We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very inspiring” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Two Medicine Dinosaur Center

Two Medicine Dinosaur Center
120 2nd Avenue South, Bynum, MT 59419
406 469 2211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bynum
Attraction details
Nottingham
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
148 attraction reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Not very inspiring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This 'museum' tells the story of the dinosaurs very well, but doesn't make it terribly exciting and most fossils were reproductions rather than original. I guess you need time to take the tour.

I'm sure the work that goes on here is really worthwhile, but for the visitor calling in on spec, it wasn't that thrilling, I'm afraid. The young girl on the desk answered our questions, but we didn't stay too long.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
“Must do if you have kids (or parents) interested in dinosaurs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We took our 4 (8 - 13 yrs) kids (3 boys, 1 girl) to the Two Med Dinosaur Center on our summer vacation to Glacier NP. I (a bit nervously) signed us up for the 'All Day' experience. Wow, Totally worth every penny and minute!! Stacia was a intelligent, warm and gifted guide! Matt's not bad either ; ) We found the whole experience Informative, interesting and surrounded by natural beauty of the landscape. Cannot recommend enough!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth Going Out of Your Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We met up with our guide Matt, a very outgoing and interesting geologist with the Center and two other members of the staff (university interns on summer break) in the morning. We signed release forms, filled up our water bottles and then piled into their van and were off. First stop was a site on a beautiful grassy hillside where we learned how to spot dinosaur bone fragments that were laying in the gravel road. Kind of amazing to hold a 75 million year old bone in your hand!

From there we went to a couple of other sites where erosion was slowly exposing bones that have been buried for tens of millions of years. At one site we found ourselves surrounded by hundreds of pea-sized fragments of dinosaur egg shell.

Now at all of these sites we are surrounded by the most beautiful and spectacular scenery imaginable. This is big sky country and it does not disappoint. Rolling green hills dappled with sunlight that go on for miles, with snow capped mountains in the distance. One could not ask for a better classroom.

We drove back into town for lunch at a local cafe where Matt and our interns kept the conversation going with topics from the science of dinosaur bone preservation, to current events in paleontology, to the possibility of cloning dinosaurs ("Jurassic Park"...could it really happen) to the history of the local area.

After lunch we headed back into the field and were given our "work" assignment; continue excavation of what was probably a thigh bone of a hadrosaur (actual identification happens later in the lab). After learning how to use pick and brush to carefully expose the relic we set to work in our "office" (where the clouds were getting dark and turbulent). It was slow going but oddly peaceful and satisfying work that went by very quickly as we talked and laughed and generally enjoyed the afternoon.

We ended the day back at the Two Medicine Dinosaur Center where we stepped into the back room and "the lab" which did not disappoint! It looked just like what I expected a lab to look like. Packed with books, microscopes, and gadgets of all sorts and with bones filling every possible surface, still set in soil encased with plaster and burlap "bowls" (which is how they transport the samples to the lab). On one bench I spotted something that looked like dried out alligator skin. It was in fact the under-shell of a sea tortoise, about 75 million years old.

All in all this was a fun, engaging and educational day that we will not soon forget. Our guides were not only extremely bright, knowledgable and infectiously-enthusiastic scientists, but just generally warm, kind and accommodating hosts who were very concerned with our comfort and making sure we had a good time. And I'll add that we stayed a few minutes down the road in the town of Chateau, MT in a very nice and friendly hotel (Stage Stop Inn). This is a beautiful place full of lovely people, and it's all just a couple hours away from Glacier National Park, Yellowstone and not far from I-15 and Great Falls. I would recommend that anyone on vacation in this area try to work this into your vacation if you can!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Small museum but very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

When we visited the Two Medecine Dinosaur Center we were very lucky because one of the paleontologists was at the museum and he was more than willing to answer all your questions and to tell elaborately about his latest finds and theories. That made our visit very interesting; we stayed more than two hours checking everything out and talking to this guy. It was very fascinating and we learned a lot!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool old stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

forget the kids, my wife got excited about the dinosaurs. The huge dino is amazing, the gift store has great fossils to buy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Medicine Dinosaur Center also viewed

 

Been to Two Medicine Dinosaur Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Medicine Dinosaur Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.