We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wonderland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Save
You added Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service to your Saves list
31 Kersey Lake Road, PO Box 1074, Cooke City, MT 59020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cooke City B&B and Inns
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Where to begin other than EXCELLENT on all fronts. Great down home friendly service in a big slice of heaven away from the hustle and bustle of life nestled in the trees. If you leave hungry, that is your own fault. The meals are amazing in the quality, one would think you are at the Ritz! Well done Liz and Vic. Seen you this winter again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This B and B makes you feel comfortable from the minute you step inside to the smell of the wood burning stove. We were surprised and happy that our room had neither tv nor phone! The bed was comfortable and the softest sheets that I have slept on! Cell phone access is limited everywhere in and around Yellowstone, so they have a house phone that you can even take to your room to make free calls. Private bathroom was excellent. Breakfast second morning included handmade cinnamon rolls that were worth getting up for. We stayed two nights and never felt like we had to lock the door we were so at home.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have used Skyline Guide Service many times over the years for flyfishing in Yellowstone Country. This year Luke out did himself and took 4 of us on one of the best adventures ever. Not only is Luke a great guide but he is personable and accomodating. Highly recommend Skyline.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We used Skyline as our base for exploring North Yellowstone, and what a great choice. Great location, warm and friendly welcome. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed, and we had an interesting and different family breakfast every day.

Just outside Cooke City with quick access to the wonderful Lamar Valley. We took advantage of and really enjoyed the morning horse ride from the ranch, a great experience through the forest and on hillside trails.

Would recommend to all, and would also love to visit in winter !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was my second time booking a backcountry horse and flyfishing trip with Skyline Ranch. I have never stayed at the ranch so this review doesn't cover that aspect of their business.
My first trip was in Aug 2011. I had a day alone in the park and I met Luke and 2 of his horses at the trailhead early in the morning. We had an amazing ride up to Pebble Creek. Luke was a great guide and the horse I rode (Bo) was well trained and comfortable. We fished the afternoon away on Pebble Creek, enjoyed a nice bagged lunch and then had a scenic ride back down to the parking area. The trip met all of my expectations and more.
In Sept 2012, I returned to Yellowstone with 4 of my guys friends. I told them that we needed to book a trip with Skyline to ride & fish. The reservation process was simple and easy. A couple days before our schedule date I spoke with Luke about where he thought we should go. We wanted it to be a nice, scenic ride into an area that was fishing well. We choose to ride Specimen Ridge trail down into the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone R. Believe me...good choice!
The trip was everything my friends and I had hoped for. The beautiful backcountry of Yellowstone is amazing when experienced by horseback. We had 2 guys that had never been on a horse but this wasn't a problem. The Skyline horses are well trained, gentle & sturdy. Our guides Luke & Rob made sure that everything was running smoothly as we descended from the ridge into the canyon. Once at the bottom of the trail we were streamside and it was time to wet some lines.
The fishing was great! The access that you get by horseback ensures that the fish aren't getting hammered all season long with roadside fishermen. One of party was a novice fly fisherman and Luke made a point to guide him & show him techniques. he may have lost count of the Cutthroat trout he caught but I kind of doubt it! We had lunch alongside the river and fished some more.
The ride out was just as spectacular as the way into the canyon. My friends were all very happy with the level of professionalism and expertise shown by everyone at Skyline.
I can't wait to book my next trip with Skyline. If you want to do some fishing in a backcountry setting and want to experience the beauty of Yellowstone from horseback then you should book with Skyline. They are the best!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Jackson family, owners of Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service, were extremely accommodating in helping us book our backcountry trip and guiding us, two novice horse people, on a 6-mile+ adventure into the Montana wilderness.

Their horses and mules are well-cared for and the Jacksons went to special efforts to make sure the animals we rode were appropriate for our riding level. (My husband and I adored Cheyenne and Beau, our trusty and sure-footed friends). We were dropped in a beautiful, remote setting that was recommended by the owner, that more than EXCEEDED our expectations..

The Jacksons have a wonderful setup for the Cooke City area with the riding, fishing/hunting guides and lodging. If you've never been to the area, it's important to understand that Cooke City is pretty remote and accommodations are not terribly fancy but Skyline Lodge is very comfortable. Most people go there to enjoy the wilderness and aren't there to spend time on the internet, hot tub, etc. If you need a fitness center or swimming pool, don't go to quaint Cooke City- you'll be disappointed.

Although we didn't stay at the lodge, we did take a look at the rooms and they are very clean and portray the decor typical of a Montana log home. The rate is very reasonable and having stayed in other places in Cooke, we'd definitely consider the Skyline Guest Ranch rooms for our return visit.

We are using Skyline next year as their service was excellent and the prices were very reasonable for the amount of effort needed to guide two guests and their three-mule load into the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness. It was a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The location is great,very close to the NE entrance of Yellowstone. The cabin itself is very attractive. The bedroom was nice. Bathroom was very basic. The breakfasts were rather limited and small in portion. We were expecting a nice large breakfast like we've had with other B&Bs. Also, the internet was up and down while we were there. If staying in the area again we'd likely look into other options but we might stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkylineGuestRanch, Owner at Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Though disappointed, I can respect this average rating, as we are just average folks working hard to offer excellent service.
Of course we really appreciate excellent ratings but I do sometimes worry that people might get the idea that we're the Ritz or Hilton when we're just a beautiful log cabin in the woods with horses, kids, dogs and dirt in close proximity.
Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable, enjoyable and satisfying as possible. Please allow us to bring out more breakfast or adjust the menu to meet your needs.
Satellite internet, though sometimes unreliable, is the only option in these mountains, there is no cell service but we do offer free unlimited calls from our cordless landline phone. We're here to help with everything from drying shoes to forgotten battery chargers. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service

Address: 31 Kersey Lake Road, PO Box 1074, Cooke City, MT 59020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cooke City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 miles from the northeast entrance to Yellowstone National Park, Skyline Guest Ranch borders the Gallatin National Forest. The lodge is made of hand-hewn logs, nestled back in the pines. Each of our guest rooms has its own private bath, there is a hot tub out on the deck, big screen TV, foosball, ping pong and wi-fi. Breakfast is included with your room. this is a full, hot, sit-down breakfast. There is horseback riding and fishing available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skyline Guest Ranch And Guide Service Hotel Cooke City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.