We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place with WiFi and Hot Tub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooke City High Country Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooke City High Country Motel
Save
You added Cooke City High Country Motel to your Saves list
US Highway 212, PO Box 1096, Cooke City, MT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Conrad, MT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place with WiFi and Hot Tub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We've been staying at this motel for the past 3 years in February for our annual snowmobile trip. The room we stay in has a kitchenette, living area, bedroom w/ full bed, table that seats 6, and a sink area outside the bathroom. The living area has couch that folds into a bed and a reclining chair. It's a nice place to come and relax after a long day of snowmobiling. The kitchenette has the bare necessities, but will do the job. There is free Wi-Fi available and a hot tub has recently been added.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
29
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at the High Country Motel during off season, late October 2011, and found it to be charming, comfortable and welcoming. Joe, our 'host', was very friendly and accommodating, more like staying with a friend than with a corporation. The cabin was clean, cozy and included a furnished kitchen, TV, etc. Free Wi-Fi is available with enough bandwidth for ordinary users. Even though this was off season we found a nice restaurant, open late, just a short walk from the motel.

In response to one of the more negative reviews on this site about High Country, I would comment as follows... I grew up with parents who ran a mom and pop motel, and then later spent 5 years with the Sheraton hotel chain. This place definitely does not have a sterile 5-star corporate perfection... but that's part of it's charm. It's run by local people, located in a small mountain town, just minutes from Yellowstone park, and it reflects that organic experience. If you stay here with that in mind, you'll have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: For a little extra money, go for the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at this motel and had a great time. Its perfect for the atmosphere in Cook City. The manager was so helpful in pointing out things to do (fishing, hiking, sites to see). And the rooms were clean. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Had a great time in Cooke City and the High Country helped make it memorable. We will be back there again for sure, thanks again !! Looking forward to the upgrades

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in the slow time, in October. We got the cabin in the back of the property with a kitchen. It was so cute and cozy. Not crazy about the paneling, but the owners informed us that they intend on doing some cutsie updates to the rooms and cabins. It was clean though and Joe, the manager, is quite nice and accomodating. We had a wonderful and relaxing stay. We woke up slow everyday and mosied over to the Lovin' Cup every morning for coffee. Bliss! There were lots of bears around and hikes just out the back door, so jeez, I couldn't ask for more out of a stay next to Yellowstone!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernal, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We have traveled all over. We go to Yellowstone often. We have found the Cooke City area to be terribly over priced and this particular motel a complete disaster. This place is terrible. Misrepresented by its web page. Rooms are dirty and smelly. The bed matteress were probably purchased in the 1940's. Carpet was dirty. Bathroom very disgusting. We were also over charged on our credit card from what we were promised. There has to be better places to stay near Yellowstone. Don't waste you time or precisous money on this one!

Room Tip: Don't bother here! Stay in West Yellowstone or Gardnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My review for the High Country Motel will be a little mixed...but overall my husband and I love it there, and will surely be staying again.

Thus far we have stayed in the Cooke City area several times, but the last two trips we stayed at High Country. We had a wonderful time on both occasions. We love spending time in Yellowstone National Park, so we generally stay in the area for at least a week.

There is a little motel, but we prefer the cabins. We find them cozy and comfy. The heating works well when needed (which is often up there). Having a full kitchen is a huge advantage, as we prefer preparing our own meals to going to restaurants (both of us have been victims of food poisoning on the road)...so the sparse number of eateries and the high prices in the area don't mean to much to us. We generally grocery shop in Cody, WY, Bozeman, MT, or Livingston, MT before we arrive.

In the mornings we have breakfast then prepare a picnic lunch. At dawn we are headed out. It is a mere four miles (and lovely miles they are) to the North East entrance of YNP. We have been in and out of all five park entrances, and in our humble opinion the Lamar Valley side (Cooke City entrance) is by far the loveliest. Also...this is the stretch of the park we have seen the most bears (black and grizzly), wolves, moose, fox, etc. It is far away from major attractions like Old Faithful, but we are there to explore the park, so the long drives to these places are total fun for us. Every day we are there we can stop in different breathtaking spots to enjoy our picnics and relax for a bit, before getting back out on the road. It's heaven!

My biggest complaint is both times we arrived to this establishment the kitchen area of our cabin was a bit on the dirty side. All the linens were clean, the sheets were clean, the bathroom was clean, and the carpeted area of the cabin had been vacuumed...but the kitchen floor, counter tops, table tops, etc were a bit to be desired. Before I allowed my husband to bring our things in, I cleaned. In all fairness to the guy who ran the place it seemed he did it single handedly. There usually seemed to be a maintenance guy or two there, but as far as the operations it seemed this fellow was alone to check the guests in, answer the phone, do the laundry, and prepare the rooms. When it snowed he was out early shoveling walks, steps and porches of the cabins. He did have a wonderful dog who 'helped' him much. We enjoyed her a great deal.

Overall...the place is great! We love the area, the cabins are very home like...we are very at ease there, and the prices are very reasonable for what you get (a full kitchen, as I have said, means a lot to us). Our road trips are long, so we bring our own pillows and quilts. I even remove the bedspread of our cabin bed and put on a quilt from home for our stays, and it makes it even homier.

Since our last visit in May 2011 ownership and management has changed. We will miss Brandy (Woof!), but that won't stop us from going back. We do recommend High Country Motel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cooke City High Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City High Country Motel

Address: US Highway 212, PO Box 1096, Cooke City, MT
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the HIGH COUNTRY MOTEL AND CABINS. We offer clean comfortable cabins and rooms at afordable rates. We have all new queen beds and new carpet. We offer everthing from your basic room to large suits with full kitchens. We even have 2 CROW TIPIS for the kids to play in. We are located just 4 miles from YELLOWSTONE NATIONAL PARK and near the world famous BEARTOOTH PASS. See you in paradise. Thanks, The High Country ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City High Country Hotel Cooke City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooke City High Country Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.