We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Park Motel and Campground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Glacier Park Motel and Campground to your Saves list
Glacier Park Motel and Campground
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   7285 Highway 2 East, Columbia Falls, MT 59912 (Formerly Glacier Mountain Shadows)   |  
Hotel amenities
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

The two ladies who run this place are very personable. The website provided clear and comprehensive information and the reservation process was seamless. Photos on the website looked good and Trip Advisor reviews were promising. I was expecting good things...

We were a bit disappointed in our room upon arrival. Cleanliness could have been better- don't even look in crevices behind beds, for instance. We had **one** washcloth between the two of us. We booked the two bedroom one bathroom with no kitchen configuration. Problem was that the a/c cooled only the front bedroom. Consequently the back bedroom was hot most of the time. The back bedroom lacked a bedside table to put eye glasses or a clock on. The room we were confronted with looked very different from the website photos. Furniture was ugly and old as were bed coverings. Beds were extremely uncomfortable, and I'm not picky in that area. Carpet was hideous and looked old. Hot water didn't work one morning and when I called, the man who answered the phone wasn't that great about it: no sorry for the inconvenience just "no else has complained about that." It happened a second morning too and when I called something was mumbled about a pilot light. Worst of all, the vertical blinds in the front bedroom didn't close properly. This was the window that looked directly onto the motel's exterior hallway. Anyone walking by could see clearly into our room, especially at night. I was reduced to turning off the light when I changed clothes. Miserable.

Stayed July 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
17
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wood River, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed in room 29 for 6 nights. This room is a steal at $95. It is about 600 - 650 (?) square feet. It is a one bedroom condo with living room which has a couch and queen sized bed. An actual bed, not a fold out. It has a full modern kitchen that is totally stocked ( not food ), however no dishwasher. The bathroom has a large two person shower with 2 shower heads, no tub. The bedroom has a queen bed with a mirror over top. That was a surprise !! This place is very nicely decorated and is not by any means XXX.

Basically the unit was clean. I did not get any yucky gross feel from it, however, it was dusty. There was popcorn debris and a Cheerio on the carpet, so it had apparently not been vacuumed before we got there. It smelled good and clean. The sheets and towels were white and clean . I was told on check in that there would be daily maid service. We actually had maid service 3 of the 6 days.

That's the place, now here is what happened. We arrived in Montana in the midst of a record breaking cold snap. We got there at about 9:30 PM. The female proprieter was very friendly and welcoming. The room was cold when we entered. There was a free standing gas fireplace in the living room. There was a wall heater in the bathroom and bedroom, neither of which worked. The fireplace was not on and we could not find a way to turn it on. I contacted the proprieter and she said that she would send the maintanence man over. He arrived to the room a little after 10 pm. He stated that the wall units are not hooked up, which was news to the proprieter ! He dinked around with the fireplace and it started up. He showed us the button on the side to turn it up and down. It ended up that we had to turn it on and off to comfortably heat the place, but we had to find the on off button by ourselves. He assured us that it would heat the entire house, but we were skeptical. It was obvious that the proprieter knew nothing about the heating of this unit. They both left and she returned a few minutes later with a space heater for the bedroom. After spending 3 nights at the motel, a different maintenence man came to the door to fix the wall heaters. We turned him away, as we had it all figured out, but 3 nights later ???

Yup, there were some problems, but all in all I am very happy with the experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

For $130.00 I expect a room with some quality. the ONLY saving grace was that it was reasonably clean and they take pets. Other than that - you could clearly hear every word spoken in the next room; the fan in the bathroom sounded as though a jet was about to take off and you have no choice but to have the fan on if you wanted light in the bathroom; there was barely enough water pressure to take a shower; the A/C cooled only the sleeping area, not the bathroom; the bed was so bad that it was lower at the head so one needed 2 pillows to be level - thank goodness I had my own pillows as theirs left much to be desired.

This motel should be renting rooms for maximum $80.00 in high season and $60.00 in low. I made my reservation through the park sevice thinking they would have quality, but clearly they missed the boat on this one.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCLA-Geography-Major
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We just returned from a two week road trip through Montana with two kids, ages 9 and 11. This was absolutely the worst accomodations of our trip.

We slept in Tipi #2, which adjoins the parking lot, as do all the Tipis and Cabins. The
campground is open to the adjoining street, with no fencing, and anyone can come in
and do whatever they might want to you in the middle of the night. Naturally, the canvas Tipis can't be locked.

