We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Pit

Berkeley Pit
Butte, MT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 27 things to do in Butte
Attraction details
Cody, Wyoming, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was a fun tourist/historic stop. The little gift shop had some neat items. The little walk out to the pit was neat and had lots of good info.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    35
    15
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Strawberry Point, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's a pit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It's a big hole filled with contaminated water. I honestly don't see what the attraction is. Our guide strongly defended it's existence and more or less said that if it weren't for our mining, which everyone has benefited from, we wouldn't have a toxic pit. Perhaps if it had been presented differently, I wouldn't have such a negative opinion.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I would first do the old historical tour in old town then go see Berkley Pit. They tell the history of Butte and then it means so much more

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etters, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not what I imagined.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I didn't really expect a giant toxic pit but that is exactly what it is. There is a tunnel and platform where you view the pit. It is an interesting read though and pictures don't begin to touch on the vast size. Quick stop but something to see and learn a little about open mining .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Big Big Hole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The view of the old mine site is spectacular. We debated several alternatives but this was an easy, quick, and inexpensive alternative. Displays offer a good accounting of mining in the region and at Berkeley. Worth a Look. I've seen pictures of open pit mines but the in person view is truly eye opening.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkeley Pit also viewed

 

Been to Berkeley Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.