We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and wonderful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Save
You added Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service to your Saves list
31 Kersey Lake Road, PO Box 1074, Cooke City, MT 59020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cooke City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Koudekerk aan den rijn, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great stay and wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during our trip trough the US. Very nice place. Near to Yellowstone (a few miles from the entrance). The staff (Liz) was very friendly and helpful. She made great breakfast on both mornings. The place has a hottub outside which we used. Very nice with a view on the snowy backyard. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Beds are good. A great stay, definatly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Ulm, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I had a great stay at Skyline Ranch. I stayed with them in September for an Elk Hunt. Everything was great and they are always ready to take care of the customer. If you are looking to get away from it all and not give up any of the comforts of home you will enjoy Skyline Ranch. The food was nothing short of amazing, I loved every meal that was prepared. The Ranch has some of the best horses I have ever ridden. They seemed to make easy work of the rugged mountain terrainto. My guide had lived his whole life in the area and found me a beautiful 6X6 Elk to harvest. I would highly recommend a stay at Skyline Ranch to anyone looking for outdoor adventure and comfortable accomodations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We got the room with the loft. What a beautiful place! Great breakfast! A home away from home! We were only there for one night, but look forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed with Liz & Vic Aug. 22 thru Aug. 26 while visiting Yellowstone for a flyfishing vacation with my brother-in-law. Very comfy lodge that makes you feel like you are part of the family. Breakfasts were very good and different each day. Vic took us on horseback into the Park to a backcountry stream the one day where we both caught plenty of fish. Although Cooke City is a small town, this area is a must place to stay if you plan on any activities in the Northeast corner of Yellowstone Park. Another great feature is the free phone service at the lodge since cell phone signals are harder to find than grizzly bear in Cooke City!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

My sons and I have fished with Skyline Guide Service 3 or 4 times in the past 15 years, but this year, with my 10 year old grandson along, was the first time we've stayed at the Lodge. It's a great place, with lots to do and very warm and comfortable accomodations. Well-mannered and gentle horses for riding, lots of animals around, excellent fishing and a unique town, Cooke City, close by. Vic and Liz, the owners, are great hosts and the service and food are top notch. It's a great place for fishermen, couples or families with children, and the northeast part of Yellowstone, just a few miles away, is the least crowded and most interesting part of the Park, in my opinion. One of my favorite places.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Skyline Guest Ranch/BB was the best part of our 9 day honeymoon. What a beautiful place with all that is needed to have a relaxing, peaceful stay in the mountains of Montana and very close to the best area of Yellowstone. The Jacksons and staff are the best and make you feel very welcomed, and offer a beautiful clean room, very comfortable lounging area, and a GREAT breakfast. They let you do your own thing and are there to help with any questions. All are very knowledgable about the area. The horse trail ride was the best I have ever been on, great views and saw lots of critters. Horses are calm, gentle, guides are great also. Definatly will be back to spend more time at Skyline.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We vacationed in the Teton/Yellowstone area and needed a night's lodging for our last night before driving back to Illinois. We absolutely lucked out since I called shortly before we needed the lodging. We decided, at the last minute, to stay in Montana, just outside the park. I had called other places, but everyone was full. I found Skyline on the Chamber of Commerce listing and looked it over. I was very pleased at the reviews and pictures, so I called. Liz was so friendly and a wealth of information. We were able to get the room with two queens and the loft. It was perfect!! Our son totally enjoyed the loft, and our view outside was really pretty! The lodge is so well appointed, and extremely well designed! And Liz's breakfast was so delicious! She told us that they'd had seen a mother moose and her calf walk past the lodge that morning! The surroundings are breathtakingly beautiful! The stable is right by the lodge and the horses are gentle, not skittish to strangers, since our daughter petted them endlessly and they all came for their share! Unfortunately, we didn't have time to go on a ride, though we really wanted to; the prices were very reasonable. The people that Liz hired were very nice and willing to help. Even though we didn't have the amount of time to really explore the area the right way, it's clearly evident that there's so much to do. Our stay was brief, but very rewarding! We definitely want to return and make our stay longer next time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service

Address: 31 Kersey Lake Road, PO Box 1074, Cooke City, MT 59020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cooke City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 miles from the northeast entrance to Yellowstone National Park, Skyline Guest Ranch borders the Gallatin National Forest. The lodge is made of hand-hewn logs, nestled back in the pines. Each of our guest rooms has its own private bath, there is a hot tub out on the deck, big screen TV, foosball, ping pong and wi-fi. Breakfast is included with your room. this is a full, hot, sit-down breakfast. There is horseback riding and fishing available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skyline Guest Ranch And Guide Service Hotel Cooke City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.