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cut Bank
montana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“never so disappointed in a hotel and its staff and expedia”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

booked on expedia for a hotel that was 300 miles away from home. Stated it was a deluxe room in a HOTEL with a pool and spa and pictured a great lobby. Got there and our room was actually accross the street at the "inn" with a stench of cigarettes and no lobby to speak of. Then the price at payment was $12 more then what Expedia stated. There was no breakfast(unless you include coffee and doughnuts as a breakfast). Guy said sure you can use the pool across the street(meanwhile it is 30 degrees outside), walk across AFTER paying and the pool/spa is closed for the season. Also scared us into paying saying there was nowhere else available in town..BS...Super 8 is only half full and the little motel we are at now(increadibly better then the "Inn") has wifi. Expedia misrepresents this "hotel" as deluxe when the truth is that the pictures shown on site are a separate property by same owner and so is pool/spa.

Room Tip: do not take staffs word for anything! check yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

On a recent return road trip visiting friends in Lethbridge Alberta we came back via Hwy 2 thru Montana.With no rooms avalable in Shelby we headed west 30 mins to Cutbank the next town.Arrived and took the first place with a vacant sign and this was it.Upon checking in and getting a reasonable room rate headed to the room going okay what do we find,well to our surprise the rooms and looks like interior of motel has been renovated because it was clean and well done.Room was clean modern with many items like coffee maker,microwave,fridge in room with good internet.Will we stay again going over this route yes.
Oh and yes it's also close to the eastern edge of the Rockies

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBSSPATEL, General Manager at Glacier Gateway Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us.we are glad that you enjoy your stay.we are always here to welcome you and all guests like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

60 bucks for a room that is worth about 40. I stayed here because everything else was booked. Parking is very minimal. I'd say the room was clean but not by hotel standards. I'm a mechanic so I'm sure I looked a little rough, but the host kept telling me to keep the room clean. I'm not a dirtbag for crying outloud. Anyways, if your a roughneck and don't mind a little rundown place it may be ok but for the average traveler on vacation I'd look elsewhere. The upside was the little pizzaria next door was nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBSSPATEL, General Manager at Glacier Gateway Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.we have just replaced all the locks,but you are right that we do have some mechanical problem in couple of locks and we will definitely fix it.we are extremely sorry for that.
You may also be interested to learn that just last week we have started to upgrading the property.we put new LED 32' TV in all the rooms. and one cup coffee machine in all the rooms and planning to change all curtains soon. So guest will get more value to their dollar spend.
we want you to come back give one more chance to serve you better.
we do have one more newest property across this one for better experience in Cut bank.
Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are travelling
to Cut Bank again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that
the remainder of your trip will be nice and wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel in the past on business trips. Each time I stayed there it was more run down. The last stay resulted in a reservation hassle, in spite of written confirmation. Ultimately, a room was "found" in the Plaza portion of the hotel. The curtains of the ground floor room did not close and the slip cover on the chair looked like a nest of dogs had slept there. The bathtub was covered with brown stains and the towel bar fell off the wall. Light bulbs were very dim or not working. The towels were frayed and stained a disgusting gray color. I will never stay there again. I advise you to find another hotel in Cut Bank or drive to another nearby town. It was terrible.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auburn, wa
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed at the glacier gateway inn because everything was full in Shelby and Cut Bank was the next closest city. The place looked ok from the first glance, the beds seemed comfortable and the sheets clean. other than some overbearing perfum that they had spayed the entire room in it wasnt that bad. Until I woke up the next morning to find my 7 month old still sleeping covered in bug bites, after further inspection all of us were COVERED in bug bites, I removed the bottom sheet and around the rim of the mattress were A TON of little black bugs, I checked it out online and they are in deed BED BUGS. These are EXTREMELY hard to kill and they are easily transported home in luggage or on clothing. DO NOT STAY THERE. And Learn my lesson, check under the sheets and in the crevouses of mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

There are inside and outside rooms to the Glacier Gateway Inn. We had an outside room. They welcomed our dog and the room was huge. Clean and comfortable.
The only let down was the coffee in the room was "Mr Coffee" type, but after I made it I threw it away, it wasn't good. Same brand of brewed coffee in the breakfast room. Drink something else. The rest of the breakfast was OK - muffins, toast, cereal. There was a powercut the next morning, but we'd had breakfast, so it didn't cause any problems. At $59 + $6 for our dog we had no overall complaints, apart from the coffee.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

-- $42, extremely economical
-- We stayed in second building called "the corner"
-- Host is very affable and nice
-- Just outside the window are seven sets of train tracks, but not big problem, no whistles or horns at night
-- Spacious room & bathroom
-- Nice handheld shower head
-- Fridge, microwave
-- Building a little used but being renovated
-- Hard to find electrical outlets
-- Dorm-like furniture
-- No breakfast (but when I checked out the host invited me to take anyway. Not knowing I would post it) waffles were included
-- Not many restaurants to choose from in town
-- Room is clean and pleasant

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Gateway Inn

Address: 1121 E Railroad St, Cut Bank, MT 59427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Cut Bank
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cut Bank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glacier Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.