We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious food and lovely ambiance.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Base Camp Cafe

Base Camp Cafe
140 Nucleus ave, Columbia Falls, MT 59912
406-892-2674
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Columbia Falls, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scrumptious food and lovely ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This afternoon, I had my first experience with this cafe. I purchased the Northern Lights veggie sandwich and was stunned by the quality and flavor of the dish. This BIG sandwich consisted of wonderful chewy cheese, grilled zucchini, what seemed like eggplant, greens, and tomato all bound to a phenomenal pretzel roll with garlic aioli. Certainly the finest restaurant sandwich I've ever had. The hole-in-the-wall feel combined with pleasant and thoughtful staff made the experience even more excellent. Kudos to the Base Camp Cafe. I hope this place sticks around.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So cute and so yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just had breakfast here, gluten free and almond milk for lattes, hooray! Base Camp is a darling addition to Columbia Falls, great for a stop to fuel up before hitting the park. Killer huge espresso machine and my coffee was perfect. My french toast was so delicious, the decor is super cute, functional and funky, I love seeing places like this crop up, hooray for the creative! Love it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little spot — Zermatt waffles a must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I know that the bacon in everything phase is past, but if you're in Columbia Falls and looking for breakfast, I highly recommend the Zermatt waffles with egg at the BaseCamp Cafe. These waffles are studded with swiss cheese and crispy bacon. With an over easy egg and some maple syrup they are pure delicious. Order a latte or espresso for a special morning treat. Lots of love went into turning this old house into a little piece of Europe. Stop in and say hello to Pierre and he will fix you up!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family goes to the Basecamp Cafe at least once a week. For breakfast, their waffles (especially the bacon-studded Zermatt waffles) are fabulous. For lunch I usually have the North Pork sandwich. It is topped with coleslaw and comes on a pretzel roll. So, so good. My son usually has the Northern Lights veggie sandwich, also on a pretzel roll. Grilled veggie perfection! The mountain/adventure atmosphere is lovely and cozy. The staff is friendly and helpful. A great spot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Base Camp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Camp Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.