We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Our Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Park Motel and Campground

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Glacier Park Motel and Campground to your Saves list
Glacier Park Motel and Campground
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   7285 Highway 2 East, Columbia Falls, MT 59912 (Formerly Glacier Mountain Shadows)   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami Beach
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beyond Our Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We picked this motel based on excellent reviews we had read. The place, turned out to be beyond our expectations. First, such pleasant staff, both at reservations and at check in. Then, our room was charming--so many details. A nice quilt on the beds. Towels in animal decorations. Small fridge and microwave as well as coffee maker. The room makes it seem more like an expensive bed and breakfast. There is an outstanding laundry facility which unfortunately we didn't have time to use. Wi-Fi. Nice flat screen TV. Telephone in room. New looking curtains and shades for darkness and privacy. Mirrors. Chairs and night stands. Mirrors and nice lawn chairs. And to top it off, a great price. Please be aware that complete name of this place is the Western Inn Glacier Park and not as listed in TripAdvisor. We highly recommend this place and would stay here at any time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
16
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

There were so many things wrong with this place, but most telling should have been the line on the receipt that said "$25 housekeeping charge if you check out after 30 min" ! If you have to put that in writing, it's obviously something that's been done repeatedly! This place was not what we surmised from the website, and was dirty and overpriced.
As another reviewer mentioned, when we checked in and tried to put the room charge on a different credit card, we were told there would be a $5 fee since it had already been charged to the card used for booking. Is that even legal!?
We booked this motel because it appeared from their website that it was somewhat of a rural location and rustic accomodation which we were looking for, and since we were travelling with a dog as well, we thought it would be ideal for us. Reality is it's an old motel albeit with a bit of a facelift, squished between a 4 lane highway and a rundown trailer court. We brought food to BBQ, banking on the advertised BBQ "pavillion", which consisted of four very small, very dirty campground type grills, full of used charcoal in a small dirt pit - but hey, it had a roof. The man at the desk assured us that they were happy to provide the facilities for us but we had to go down the road to the gas station and get our own briquets - no mention of the sand blaster it would have required to clean it first. We resigned ourselves to cooking steak in the frying pan in our room - except I had to wash it first as there was so much grease in the pan that I could literally write my name in it! When I pulled out the steak knives there was little bits of ? that I had to chip off after a good soak - needless to say I washed everything before we used it. I actually took a picture of the bathmat because I couldnt believe they were for real - it was the size of a facecloth and had the texture of an old cleaning cloth.........wait a minute, maybe it was the cleaning cloth! Everything about the place looked cheap and felt dirty. If we had chosen to stay at a 'cheap' motel, I could have lived with it, but they certainly arent charging cheap rates and the website, in my mind at least, gives a false impression of what the place is like.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The management and staff are wonderful, but hotel needs improvements. The carpet was dirty in the room. The breakfast was very skimpy. The units have two bedrooms, each with a queen bed, but the back room has no television and no air conditioning. I was not aware that I was getting two rooms and there were no other rooms available. The air conditioning unit in the front room does not cool the back room. The bathroom floor was dirty the entire time we were there (3 nights), and the ice machine is in a different building. Probably would not stay here again. Very close to the road and noisy at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

What great little and charming motel. Hotel staff is very friendly and was eager to assist with any of our requests. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. This is a great gem. I only wish I would have been able to stay when the Tee Pee's were ready. Overall it was a great stay and a great value! If I ever find myself near Columbia Falls I know where I will be staying.

Room Tip: I liked the room that was located on the first floor away from the lobby near the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The incompetent man that served as desk clerk was condescending, rude and indifferent. Our room reservations were for 1st floor and we were given 2nd floor. We tried to pay separately for each room when we arrived only to find that all of the rooms we reserved had all ready been charged to one credit card. We were told we couldn't pay separately when we checked in and there was nothing that could be done. A copy of our driver's license was required. We were told that this was policy and there was nothing that could be done. To paraphrase, "This isn't a perfect world and I'm sorry if it ruins your vacation" How in the world does management allow such incompetent poor customer service to continue as the face of the organization. Once they have your money...which they take long before you even show up, they feel they are allowed to treat you like you work for them. I hope to wipe this terrible experience from my memory forever!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The beds were rock hard. We had two rooms but the one with the door on it didn't have TV or air conditioning. You couldn't open the window to let air in as dogs barked all night long. There were spiders and ants (dead & alive) everywhere. There is no pool, spa or kids activities so didn't rate them below. Did have a hot tub similar to what one might find in a back yard. There was laundry facilities but we didn't use them. Our room did have a microwave and fridge. Did find a fantastic restraunt just down the road called Nite Owl & Back Room - it's actually two restraunts in one building.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker ask for a room away from the only smoking area on the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Our family of 6 stayed here for four nights during the last week of July. We had read reviews from last summer (2010) after booking our stay, and were a bit apprehensive. Once we arrived our concerns were quickly allayed. We had a family room which consisted of a bedroom with 2 comfy queen beds, living room with fold out sofa and another queen bed, and a kitchenette. The kitchenette was equip with everything a family could need for a week long stay. We were able to purchase groceries for the week and store everything. There was a dinning table in the kitchenette as well as a picnic table on the back patio, which was very well lit. The entire suite was immaculate when we arrived. There were plenty of towels for the entire family to shower the first night and the towels we used and left in the bathroom were replaced everyday. The staff also made our beds each day.
The drive to the park was relatively short and easy, just a straight shot down the highway. After spending all day hiking and visiting Glacier National Park the kids still wanted to play. There is a small playground at this motel too. Our kids enjoyed it very much especially since there were several families visiting as well. It was so fun to meet families from all over the U.S. The hot tub was relaxing and the fire pit was also welcoming. We were able to wash all our laundry before our long drive back to Texas in the laundry room. There were three washers and three dryers so I was able to get everything done while the kids played in the park and no other guests were kept waiting! I brought along my laptop for my summer online class and never once had any issue logging in and completing my work. We were able to take care of our online banking with no delay as well. We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very friendly and we are planning our next trip to Montana, and Glacier Park Motel, now.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Park Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Motel and Campground

Address: 7285 Highway 2 East, Columbia Falls, MT 59912 (Formerly Glacier Mountain Shadows)
Location: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glacier Park Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dog friendly Glacier Park Motel & Campground offers budget lodging in guest suites for 1-6, as well as camping with full hook-up RVs, tent lots, camping cabins and even tipis! Located only 12 miles from the West Entrance of Glacier National Park and across the street from Big Sky Waterslides, it is a great homebase for travelers. Property amenities include Coffee & Muffin Bar, Miniature Golf, 24-hour laundromat, BBQ pavilion, horseshoes and badmitton June-September. Top this with great staff who really care about providing you with information to enjoy the local activities and Glacier National Park, this business believes in Customer Service and goes out of its way to make sure your western visit is a pleasant, memorable one. Why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Glacier Park Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Motel And Campground Hotel Columbia Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Park Motel and Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.