We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for visiting Yellowstone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Save
You added Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge to your Saves list
103 Main St, Cooke City, MT 59020   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cooke City
Henley-on-Thames
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Great base for visiting Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Owners Jeff and Lisa are friendly and helpful, and have great tips about wildlife viewing. Large room with fridge, microwave and coffee maker; bed was very comfortable. Excellent value for money. Cooke City is a great location for viewing wildlife in the northeast corner of Yellowstone, and in my opinion the Elk Horn Lodge is the best hotel in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    30
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
62
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moose, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stay in Cooke City a couple of times each winter to ski and snowshoe in Yellowstone. Over the years, we've stayed at about all the motels in town, and the Elk Horn Lodge is the best of the bunch. This year we stayed 2 nights in cabin 2, which contains a full kitchen, good lighting, plenty of room to spread out, 2 double beds, and extra quilts for colder nights. It was comfortable, spotlessly clean and quiet. Lisa and Jeff, the owners, were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is not included, but there's a bakery just up the street that serves good coffee, fresh bakery and full breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

What a lovely little place. I would never stay anywhere else in Cooke CIty. We had a wonderful few days here in Sept 2011. Staff were so friendly and had really helpful advice. The rooms were spacious and clean and well equipped. The beds and pillows were super comfy! Cooke City is just stunning - it's up in the mountains and it's so quiet. We ate at the Beartooth Cafe every night which was fantastic. The Loving Cup cafe is also wonderful. CC is so near to the entrance of Yellowstone and personally it's my favourite entrance I think. It's not where the dramatic stuff is, but it is the most beautiful and wildlife packed area in the park as far as I can see. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebo, NC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Cooke City is very small and most structures are old. That being said, this lodge offered comfortable beds (I requested the room with pillowtop mattresses--not all rooms have them yet), generous space, attractive decor, and cleanliness. We did not experience any noise issues from adjacent rooms when there in early Sept. Breakfast is not included but, being a small town, restaurants and supplies are walking distance. Our hostess was eager to please and shared information regarding current wildlife activity in the park. Be aware, if you arrive early, you may need to walk down from the office cabin to the lodge to find your hostess as this is a hands-on operation. The owners are in the process of completing a new office building with added amenities. Relative to the location, this is a reliable establishment.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
First of all let me say "thank you" for your kind words about our motel. I would like to clear up 2 things since we have alot of customers who read about us on Trip Advisor. 1) While we do have comfortable beds with Sealy mattresses we do not have "PillowTop" mattresses. As of May 2, 2012 we will have new mattresses in all of our rooms and cabins and we are quite excited to offer them to our customers so they get a good nights sleep!. 2) Our new office building was completed in October of 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

No complaints at all with the room which was clean and comfy.
I do feel the rate of $99 was high for bed only no breakfast.
Cooke City is a small quaint town which does not offer a lot of choice particularly as we were there mid october

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I booked this hotel after reading other reviews here, and was disappointed. All soft furniture had large tears. The room smelled heavily of perfume chemicals. Eventually my husband found an air freshener "plug in" hidden behind furniture. He unplugged it, which helped some. But the linens also had a very strong chemical smell that lingered days later in my PJs (2 week trip, I needed to wear some items more than once). The drinking cups were resting in a bowl with soap, so the cups were also imbued with chemical scents. There is no A/C, so to get any ventilation, you have to open the windows. The main window had sheers only - no blinds or opaque curtains. We had to hang a blanket over the window to have any privacy at all. The main window was so huge and low to the ground that a person could pass through it (and into our room) easily, which scared me. You can hear everything going on in the neighboring rooms and everything said by anyone using the pay phone. If we hadn't had to pay in full at check-in, I would have looked for somewhere safer to stay for the rest of our vacation. If you aren't bothered by strong chemical scents, and are less concerned about privacy and personal safety, then you might like this place more than I did. My husband had a slightly higher opinion of the room. I rated "poor" instead of "terrible" because the room was clean and was conveniently located for Yellowstone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Nice, comfortable, and clean room
close to east entrance of Yellowstone
$99+ seemed high for the room and location but they don't have much competition in the town

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge

Address: 103 Main St, Cooke City, MT 59020
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elk Horn Lodge is a family owned and operated business located on Main Street, mid-town in Cooke City. We offer cozy cabins with kitchenettes as well as deluxe motel rooms. All units have two beds, full bath, Flat Screen TV'S, Direct TV, WIFI, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryers and are non-smoking and no pets. We also have a gas grill and outdoor hot tub available for your use. The Elk Horn Lodge is your perfect basecamp for Yellowstone National Park and the Beartooth Mountains. We are open year around and always offer reasonable rates. We are the only AAA approved lodging in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City`s Elk Horn Hotel Cooke City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.