We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matt's Place

Matt's Place
2339 Placer St, Montana Street and Rowe Road Corner, Butte, MT 59701
+1 406-782-8049
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 96 Restaurants in Butte
Price range: $0 - $10
Description: 1St Drive-in in the state of Montana. Authentic 40's diner with its original fountain, counter and cast iron grill. Matt's is known for its 100% ground round hamburgers, homemade fries and ice cream. It has been family owned since 1943, and prides itself on the quality of its food. Very nostalgic, listed on the National Historic Registry.
Restaurant details
Description: 1St Drive-in in the state of Montana. Authentic 40's diner with its original fountain, counter and cast iron grill. Matt's is known for its 100% ground round hamburgers, homemade fries and ice cream. It has been family owned since 1943, and prides itself on the quality of its food. Very nostalgic, listed on the National Historic Registry.
Butte, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

What more can I say. This classic burger joint serves up the best burgers and shakes in Butte. I would highly recommend this place to anybody.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

A great place to stop if you are looking for a yummy shake. I would recommend Matt's Place to anyone.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great shake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

The shake was homemade and delicious. This is the ideal burger and shake place. Love love love! If you are going to enjoy lunch this is it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nothing better than an authentic burger and homemade fries! This place was delicious! Next time I am ordering an old fashioned milk shake to go with it! Fast and friendly! Beats a chain any day!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awe-some!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Hadn't expected to be visiting Butte during our recent trip to SW Montana. But we found ourselves shopping in the area and my family (that we were visiting) decided to make a visit to Matts for lunch. So glad we did! The sandwiches - the fries - the onion rings - and the shakes and malts! Can't say a bad word about any of it. Lucky to get seats, it was standing room only by the time we were ready to go. Definitely worth the stop even if you are just passing through the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt's Place also viewed

 

Been to Matt's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matt's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.