We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting point for more than Glacier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   480 Bad Rock Drive, Columbia Falls, MT 59912   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Grass Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Starting point for more than Glacier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is an amazing place. If I had to do it all over again, I would have stayed here much longer and used the experience of the host to plan my trip. A few more nights watching the long Montana summer sunset and true comfort in this cabin, would have made my trip extra special. The host is very knowledgeable and quite a character. He goes beyond what the typical B and B offers. A true host. Excellent breakfast and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This b & b has lots of extras. There is a large library with books of local interest, a large gathering room with a tv, games, snacks, and drinks. In addition to all this, there is a separate rec room with pool table, air hockey, and a full kitchen for you to use if you want to cook. We were the only ones in the rec room each time we were there. The owners cook a different, interesting breakfast each day. The extras make this a good value as a base for visiting the Glacier area. We will definitely stay here again if we are ever in this area again.

Room Tip: The swan cabin is a little more, but worth it if you want extra private space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We are in the Hidden Lake room. It is part of a log building that has 3 other rooms. The furniture is hand made. Our king bed must weigh a ton. Everything is nice including our fireplace. The owner is a foodie so I am sure breakfast will be great. He told us what he is making and it made our mouthes water. There is an exercise room with a very good weight workout machine, bicycle, treadmill, and elliptical. There is also a very nice pool table and air hockey table. In the main house there are snacks and a fridge filled with beer, wine, and soft drinks. The owner has put together a book about Glacier, places to eat, history of his place, and park safety.

Room Tip: Have not seen the others, but Hidden Lake would be hard to beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Bad Rock annually for three years and it is always a pleasure to return. We go to see our daughter and her family, and the two older grandkids are always eager to have a sleepover at the Bad Rock and to see the owner, Mark. Mark has struck the right balance between keeping a rustic, authentic feel to the place, while carefully thinking through every amenity and getting each one just right. Comfortable beds and linens, good chairs to read in, tasty breakfasts and good conversation. This is a superior option to the hotel alternatives in the Flathead Valley, as the cabins are spacious and afford a nice degree of privacy.

Room Tip: The converted barn is great if you want a separate bedroom and living area - with a king upstairs, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I arrived at Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast, after ten days in Kalispell, hoping
to continue our adventure in magnificent Montana. Mark greeted us as friends and welcomed us
to his beautiful home. In fact, we had several telephone conversations in the weeks prior, as
he had very kindly tried to arrange off-season hikes in Glacier National Park. Even offering to go
himself.

We loved staying in the Swan Cabin. It's a nicely furnished two-story house, with a great view
of the Swan mountains from the bedroom balcony. We were cozy, warm, and had complete privacy (with our own parking spot out front). Mark's breakfasts were delicious. Best of all were
the table conversations with Mark and another couple from the U.K. Fascinating topics, comments, and opinions were always flying around as we all got to know each other. Staying there during our national elections made it especially interesting.

Our four-night stay went very quickly. We were wishing for a few more days on the morning of
our departure. We hope to return to Montana in the next few years and will definitely look forward to staying with Mark and Serena again.

Room Tip: The Swan Cabin (# 4) was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We found this B&B on the internet, and were delighted with it. The 'cabins' are fully and nicely furnished, not 'rustic'. Thick, soft towels, good, comfortable bedding. Full bath but also a second sink/mirror in the room for great convenience. Rooms are big, clean, very pretty. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the separate cabins, not the large house, so can't review those rooms, but we were very pleased with the cabins. Even spotted a dozen deer roaming the field behind the property one evening. Breakfast was at a set time (8:30), with one choice of entree each day (besides cereals). I did not like having to be in the dining room at a set time when on vacation, but I survived. I also am not much for gourmet breakfasts, but my husband loved them. All in all, a very nice place, and we would choose to stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast during a trip to Glacier National Park in October of this year. Mark, the owner, clearly takes a lot of pride in what he does there - every single detail had been thought out for our stay. Not only did he offer to loan us trekking poles, camp stove fuel and bear spray for our three day trek in the park, but upon our arrival he made some fabulous recommendations on places to eat and shop. Our room "Avalanche Lake" was immaculate, and the cozy gas fireplace heater in the room was delightful after two cold nights of camping in the woods. The Bad Rock features include a fire pit, gas grill for guest use, and a game room with a pool table. The main house has a huge library of books and a gorgeous breakfast room. Breakfast was amazing as well, but perhaps the highlight was watching four or five deer grazing at dusk from the back porch behind our room. It is a serene escape and the perfect place to pamper yourself after a few days camping in the park, or perhaps for those less camping inclined, a close place to call home while you venture out for day hikes in the park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast

Address: 480 Bad Rock Drive, Columbia Falls, MT 59912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.