We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in a row wasn't enough..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back Room of The Nite Owl

Back Room of The Nite Owl
Hwy 2 E, Columbia Falls, MT 59912
(406) 892-3131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Eagle, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Two nights in a row wasn't enough..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by the hotel. We were not disappointed. In fact, we went there two nights in a row while we were in town. The first night we had broasted chicken, spare ribs and beef brisket. The portions were so large that we ate it again the second day for lunch as we toured Glacier National Park. We really wanted to try the halibut so we came back the second night. It was delicious, the breading was light, proportions were large. If you are light eaters you may want to split a meal. They have a full bar with a good selection of micro brews. The service was excellent, the bartender was friendly. The prices were extremely fair. We highly recommend it and hope you enjoy it as much as we did.... "good times!"

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    63
    44
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
774 helpful votes 774 helpful votes
“The Back Room is the place for ribs in Montana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The atmosphere of the Back Room is not that much different from the rest of the place, this is a family type restaurant, not a dark bar 'n grill environment, just for the record. We were seated promptly, the service was not bad at all considering that the place was packed, and our food came up quickly.

My friend was not feeling well and really didn't eat much, but I ordered some baby back ribs and they were excellent. The meat fell off the bone and the ribs were cooked and smoked to perfection. I would have preferred to have them served dry, rather than sauce on, but regardless, they were very tasty and were accompanied by the infamous fry bread which was very tasty. I washed the ribs and bread down with a couple of Dump Truck beers and thoroughly enjoyed my meal at the Back Room.

Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lrthbridge,Ab
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“dining experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After waiting for one half hour(which was fine as it was busy so we expected to wait before being seated )we were seated, had the menus then were totally ignored for 20 minutes. The server came to take our drink order and we gave her our food order at the same time. Again we waited for some time. Two of us received our drink order and the remainder came later. We continued to wait while the waitress spent a long time a one table - sounded like she messed up their bill but am not certain.
We asked another waitress to check our order but she didn't seem to want to. We could see some food sitting under the warmer for 10 minutes or more so when the waitress walked by I asked if she could check our order. This was over an hour after we were seated, Sure enough that was our order and she rushed to finish adding the side dishes,. We finally ate. The food was fine but the poor service didn't make us really enjoy it. People who came in after us received much better service with different waitresses who seemed to hustle. One group came in half an hour after us and were finished before we started eating. Our waitress had one speed and that was slow. We had a 4 year old with us and thank goodness that he didn't fuss. We explained this to someone when we paid, she apologized saying she knew who served us, but didn't offer to reduce our bill or give any coupons, etc.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, Kansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had dinner here on a recommendation from a business colleague. Took a look at the buffet before deciding to order from the menu. Buffet was unimpressive. The waitress highly recommended the BBQ so I had the BBQ ribs. They were ok, but I've had much better. Everything there was fried, so if you're not into that you might want to look elsewhere.

Was acceptable as far as cleanliness. The place was packed for dinner but service was still good.

I would not eat here again. There are much better options in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTM
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Hiding in the Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place was recommended to us by a local relative. We were finally able to stop in on this trip (on earlier trips to the area we stayed too late in the Park and they'd stopped serving when we arrived, so check the hours of operation . . . . 'til 10:00 PM ???)
Had various barbeque dishes and the fetticune (sp?) . . . they were all excellent. Good portion sizes and good prices.
Local brews on tap and also huckleberry blush wine that my wife thought was wonderful (Ok, so she has a huckleberry addiction!).
Great place to eat (but don't eat it all and leave some for us the "late arrivals" !)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Room of The Nite Owl also viewed

 
Columbia Falls, MT
Columbia Falls, MT
 

Been to Back Room of The Nite Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Room of The Nite Owl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.