We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue - Excellent Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Forks Grille

Three Forks Grille
729 Nucleus Ave, Columbia Falls, MT 59912
406-892-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Harvey, North Dakota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Venue - Excellent Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were a group of 7 and had a wonderful dinner at the bar. The staff was most attentive and the food choices were many and all very good. I highly recommend the elk burger and a cold Alaskan Amber!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    48
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Absolutely one of the very best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I found this gem on Trip Advisor and we called for a reservation and I am so grateful I did. This is in a wooden building at one end of town. It is typical Montana décor with lots of wood! There is a 6-chair bar and tables downstairs as well as tables upstairs that overlook the downstairs. We were greeted by Amy, who is an efficient hostess and seated right near a LOUD screaming little girl. At first we thought we would leave because the parents were not “doing anything about it” and it was obvious that child was disrupting everyone around. Just an aside on this…..I believe a restaurant of this caliber in consideration to its patrons, should not allow children under 6 to dine with them. I know this is an area with a short business season and they want all the business they can get, but it does affect people’s dining experience. Enough said. The tables did not have table cloths or placemats and we hate to put our silverware down before eating, on uncovered tables. However, our waitress, Jessica, was a doll and helped us with the menu as well as with a wonderful chardonnay (Sean Minor, "Four Bears" for $6.50/glass or $26.for a bottle). We ordered the Scallop Salad (Alaskan Sea Scallops, spinach, cherry tomatoes, quinoa, fresh dill, friend pancetta and balsamic reduction for $12.50). In addition we had the Grilled Rainbow Trout (Olive oil, thyme, spelt berry and chickpea salad with roasted beets, pistachios and lime gremolate for $18.50). My husband and I shared those dishes and put them together on each plate. Combining those two dishes was divine, out of this world, the best. It was light, healthy and unusual. I could not stop talking about it after we left! I hope I can make this at home. If you are in the Glacier area PLEASE do yourself a huge favor and try this restaurant. I cannot say enough about the food and service. We may return tomorrow night. Be sure to make a reservation during summer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Look for this great restaurant in downtown Columbia Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Three of us ate here in mid July. Service and food were both excellent. Prices were fair. It was one of the better restaurants that we stopped at during a 10 day road trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax, fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place to eat in all of Glacier National Park area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Ate here 2 nights in a row. Every dish was amazing with local ingredient flair. Owner comes to the table to refill your waters and chats it up with the customers. Limited menu but that is what it takes to make every dish outstanding. Recommend reservations in high season. Ate at multiple places around Glacier over a week and there was no other place close to these dinners.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We got in late in the evening and happened upon this place. There was no wait, which was nice and the service was good. The menu was limited and a few items were sold-out for the night. We settled on burgers and enjoyed them. They weren't greasy but they were a bit dry if you choose not to go heavy on the sauce. We'd go back if we came this way again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Forks Grille also viewed

 

Been to Three Forks Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Forks Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.