We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Research before booking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cooke City High Country Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooke City High Country Motel
Save
You added Cooke City High Country Motel to your Saves list
US Highway 212, PO Box 1096, Cooke City, MT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cooke City
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Research before booking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Unexpectedly stayed in Cooke City, so reservations were made with little options to research. Was told it was a 2 room cabin (2 couples traveling) and it turns out the second room was a bathroom. Room was clean but very basic. Bathroom was leaking and shower head only worked when angled certain ways.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    19
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
22
29
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ennis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

"Nice guy" at the front room but he was totally clueless as to any service. We rented one of the cute looking stand alone cabins. No ice, poor internet, no air con (87 degrees today), no screen on the front door, no side tables or lamps, no shampoo/conditioner/lotion, old carpet with stains and drapes hanging askew; water on the bathroom floor from some unknown source, all for the price of $110.00. Very nice town with plenty of other good options.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

While a bit on the pricy side for what you get, this is a comfortable, clean, somewhat rustic motel right in the center of Cooke City. I've stayed here a number of times over the last few years, and will do so again.

Make sure to eat at the Beartooth Cafe, and have breakfast at the little coffee shop a couple of doors up the street from the High Country. The General Store is also well worth a look.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is small - with a very squeaky bed. Cabins 2 and 3 are larger and more comfortable. The down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed 2 nights here in June.

The cabin was lovely and comfortable with TV and the manager and his lovely dog were very friendly.

Cooke City is a great little place, quiet and very friendly and the High Country Motel is now my absolute choice to stay in when I return to Montana and Yellowstone. I will be chosing here over staying in the park in future.

Room Tip: I was in cabin 1 which is on the road side and it was lovely - no noise at all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a nice cabin, but it really needs more to offer. There was plenty of room to put in a nice table and a coffee pot. The cabin is kind of bare bones. Very tiny shower.
We were very disappointed in the person that checked us in. We were just told "if you have any problems let us know". Not a very nice personality at all.
If we go back to Cooke City - we will try some where else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hey you're in a town with zero cell reception, 80 miles to the next city, it's not the Hilton but the people make the place. Bonner the black lab met me at the door and his owner (sorry can't remember his name) was the most helpful hotel manager guy you could ask for.

Rooms were not amazing but had everything we needed and were quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I have been coming to Cooke City for many years now on snowboard trips and have stayed in other hotels and rented other full homes, but after this winter i will only stay at one place. Benji and Clint at the High Country Motel are some of the friendliest people in town and will go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and then some. The cabins are very cozy and some even have kitchens. Not only that but they are extremely clean. The Hot Tub is one of the nicest i have ever been in, with a cd player and pop up speakers. Thanks High Country for a great place to hang out this winter, I look forward to many more nights!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cooke City High Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City High Country Motel

Address: US Highway 212, PO Box 1096, Cooke City, MT
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the HIGH COUNTRY MOTEL AND CABINS. We offer clean comfortable cabins and rooms at afordable rates. We have all new queen beds and new carpet. We offer everthing from your basic room to large suits with full kitchens. We even have 2 CROW TIPIS for the kids to play in. We are located just 4 miles from YELLOWSTONE NATIONAL PARK and near the world famous BEARTOOTH PASS. See you in paradise. Thanks, The High Country ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City High Country Hotel Cooke City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooke City High Country Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.