The Tipis have a lodgepole bed that looks cute until you lay down in its U shaped mattrees and sink towards earth. Lighting is from a large citronella candle that together with the mosquito net above the bed is intended to protect you through the night - but don't count on it. I woke up at 2:30 am itching all over, and wishing for the night to be over so that we could get out of this A shaped tent..

When I checked in, the front desk at this motel and campground recommended that we
not stay in the Tipi during the day, as it gets extremely hot, even with the electric fan that
is connected to a red extension cord that comes from who knows where and is provided in the Tipi. The front desk also warned me at check-in that the office is closed after 9:00 pm, and if we have any problems to call the phone # provided - I've never heard of a well run motel where the management disappears at night. When we returned that night, the office was closed, and the top flap (about 12 ft high) to our Tipi was left wide open. We called the night phone number and were told that it was purposely left open to keep the Tipi cooler, but tha'ts exactly where some of the Mosquitos were coming from. The manager didn't want to come out to close the flap, so she verbally explained to us the procedure for grabbing the unreachable flap and getting it closed.

The bathrooms and showers were old and dirty - on the ladies side there were doors missing from the cabinets.

Distance to Glacier is about 15 miles, not too bad, but the problem is that after leaving
Glacier Park and the towns of West Glacier and Hungry Horse which are tucked away amongst trees, mountains, and rivers, Columbia Falls looks like an ugly, unremarkable,
shabby, somewhat built up town with no natural beauty. If you're thinking about doing
day trips to Glacier, you really don't want to be returning to this place.






The bathrooms are dirty

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I "live and die" by tripadvisor.com reviews now because they never let me down! We stayed there three nights and specifically chose it because of the good reviews here. My friend and I each have a 100+ lb golden retriever, both of which were with us, and it was the PERFECT place for pets! They charged $10/night more, which was fine with us.
In the front area of the hotel, they had a grass area the length of the motel, roughly the size of a football field. GREAT for our dogs! They have a big open tee-pee, several patio tables and chairs, etc. to lounge in. Beautiful and very well kept.
There are about 10 motel units (which we stayed in), and then 3-4 small cabins, a couple of tee-pees, and about 10-15 RVs at the campground (you can walk from the lobby all the way to the last RV spot in less than 100 yards).
Super friendly staff- lobby closes at 10pm but they give you an after hours number, which we needed one time, and they were great.
We had a king sized bed and "kitchenette" room- flat screen TV with 60+ channels, tons of "closet" space. Rarely heard any noise from room next to us. Our room had wood floors, which was great with dogs. "Kitchen" had mismatched dining ware (who cares?) but there was two of everything, so we were fine. For more than two people, I'd either ask ahead or bring more yourself.
GREAT bargain for the money, we'd stay there again in a heartbeat. Three nights with two dogs and our total cost was $353. YOU'LL LOVE IT!
(P.S. You're 16 miles outside the entrance to the park but it's a beautiful drive so it was no problem for us.)

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed there one night on our way to Glacier National Park. We chose to stay in the luxury tepee- $65 a night. What a great experience. Very romantic. Not claustrophobic like a tent, the tepee was bright and airy. We also were very comfortable with the temperature and the queen size bed. The place was quiet and clean. We also enjoyed gourmet coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby in the morning. My husband & I both enjoyed talking to the hostess and highly recommend this place. So try something different and stay in a tepee.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Montana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

What a great place to stay! The perfect choice for our get away! We were thrilled with the friendly staff and home town hospitality. They helped us with directions and the places to see and eat. The rooms were very very nice, spacious, clean and comfortable. Awesome TV, a plasma! The atmosphere and location were great as well. We were able to be just a short drive from Whitefish and Glacier National Park. We went there to see the beautiful fall colors and escape for a day! We will definitely come back and recommend this motel to others.

  • Liked — The location and staff and hospitality.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Park Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Motel and Campground

Address: 7285 Highway 2 East, Columbia Falls, MT 59912 (Formerly Glacier Mountain Shadows)
Location: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glacier Park Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dog friendly Glacier Park Motel & Campground offers budget lodging in guest suites for 1-6, as well as camping with full hook-up RVs, tent lots, camping cabins and even tipis! Located only 12 miles from the West Entrance of Glacier National Park and across the street from Big Sky Waterslides, it is a great homebase for travelers. Property amenities include Coffee & Muffin Bar, Miniature Golf, 24-hour laundromat, BBQ pavilion, horseshoes and badmitton June-September. Top this with great staff who really care about providing you with information to enjoy the local activities and Glacier National Park, this business believes in Customer Service and goes out of its way to make sure your western visit is a pleasant, memorable one. Why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Glacier Park Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Motel And Campground Hotel Columbia Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Park Motel and Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.