We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place...could use some friendliness” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cooke City Alpine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cooke City Alpine to your Saves list
Cooke City Alpine
105 East Main Street, PO Box 1085, Cooke City, MT 59020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cooke City
Colorado Springs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average place...could use some friendliness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

The room was about average but clean. I could hear sounds from other room at night preventing a good sleep. No fridge or MW in the room...no coffee in the lobby to greet a weary traveler checking in in the evening (wonder why they keep sugar, sweeteners, creamer and stirrer but no coffee in the lobby...:-| ). MW is not in the lobby but in the dining room of the owner's house, of which lobby is but a room. A bit too pricey for a not-so-great a place. I would look for other places to stay on my next visit.

The owners could use some friendliness...a smile would do too. The young couple did not seem too happy to be doing what they were doing....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    39
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
30
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

My family and I stayed two nights at the Alpine Motel. It had been almost 10 years since we had been to Cooke City, MT. We had a great time and we will be back and it want be another 10 years. Cooke City and the Alpine motel is just what you want when you stay in a mountain town. A great experience. Thanks and we will be back.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

convenient location on main street, comfortable and pretty quiet. no views and must keep shades drawn for privacy. not a bad stay.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goyrans
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

This motel has room isolation issues. We stayed at the ground floor in the two storey building and were kept from proper rest by shower and WC flow noises from adjacent and upper floor rooms. Floor creaking by the above neighbour were also a bad nuisance. There is no coffee machine and no fridg in the room. Rate is high for the provided quality.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookeCityAlpine, Owner at Cooke City Alpine, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
This motel has room isolation issues. We stayed at the ground floor in the two storey building and were kept from proper rest by shower and WC flow noises from adjacent and upper floor rooms. Floor creaking by the above neighbour were also a bad nuisance. There is no coffee machine and no fridg in the room. Rate is high for the provided quality.

99% of our guests are entirely satisfied with their stay with us. I am wary to believe someone who gave us such low marks and has never contributed anything else to this site. If this contributer would like to contact us we would be more than happy to attempt to rectify this situation. I wish they would have contacted us that night so we might have been able to help then. We would love another chance to win them over! As far as the fridges in rooms goes we have many different types of rooms. Some have full kitchens, some have kitchenettes, some are basic. Reserve what you will need ahead of time and this issue shouldnt arise.

As
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Cooke City is an interesting little place - all about motors (as in motorcycles and snowmobiles) and it's only 5 miles from Yellowstone. Needless to say this group of people really affect the ambience of the place, plus access to Cooke City is limited. The other main access is over the Beartooth Pass, just not a drive to do on a regular basis, and in winter the only road in is the road from Yellowstone. So... there don't appear to be any really fine lodgings or restaurants here. This is not a negative, just means you need to take it on it's own terms. So, the Alpine Inn is nothing special, but it's not expensive and it always has hot water (unlike what I heard about a place down the street). The staff were very helpful, the place was ok clean and I have no complaints. I would definitely stay here again given the other choices in town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — all the motorcycles - Harleys etc
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, ont
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006

When my family went to enjoy the Yellowstone experience we stopped at Alpine hotel for a good nights' rest so early next morning we could head out for Yellowstone.Everything in our room was perfectly clean and in order. Early next morning I was even able to snap a few picture of a couple of deer in front of our room.So if ever we decide to visit Yellowstone again, we are sure to visit the same hotel!!

  • Liked — The amazing view!
  • Disliked — No breakfast included.
  • Tips/Secrets — Get up early (between 5-6 a.m during the summer) if you want to see wild animals.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

We were repeat customers - in the past we had noise issues. The owner usually tried to accomodate and provide a quiet room - usually one that was not underneath a contracted room for multiple guest.
We had decided that we would stay across the street at the High Country Motel - it is older but has a great location and one of the rooms has a fireplace - very nice to have in the fall . We were seduced by the owners claim of internet access - it is available and it does work but it is not much more than dial up - unfortunately there are no phones in the rooms either.

The rooms are large and they are clean but the noise factor is off the charts! You can here voices, toilets and showers - we are not light sleepers and the shower will wake you up.

If you d decide to stay here try and get a quiet room - the owner books in many groups of tourist from Jackson Hole - they arrive late and depart early.
The towels are really a joke - I don not think they could be any smaller or thinner - very cheap! At $75/night ther are several better choices in Cooke City - the Town is wonderful and the easy access to the park is great - eat at the casino and ask for Joan's pies - the best- don't overlook staying in Silver Gate - there are some great choices there too!

  • Disliked — Noise between and above rooms - very loud
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookeCityAlpine, Owner at Cooke City Alpine, responded to this review, November 2, 2006
We have a very good reputation here at the Alpine. Its ashame that the internet seems to bring out mostly the bad, while 99% of the customers who are happy never report anything.

As for our internet access, it is WiFi. There are several access points located throughout the hotel, ensuring close access to all rooms. The internet access is through a satellite which is the ONLY option here in Cooke City. Our satellite is a high end business class system way beyond a DirecWay style system used by others. In fact our download speed is 3mb/s. There will always be a latency issue with satellite which is worse than dialup even. Its called being in a remote part of the country outside of Yellowstone. We provide this service FREE because more and more our guests are requesting it

The rooms this reviewer is talking about are in our 2 story building which is less than 10 years old. We are constantly updating and remodeling our rooms as our customers can attest to. As I said we have a very good reputation for cleanliness and modern amenities. The noise issue is new to me.

Compare websites and view rooms, base your decision on something other than a 1 in a million review.

The Owners


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cooke City Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City Alpine

Address: 105 East Main Street, PO Box 1085, Cooke City, MT 59020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cooke City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a variety of sparkling clean rooms and 4 apartment sized suites with furnished kitchens. We offer Free WiFi, HBO, ESPN, and complimentary long distance. We do have Pet-Friendly rooms. We now have fridges and microwaves in all of our rooms. We offer outside seating and drive up access to all of our first floor rooms. Guests may also enjoy our outside BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cooke City Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooke City Alpine Hotel Cooke City
Hotel Cooke City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooke City Alpine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.