We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to be a local” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Derby Steakhouse

The Derby Steakhouse
2016 Harrison Avenue, Butte, MT 59701
(406) 723-9086
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 93 Restaurants in Butte
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You have to be a local”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Visiting Butte on business, my fellow co-workers recommended the derby. When I got there, I felt as if I was outcast because nobody knew who I was. Everywhere else in Butte the people are so friendly and welcoming, I did not get that feeling at the derby. The food was ok - but the whole atmosphere was a let down. I personally would not go out of my way to return to the derby anytime soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    5
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What A Joke!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a horrible experience at the derby, to start with we weren't promptly greeted at the door because one of the older female staff members was downgrading the host in front of everyone at the door, once we were seated we received a pleasant greeting from our waitress who I believe her name was Kristie. However to begin our meal we got bread that was old stale and not warm. The next part was our salad that was drowned in dressing and I prefer some lettuce with a "salad". My husband and I both ordered two rib eyes between medium and medium well and both came out barely close to medium rare. In the mean time while waiting for our entrée a gentleman, who I'm assuming must be the owner walks directly in from the parking lot with a handful of trash, throws it away, doesn't even wash his hands and proceeded to walk behind the grill and from our booth we observed him go and touch all the food behind the cooks. After a few minutes he goes around to talk to tables dressed in what can best be describes as rags. based on his appearance and behavior I can only imagine the overall cleanliness and food safety practiced by his staff. We left completely disgusted and would not recommend to anyone And will definitely not be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Vacation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place is good if you just want a drink or sandwich. The bartender is great - he pours a great drink. However, the steaks are terrible. They apply a heavily seasoned garlic salt that basically make the steak inedible. So if it is steak you want - stay away from this place!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We asked at our hotel for the best steak house in Butte. We got the most expensive not the best. The new york steak was a thin strip of marble. The seasonings were different not my choice. The chicken was tough and the flavor just yuck. The carrots and potatos with the meal were under cooked and it was really expensive. The staff was really nice!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stettler, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than most reviews state.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Came here on recomendation from hotel staff. Was a little worried after reading some of the reviews, we were seated promptly, our waitress Kristie was very attentive, the food was tasty & hot. The menu is a little limited but the food quality is worth stopping in for.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Derby Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Derby Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Derby Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.