We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed here many times and will definitely stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antlers Lodge Cooke City

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antlers Lodge Cooke City
Save
You added Antlers Lodge Cooke City to your Saves list
311 Main St East, Cooke City, MT 59020   |  
Hotel amenities
Billings, Montana
1 review
“Have stayed here many times and will definitely stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We love staying at the Antlers Lodge! The owners are friendly and work their buns off to update and maintain all of the cabins and rooms. We try to spend time in Cooke City at least once a year, but haven't had the time the last couple years. So when we checked in to the Antlers this weekend, we were amazed at the progress Bill and Kay have made since our last visit. We've stayed in a different cabin each time, and now that we've found #4, I think we'll stick with this one. It's newly remodeled and looks great! They've now got super fast wi-fi accessible from our cabin and more channels on the satellite TV.
I've read many other reviews on this site, and I have to say - if you think you're going to find 5-star accommodations anywhere near this town, you're crazy. The Antlers cabins are cozy, comfortable and always clean and fully stocked. If you run out of something or have any questions, Kay is more than happy to assist.
Her two new Saint Bernards are a highlight of our trip and are extremely nice and friendly.
Speaking of animals, we were pleasantly surprised this morning when a moose and her baby passed right in front of our cabin, down passed the lodge, across the highway and into the woods. In past trips, we've seen a fox and her babies next to our cabin.
Antlers Lodge and its cabins and motel rooms are exactly what you'd hope to stay in when going through the mountains into or out of Yellowstone, in the very best ways.
We can't wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    9
    6
    26
See reviews for
21
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

One of the worst accommodations I've ever encountered. The cabin was so dirty and run down we ended up not staying - even though we'd already paid for two nights. As other reviews have already noted the hosts were not very friendly or available. We couldnt even find them to complain about the room. So we just ate the cost and went down to Silver Gate and found a beautiful B&B cabin that included an incredible breakfast and extremely nice hosts for less money than the Antlers. Since this was a 30th anniversary trip - wed met in Cooke City - we felt fortunate to have found these beautiful clean well-kept cabins in Silvergate.

Room Tip: Go down to Silvergate - about three miles towards the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

When we arrived, the place was locked up. There was a note which said they were in back and to come find them. They were nowhere to be found. A handyman finally unlocked the lobby, ran our credit card and gave us a key. That was the last we saw of anyone. The "remodeled" cabin was completely sub-standard with poor beds, layers of dust, and essentially sheets over the windows. We had booked 2 nights but decided not to stay the second night. When we went to leave, again, the lobby was locked and no one was to be found. We left the key in the mail box along with a note asking for a refund for the second night. When they finally called the next day, they said they didn't find the note until 4:00pm and could have let the room had they known earlier. By the way, it appeared that we were the only "guests", it was deserted and felt like the Bates Motel. Don't waste your money with these folks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We wanted to something close Yellowstone. And West Yellowstone was too early to settle down. Also I had read that the NE entrance was not as crowded as the others. Hmm, maybe not. Not so many cars, but an abundance of Bison -also on the road!!
Anyway, we came to Cooke city a bit late. Only one place had the NO Vac. sign out. The Antlers looked quite cozy so we tried our luck.
The cabin we got was a simple affair. But 2 good beds and a neat bathroom, though we found trash in the closet underneathe the sink.
The fridge was a nice addition. But we sorely lacked a table. As it was we took in the simple log bench from the porch and used it, but still.....
Internet was most unreliable. I gave up on it.
Cooke city itself is worth a stroll -at least to tourists like us. And we found a couple of good places to eat too :-)
For a trip to the NE part of Yellowstone, we'd gladly recommend Cooke City -and the Antlers lodge. It's fair priced and value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for one night whilst visiting Yellowstone. Would have stayed longer but they only had one room left for one night when we arrived.I can see why its popular.Reasonably priced, nice location just a short drive from Yellowstones north east entrance and the Lamar valley. Rooms basic ,clean and comfortable. Reasonable choice of eating places.If you like dogs you will love the owners two. If you want WIFI etc. and the facilities of a large hotel this is not for you. If you want a get away cabin in a great location and at a reasonable price check this out. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised by how cute the cabins were. They were rustic with a ton of old charm. Check in was nice, the owner Kay, was pleasant and so helpful. She introduced us to her dogs, my daughter loved them, they were so gentle and well behaved. The property was well kept and clean. Our cabin was clean and well stocked with plenty of towels and kitchen utensils. Kay said if there was anything we needed to cook just to ask they would have it. We stayed in cabin 11, the king bed was comfortable as well as the pillows. The twin beds were very comfortable as well. Also, before our ride she said if we didn't come back, they would come to look for us, they keep an eye out for their guests, I was amazed at that statement. The town had everything within walking distance. The restaurants were very good and the people were nice. I highly recommend the Bearclaw cafe, the staff was nice, the food was amazing and the prices were very reasonable. I would come back here again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, just go online to find the room that has the number of beds you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I just spent a night at the Antlers...never again. Nasty carpet, bugs, lights burnt out, gaps in doors, hairs and mold in the bathroom. Owners are rude once you're there, WIFI does not work anywhere except in lobby...despite their claims....must be something wrong with my computer...I would have gone somewhere else except it was dark...and the closet town is another 70 miles away. You know it's bad when you sleep in your own sleeping bag at a motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antlers Lodge Cooke City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antlers Lodge Cooke City

Address: 311 Main St East, Cooke City, MT 59020
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cooke City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antlers Lodge was built in 1913 and was the first tourist facility in Cooke City. We have a variety of accomodations to offer; older remodeled, rustic cabins for that "Montana" feel, or if that does not appeal to you, we have a new cabin and new motel rooms. Most of our cabins have kitchenettes, vary in size and will sleep from 2 to 6 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Antlers Lodge Cooke City Hotel Cooke City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antlers Lodge Cooke City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.